Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Clicking URLs in Thunderbird broken? [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
danomac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 881
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:56 pm    Post subject: Clicking URLs in Thunderbird broken? [solved] Reply with quote

For the life of me I can't get Thunderbird to open a URL when I click on it. It just does nothing.

I've looked around in the preference trying to figure out if I need to associate it with something, but I don't really see anything relevant.

Anyone have any ideas?


Last edited by danomac on Thu Sep 18, 2008 1:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The easiest solution is to open up /home/YOUR_USER_NAME/.thunderbird/PROFILE_NAME.default/prefs.js and add these three lines:

Code:

user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.ftp", "firefox");
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.http", "firefox");
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.https", "firefox");


Make sure to make those changes when Thunderbird is NOT running. :)
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jettjunker
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Sep 2005
Posts: 267

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or, with thunderbird running in Edit -> Preferences -> General(tab) -> Config Editor(button), then right-click add new string. The name would be network.protocol-handler.app.ftp , and the string value firefox (I have /usr/bin/firefox , but I don't know if that's necessary)

Also, this problem is often simply from not having the default browser set properly. For gnome, system -> preferences -> preferred applications... for others, I don't know, but I'm sure you can find it.
_________________
Core2Duo T7100 1.8 ghz mini-itx, Nvidia FX220: Gentoo/Gnome/CompizFusion:XGL
CoreDuo 1.83 ghz 13" Macbook, GMA 950: Ubuntu/Gnome/CompizFusion:AIGLX
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is true. Within KDE, you would go to:

Control Center --> Components --> Component Chooser --> Web Browser
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danomac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 881
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guys!

The system default is set correctly in KDE, as xchat opens in firefox just fine.

Weirdly enough, those three weren't in my config at all... how weird. I manually put them in, and now it's all good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Those three lines weren't in my default prefs.js either. I think it might have something to do with the order in which Thunderbird and Firefox are merged, and subsequently set as defaults in the desktop environment. Either way, glad it fixed your problem. :)
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aries97
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2009 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The two methods above; given by kalos and jettjunker; both worked for me.

According to the "/home/YOUR_USER_NAME/.thunderbird/PROFILE_NAME.default/prefs.js" file the preferred method is to use the Config Editor button pointed out by jettjunker.

I want to point out two things that caused me confusion when fixing this issue on my computer:

Looking at the prefs.js file one might think that you can edit the file by opening "about:config" in your web browser. If you are using a mozilla browser this will open a config file; but it's the config file for the web browser, not Thunderbird. If you don't want to edit the "prefs.js" file directly you have to use the "Config Editor" button from Thunderbird.

Also, to find the button, you have to be in the advanced section of the "Thunderbird Preferences" window: With Thunderbird v2.0.0.21: First drop down the "Edit" toolbar entry, then select "Preferences", this will open the "Thunderbird Preferences" window, select the "Advanced" icon on the top right; then the "General" tab, there at the bottom you will then see an "Advanced Configuration" option with a button "Config Editor..."

One more thing; if you are using XFCE you may want to put "exo-open" in instead of "firefox" in order to not break the XFCE prefered applications system. I'm guessing there is an analog for Gnome and KDE, not sure what it is though:

Code:
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.ftp", "exo-open");
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.http", "exo-open");
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.https", "exo-open");


- Aries97
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cazort
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 343
Location: Lancaster, PA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just ran into this problem and this fix worked for me...how can we get this so it is set up properly by default? Is this a bug in thunderbird, or a bug in gentoo?

BTW I emerged firefox first and then thunderbird, and still ran into this problem. It seems to respect the system default if you use gnome, but not KDE (which is what I'm using).
_________________
Alex Zorach | Teacology | RateTea | Why This Way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zfc-tinkerer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 May 2003
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

watch out for the value of network.protocol-handler.external.http

In my install, this was set to false, and as soon as I changed it, things worked again. I would guess that what is needed it to have this value set to true, and then use one of the several other fixes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2397

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

on my main workstation i was unable to get link opening with firefox working since about 1 year.
a few minutes ago i emerged thunderbird-3. it works now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2397

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

today the error came back.
i don't know what happened and i am as frustrated as before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HTS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 410
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem for a while, none of the prefs,js things seem to work for me and my default browser is properly set in KDE (can open links from Konsole etc.).
What I had missed was that I also have Gnome installed.

If like me you're running both KDE and Gnome you must set the default browser in Gnome for Thunderbird to pick that up even when running inside KDE...
Just run gnome-control-center from KDE and go to Preferred Applications and set the browser.
_________________
Plasma desktop on Core i7 8086K OC @ 5GHz, 64GB DDR4, 2 x M.2 Samsung 970 PRO 1TB SSDs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum