Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
I get IP Address but can't Ping
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lramos85
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 141
Location: Riverside, Ca

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 8:23 pm    Post subject: I get IP Address but can't Ping Reply with quote

I'm floored...I tried using different versions of the drivers/kernels, I even tried using the same stuff as the livecd with no luck. Then check this out: I go out and buy a different NIC, which uses Tulip drivers, its a Linksys NC 100...I install that, it gives me an IP Address, just like the intel card, everything seems to work but when I try to ping www.google.com it doesn't work.

It works fine on the livecd but not on the system.

I've gone through the dmesg's and the thing that overlaps is:
Code:

eth0: no IPv6 routers present
eth1: no IPv6 routers present


Let me know what other information you need. I have a Dell Optiplex 755.

There are some other stuff there too but I can't copy and paste. I'm starting to think it has nothing to do with my NIC's or their drivers...what else can it be?

Like I said: I get an IP address on both cards, they both are recognized and everything but when I try to access the web...no luck.

Thanks.
_________________
Registered Linux User #328996
Register Now!
Adpot an unanswered post today!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41406
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lramos85,

What IP address do you get ?

Is there a nameserver line in /etc/resolv.conf ?
If not add
Code:
nameserver 4.2.2.1
to get you going but it may be deleted when your dhcp lease is renewed.
This is not a fix, just a diagnostic aid.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lramos85
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 141
Location: Riverside, Ca

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LOL, I was about to come here and say: FIXED IT!!!

You are right, under /etc/resolv.conf, nameserver was my domainname:
Code:
nameserver lilnetwork


I ran dhcpd eth1 and it fixed it. (had to rm the dhcp file)

Do I have to do this everytime?? or I should just get the correct nameserver? Under /etc/conf.d/net "dns_domain_lo="lilnetwork"" should I put the dns ip instead?

Thanks for everything.
_________________
Registered Linux User #328996
Register Now!
Adpot an unanswered post today!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41406
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lramos85,

Your dhcp server (your router) should provide a nameserver for /etc/resolv.conf.
If not, you can set /etc/resolv.conf manually and set the nodns option in /etc/conf.d/net to tell dhcpcd that it must not overwrite your namservers.
See the syntax in /etc/conf.d/net.example

You should set two nameservers in case one fails.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum