Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
WarCraft III is out: Can I install it on my Gentoo machine?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Saturn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 May 2002
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2002 6:40 pm    Post subject: WarCraft III is out: Can I install it on my Gentoo machine? Reply with quote

Is it possible to install WC III under Linux? If so, is there a step by step procedure for that?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Swishy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2002
Posts: 491
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2002 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you planning on using winex bin's or the ebuild???
I had posted the instructions somewhere else but they have appeared to have vanished..........although it's 6:40am in NZ at the moment so my eyesite might not be 100% lolol :D
_________________
Theres no substitute for C.I.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Saturn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 May 2002
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2002 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a difference between them (ebuild and winex bin's) ?

I actually emerged app-emulation/winex-20020628, but I really don't know what I'm supposed to do next to be able to install wc3...?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kormoc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 272
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2002 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, the ebuild will not work with warcraft 3.
Follow the instructions to get GTA3 working [url]https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=37715[/url]
Then download a nocd patch from [url]http://www.gamecopyworld.com[/url] or [url]http://www.megagames.com[/url].
Then install it, rename the movies directory, and your all set
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kormoc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 272
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kormoc wrote:
Nope, the ebuild will not work with warcraft 3.
Follow the instructions to get GTA3 working https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=37715
Then download a nocd patch from http://www.gamecopyworld.com or http://www.megagames.com.
Then install it, rename the movies directory, and your all set
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Swishy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2002
Posts: 491
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can get it running using winex 2.01 bin's as well by
copying MSVCRT*.dll and regsvr32.exe into the "user"/Transgaming/windows dir, installing wc3 from cd , DONT install d3d once installed goto the dir the game was installed to , mv Movies bak.movies
aquire a "modded" exe from the usual sources and your set to go.

Cheers
Dale.
_________________
Theres no substitute for C.I.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum