XEN in VMWare: unusable slow
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
neonknight
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 9:30 am    Post subject: XEN in VMWare: unusable slow Reply with quote

I started playing around with XEN as a rather an academic approach to get some experience with it. As all my AMD64 machines are in productive use, I decided to try XEN in a VMWare virtual machine. This workes quite well, except for one thing: It is extremely slow! By slow I mean: It already takes more than one hour to boot dom0!

Let's see the setup:
Hardware: Athlon 64 X2 with 2x2.2Ghz S939 (so no hardware virtualization is supported by the CPU), 2GB RAM, SATA RAID-1 with 2 disks
Host: Ubuntu (yeah, I know...) 32bit, VMWare Server 1.0.5
Guest: Hardened Gentoo 64bit, xen-sources 2.6.18, 768MB RAM, 2 processors, all packages up to date, CFLAG -mno-tls-direct-seg-refs is set and world has been recompiled

The facts: Booting the system using the live-cd or a non-xen kernel runs at expected speed. Booting takes around 1 minute, everything seems to be fine. But when I boot XEN and the XEN-kernel, it rather feels like having a 5Mhz machine. Booting lasts forever (around 1h to bring up the system... bringing up eth0 alone takes more than 10 minutes!). In the meantime, the both CPU-cores of the host are used at 100%. The interesting thing is, that only the userland seems to be slow. The hypervisor and kernel itself seem to boot at equal speed as the non-xen-kernel. Of course I tried all three versions of XEN that are in portage.