View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
robfish
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2004 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am a newbie too so not so good with some answers.
All I know is that I had a working 2.4 system (with nvidia-kernel and nvidia-glx) then I upgraded to the new kernel, emerged the nvidia packages, made no changes to my X configuration and it just works.
ChickensDontFly
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 7:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Xterms and 2.6 kernel Reply with quote

chinesebob wrote:
To get my Xterms to work I had to enable "Unix98 PTY Support" and "/dev/pts" as well as devfs and add this line to my /etc/fstab

none /dev/pts devpts defaults 0 0

Thanks bob. My terms didn't work (even after enabling PTY support and /dev/pts) until I put that line in my fstab.

I got my nvidia drivers working by making a symlink pointing to the new kernel, emerged nvidia-glx and nvidia-kernel, then replaced "nv" with "nviida" in /etc/modules.autload. (In that order)
dkaplowitz
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First off, thank you for the informative post.

I followed the instructions, but am new enough that I may have missed something important.

I did an
Code:
emerge gentoo-dev-sources

Then cd'ed into /usr/src/linux-2.6.0-gentoo-r1 and did a
Code:
make menu config.

I left that all defaults, as nothing looked to wildly different from what I was running in 2.4.22.

Code:
make && make modules_install

Then I did a

Code:
make install

I copied over .config from /usr/src/linux-2.6.0-gentoo-r1 to /boot and named it something unique and I did the same with System.map (though I over-wrote the existing system map in my /boot after backing it up to another directory).

I checked /boot and had the following:

Code: