Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Announcing Pappy's Kernel Seeds. <closed, use new thread>
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 25, 26, 27  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Neddy! It boots clean now. :D

Now to learn how to use wifi on a gentoo laptop. I've never done wifi under gentoo before. Where's the best place to start?

The ultimate goal is to have a laptop running gentoo with working ethernet, wifi, bluetooth, and a fully encrypted hard drive with a usb boot token, and to have that system running a virtual machine that has various os's as a guest. Since it is a laptop, I will need all those little frills that I never bothered with on servers, like audio, wifi, bluetooth, sleep, hibernate, etc.

This machine (HP nw8240 2 Ghz 1 core 2 GB ram) is the test case. If I get all this to work, then I will do the same thing on my Lenovo W500 (2.6 GHz 2 core 4 GB ram). If all that works, then I will switch from the current 320 GB SATA drive to a 250 GB flash SATA drive. That will then be my portable consulting box. 8)

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moriah,

To learn to set up your wifi, look in the handbook

I want my netbook install to be like you are planning for your laptop. Its missing the crypto and hibernate at the moment.

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you running bluetooth?

Virtual machine?