View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
DOLLAR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 8:03 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] All-round Desktop Issues Reply with quote

I am new to Gentoo and Linux and have posted on here before but still have not been able to get my desktop environment working.

I have emerge xorg-x11 but Xorg -configure does not work saying missing output drivers.
Unfortunately I don't know enough to manually configure the conf file.

I have also tried to emerge x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers but it says please disable PARAVIRT in your kernel config.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Last edited by DOLLAR on Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:05 am; edited 1 time in total
gsoe
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I have emerge xorg-x11 but Xorg -configure does not work saying missing output drivers
Do you have something like
Code:
VIDEO_CARDS="vesa nvidia nv"
in your make.conf? If you don't, you should add it and then reemerge xorg (or emerge -uDavN world). Then xorg will pull in drivers for your nvidia card.
DOLLAR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have
Code:
VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"

Is that enough or should I change it?
gsoe
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then there's no driver until you get nvidia-drivers to work. If you add "nv" an open source driver will be pulled in, and that should make your Xorg -configure work. I suggest you do that, and when you have X working you can try to get nvidia-drivers to work too.
zyko
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote