Syslog, is it needed?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
freedomlives
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:31 pm    Post subject: Syslog, is it needed? Reply with quote

I just noticed that the Gentoo VPS I've been using for the past 2 years doesn't have any syslogd installed. Yet, everything I've been running on there (nginx, mysql, php-fpm) puts a log file there anyway. So I read up a bit on syslog, and notice that it is useful for consolidating log messages from several systems, making alerts to the sysadmin, etc. But for a desktop user, is there any reason it should even be installed? I know, for example, that I can set up my laser print to connect to a syslog server, but as its sitting on the desk next to my computer that doesn't provide me much benefit. This isn't a desperate support question or anything, I've decided for my server to install it and configure to actually email me some errors, but just wondering why the Gentoo Handbook doesn't put it as something optional to install like cron daemon is.
djdunn
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

syslog-ng has a lot of nice features
“Music is a moral law. It gives a soul to the Universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, a charm to sadness, gaiety and life to everything. It is the essence of order, and leads to all that is good and just and beautiful.”

― Plato
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 8:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Syslog, is it needed? Reply with quote

freedomlives wrote:
puts a log file there anyway

How about e.g. iptables logging?

I expect there's many apps which will just assume you're running a logger.
Inekris
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Jan 28, 2014 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uhm, no. Strictly speaking, there is no need for a logdaemon or logs in general.