Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Moving from 2.4 to 2.6 guide
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
surf27
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 1
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2004 4:26 pm    Post subject: re: Savage 4 video cards Reply with quote

Good news; badnews. Linux does not yet support DRI on Savage 4 video cards. ref: http://dri.sourcerorge.net. I have the same problem.. I'm getting a GeForce TI4200 card as soon as I can> Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pengo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Aug 2003
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2004 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is a ProSavage a Savage4? I'm really uneducated on the whole S3 line, sadly :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SuperJesus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey I went to 2.6 and when my computer boots all the text is garbled but after a few seconds it is all clear again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkeeney
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2003
Posts: 3
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 7:48 pm    Post subject: Re: problems with kernel 2.6.0-test11 Reply with quote

gamezfreak wrote:

VFS: Cannot open root device "hdb2" or hdb2
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernel Panic: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on hdb2


I got the same message when I tried to run 2.6.1. How was this problem fixed?

Thanks,
j
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Siraris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2004
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 12:31 am    Post subject: LVM2 helpppp Reply with quote

I just upgraded from 2.4->2.6 I was running LVM on 2.4 and I uninstalled LVM and emerged LVM2. Now when I boot, the LVM manager doesn't even start. Does anyone know why this could be or a way to fix it? I enabled multi-device support and whatnot as this thread suggested but nothing is working.

I am going to type out the errors:

It gets to *Mounting local filesystems...

then says

mount: special device /dev/vg/usr does not exist
mount: special device /dev/vg/var does not exist.
mount: special device /dev/vg/opt does not exist.
mount: special device /dev/vg/home does not exist

* Some local filesystems failed to mount

few more lines, then:

Could not create needed directory '/var/lib/init.d/softscripts'!
Could not create needed directory '/var/lib/init.d/snapshot'!
Could not create needed directory '/var/lib/init.d/options''!
Could not create needed directory '/var/lib/init.d/started'!
ln: creating symbolic link '/var/lib/init.d/started/checkroot' to '/etc/init.d/checkroot': No such file or directory
Gives about 4 other /var/lib errors
then
localmount': No such file or directory
/sbin/rc: line 376: install: command not found
/sbin/rc: line 421 install: command not found

then a ton of other ln: errors with /var/lib

Does this help at all?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sanity
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2002
Posts: 39
Location: Iowa

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 2:12 am    Post subject: does lvm even try to start? Reply with quote

Gentoo doesn't try to start lvm unless it detects that you have lvm support. That means you probably want to do things like add dm_mod to your autoload. Is there a doc on this?
_________________
Every time you read a signature, God kills a kitten.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
karmapolice
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jan 2004
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 7:52 am    Post subject: Re: problems with kernel 2.6.0-test11 Reply with quote

jkeeney wrote:
gamezfreak wrote:

VFS: Cannot open root device "hdb2" or hdb2
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernel Panic: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on hdb2


I got the same message when I tried to run 2.6.1. How was this problem fixed?

Thanks,
j


hey man,

the following thread might help out. i had the same problem but found a solution therein.

check it

this one might also be useful: check it
_________________
this is what you get.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Boris27
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 562
Location: Almelo, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 8:04 am    Post subject: Re: problems with kernel 2.6.0-test11 Reply with quote

jkeeney wrote:
gamezfreak wrote:

VFS: Cannot open root device "hdb2" or hdb2
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernel Panic: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on hdb2


I got the same message when I tried to run 2.6.1. How was this problem fixed?

Thanks,
j


I had this too. Compile support for your chipset in your kernel, under ATA devices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graybeard
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Mar 2003
Posts: 118
Location: a blue state

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

root@gentoo dan # uname -a
Linux gentoo.home 2.6.2-gentoo #3 Tue Feb 10 22:18:45 EST 2004 i686 Celeron (Coppermine) GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

:D 8)

Just wanted to say thanks!

-dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
venkat
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 110
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2004 7:51 pm    Post subject: Re: problems with kernel 2.6.0-test11 Reply with quote

[quote="Boris27"]
jkeeney wrote:
gamezfreak wrote:

VFS: Cannot open root device "hdb2" or hdb2
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernel Panic: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on hdb2


I got the same message when I tried to run 2.6.1. How was this problem fixed?

Thanks,
j


I had this too. My fix was to add MS-DOS partition on Advanced partition options. I had partitioned my harddrive in windows earlier.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eeknay
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 402
Location: EndOfTheRainbow

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2004 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there a way to somehow move the old kernel-config to the new one. the thing is that i'm not so sure about all the things i need to put into the kernel....HELP :)

-eeknay
_________________
Linda: "The holiday season is time of celebration for most but it is also the time to remember the tragic suffering of the less fortunate."
Morbo: "Earthlings do not yet know the meaning of suffering."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-Style
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 275
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2004 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It takes a while for my mouse to start working, after I move it around a few times then it acutally works. How do I actually make it more responsive?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
entob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Posts: 76
Location: Norway, Sandnes

PostPosted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eeknay wrote:
is there a way to somehow move the old kernel-config to the new one. the thing is that i'm not so sure about all the things i need to put into the kernel....HELP :)

-eeknay


Taken from http://kerneltrap.org/node/view/799

Code:
make oldconfig

This build option will prove extremely useful to you as you upgrade to newer and newer 2.6 kernels. At first glance it looks identical to the plain 'make config', however 'oldconfig' reads your current .config settings and automatically answers for you based on these settings, only prompting you for new configuration choices. To use, simply copy in your old .config file, then type 'make oldconfig'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robfish
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 137
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This works for me...

cd /usr/src
cp linux/.config /usr/src/linux-2.6.1-rc1/ (- to location of new kernel)
cd
ls -l /usr/src/linux
rm /usr/src/linux && ln -s /usr/src/linux-2.6.1-rc1/ /usr/src/linux (- linux-2.6.1-rc1 represents the name of the new kernel)
ls -l /usr/src/linux (- to check the symlink)
cd /usr/src/linux
make oldconfig
make && make modules_install
mount /boot/
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-2.6.1 (- or whatever name you give it)

Edit /boot/grub/grub.conf to point to the new kernel
Reboot

emerge nvidia-kernel
emerge nvidia-glx
reboot
_________________
RobFish
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elec999
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2003
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can someone show me an example of what they added to their grub config in order to boot kernel 2.6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elec999
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2003
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can someone show me a sample config of their grub with the new kernel 2.6.3.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Humbled
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 35
Location: Metro DC

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

elec999 wrote:
Can someone show me an example of what they added to their grub config in order to boot kernel 2.6.


It's basically the same, although I'm sure there are new and different parameters you could pass in. vga=788 doesn't seem to change the resolution anymore. Maybe I forgot to compile support for something.

Anyway, getting down to tacks and nails, you'll want to add something like

Code:

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.4-rc1
root (hd0,4)
kernel (hd0,4)/kernel-2.6.4_rc1 root=/dev/hda7


Note that you'll need to modify the location of the root partition to reflect your configuration, as well as the name of the kernel image. The () part actually represents the /boot part, so if you don't need to write (hd0,0)/boot/kern.... (although /boot/boot is a symlink to .)

Also note that if you're using a genkernel, things are different, but I'm not sure how because I don't use genkernel. ;)

If you're still having trouble, you could throw your grub.conf up here and a guru could help you figure out how to change it.

H
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scarr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 88
Location: Lebanon, TN

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Humbled wrote:

It's basically the same, although I'm sure there are new and different parameters you could pass in. vga=788 doesn't seem to change the resolution anymore. Maybe I forgot to compile support for something.


If you use genkernel it ends with some nice kernel config stuff for you to try. It also tells you what you must put in your params for the kernel to run at all.

The param vga=0x317 works pretty good. It also says something about splash=verbose.
_________________
Scott Carr * OpenOffice.org * Documentation Maintainer
http://documentation.openoffice.org
jabber: scarr@progbits.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Humbled
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 35
Location: Metro DC

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

scarr wrote:

If you use genkernel it ends with some nice kernel config stuff for you to try. It also tells you what you must put in your params for the kernel to run at all.

The param vga=0x317 works pretty good. It also says something about splash=verbose.


I'll have to check that out. I really do enjoy having a "big" console, even if I'm only in it as fast as I can startx (GDM and such leave a bad taste in my mouth).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ukj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OneOfOne wrote:
another tinny tip ;)
a simple
Code:
make install
will install the kernel into /boot and give it a good name (ex. /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.0-test1-mm2)

peace


Just thought I should share what I do...
1. Do make menuconfig
2. cp .config /etc/kernels/kernel-config-x86-2.XXXX
3. genkernel all

genkernel copies the default config file from /etc/kernel/ where I put my own .config. Kernel compilation has become a breeze!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guard0
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Sun Apr 25, 2004 12:35 pm    Post subject: Re: LVM2 helpppp Reply with quote

Siraris wrote:
I just upgraded from 2.4->2.6 I was running LVM on 2.4 and I uninstalled LVM and emerged LVM2. Now when I boot, the LVM manager doesn't even start. Does anyone know why this could be or a way to fix it? I enabled multi-device support and whatnot as this thread suggested but nothing is working.

I am going to type out the errors:

It gets to *Mounting local filesystems...

then says

mount: special device /dev/vg/usr does not exist
mount: special device /dev/vg/var does not exist.
mount: special device /dev/vg/opt does not exist.
mount: special device /dev/vg/home does not exist

* Some local filesystems failed to mount

few more lines, then:

Could not create needed directory '/var/lib/init.d/softscripts'!
Could not create needed directory '/var/lib/init.d/snapshot'!
Could not create needed directory '/var/lib/init.d/options''!
Could not create needed directory '/var/lib/init.d/started'!
ln: creating symbolic link '/var/lib/init.d/started/checkroot' to '/etc/init.d/checkroot': No such file or directory
Gives about 4 other /var/lib errors
then
localmount': No such file or directory
/sbin/rc: line 376: install: command not found
/sbin/rc: line 421 install: command not found

then a ton of other ln: errors with /var/lib

Does this help at all?


i think what you want is:
Device Drivers --->
Multi-device support (RAID and LVM) --->
[*] Multiple devices driver support (RAID and LVM)
< > RAID support
<M> Device mapper support

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/lvm2.xml should help you out
_________________
Linux on an AMD processor: an OS for people who dont use deoderant with a CPU for people who can't afford deoderant
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2115
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 6:29 am    Post subject: lvm on 2.6 -- are snapshots supported yet? Reply with quote

I have a system set up and working under 2.4.25 using lvm. I am using either ext3 or reiserfs (depending on the box's purpose) for all filesystems on all my machines; this box uses ext3. The only non-lvm filesystem is /boot, which is a primary partition formatted as ext2. Even my swap is under lvm, :D

Now I discover that to fulfill this machine's purpose in life, I have to run it under a 2.6 flavor of kernel. :evil:

I need the 2.6 kernel because this machine is destined to be an ipsec tunnel server, and I apparently need 2.6 to support all the modes I need. It must be able to accept a connection from a dynamic ip on a box running various microsoft os's, Mac OS-X, and various linuxes and bsd's. It is basically going to be a VPN tie point for a bunch of diverse road warriors, so they can all access the home network, and all appear to be on the same lan with each other when they are connected. In particular, remote roving laptop video conferencing must be supported. NAT traversal is deliberately being avoided for now, because some of the clients do not support it.

All that is mainly to explain why I have to use 2.6 after I had a basic system up and running 2.4.25.

I use rsync for backup, and I have been configuring all my other boxes to run 2.4.25 and lvm so I could use the snapshot feature of lvm to freeze the filesystems during backup operations.

If I cannot do snapshots under lvm-2 on the 2.6 kernels, then I will have to forgo lvm altogether on the vpn server, as I need the 2.6 kernel to support the ipsec vpn tunnel stuff worse than I need snapshotted backups.

Does lvm-2 under a 2.6.* kernel support snapshots yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
curmudgeon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2003
Posts: 1537

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:21 am    Post subject: ssh fails after upgrading from 2.4 to 2.6 Reply with quote

I have already posted this in "networking," but since
it happened as a result of updating the kernel from 2.4
to 2.6, maybe somebody here will have an answer for
me. :)

After I upgraded the kernel, all the things that I had
worried the most about (sound, video, changing to
udev) worked flawlessly. What failed? SSH!

For details, see:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=1422837
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Page 10 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum