Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE4 Control Center [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
th0r
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Location: 67 65 6e 74 6f 6f

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 8:15 am    Post subject: KDE4 Control Center [Solved] Reply with quote

I installed KDE4, and noticed that I didn't have a control center. I emerged the control center and it's not in my kmenu still. I'm wandering where it is?
_________________
“The city’s central computer told you? R2D2, you know better than to trust a strange computer!”
(C3PO)


Last edited by th0r on Sun Oct 19, 2008 4:26 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atle
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try running the command 'systemsettings' manually, to check if it is really installed.
You can manually edit the menu by rightclicking on it, or by running 'kmenuedit' from the command line.

I know there's a tool for automatically searching for program not in the menu, but I could not find it now.
Edit:
I was thinking about kappfinder, but it is only ment for non-kDE programs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paczesiowa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 593
Location: Oborniki Śląskie, Poland

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

switch k menu to old style and then again to new style that should reload new apps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
th0r
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Location: 67 65 6e 74 6f 6f

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 4:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do you do that?
_________________
“The city’s central computer told you? R2D2, you know better than to trust a strange computer!”
(C3PO)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sensus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 5:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

th0r wrote:
How do you do that?

Right click the k-menu and select "Switch to classic menu style"
Widgets must be unlocked for this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
th0r
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Location: 67 65 6e 74 6f 6f

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tried that but when I go to classic style the control center is not in there either. Then when I go back to kicker style it doesn't load in there also.
_________________
“The city’s central computer told you? R2D2, you know better than to trust a strange computer!”
(C3PO)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atle
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One thing you can try is opening the menu editor, and from the edit menu select "Restore to system menu".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4572
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you actually emerge kde-base/systemsettings?
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
th0r
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Location: 67 65 6e 74 6f 6f

PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Silly me, I do have the "system settings" menu. This looks to have the same funtion as "control center". I guess in KDE-4.1.2. there isn't a actual control center, you can use the system setting menu intead. Now if I am wrong please tell me so.
_________________
“The city’s central computer told you? R2D2, you know better than to trust a strange computer!”
(C3PO)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agent_jdh
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 1779
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

th0r wrote:
Silly me, I do have the "system settings" menu. This looks to have the same funtion as "control center". I guess in KDE-4.1.2. there isn't a actual control center, you can use the system setting menu intead. Now if I am wrong please tell me so.


You're not wrong.
_________________
Jingle Jangle Jewellery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum