Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Firefox 3.0 won't start: Segmentation Fault
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fixhalleluja
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 4:44 pm    Post subject: Firefox 3.0 won't start: Segmentation Fault Reply with quote

Hi there,

I emerged the new Firefox 3 like this:
Code:
www-client/mozilla-firefox-3.0-r1  USE="dbus gnome ipv6 java mozdevelop startup-notification xulrunner -bindist -iceweasel -restrict-javascript" LINGUAS="de en es -af -ar -be -ca -cs -da -el -en_GB -en_US -es_AR -es_ES -eu -fi -fr -fy -fy_NL -ga -ga_IE -gu -gu_IN -he -hu -id -it -ja -ka -ko -ku -lt -mk -mn -nb -nb_NO -nl -nn -nn_NO -pa -pa_IN -pl -pt -pt_BR -pt_PT -ro -ru -si -sk -sl -sq -sr -sv -sv_SE -tr -uk -zh -zh_CN -zh_TW" 0 kB

With XUL-Runner:
Code:
net-libs/xulrunner-1.9-r2  USE="dbus gnome ipv6 java -startup-notification"

Everything compiled fine, but when I start it, just nothing happens.
At first, I emerged Firefox without the startup-notification use-flag too, but there wasn't any difference.
Here's a short part of a huge strace output:
Code:
...
open("/usr/lib/mozilla-firefox/chrome/icons/default/default48.png", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE) = 36
fstat64(36, {st_mode=S_IFREG|0644, st_size=5191, ...}) = 0
mmap(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0x4802d000
read(36, "\211PNG\r\n\32\n\0\0\0\rIHDR\0\0\0000\0\0\0000\10\6\0\0\0W\2\371"..., 4096) = 4096
_llseek(36, 0, [0], SEEK_SET)           = 0
read(36, "\211PNG\r\n\32\n\0\0\0\rIHDR\0\0\0000\0\0\0000\10\6\0\0\0W\2\371"..., 4096) = 4096
read(36, "3\206$ Y_\6\231t\vL\223tW*\254\0a\261\246C\264\225\0207\232\224\35\227\237\37\26"..., 4096) = 1095
close(36)                               = 0
munmap(0x4802d000, 4096)                = 0
uname({sys="Linux", node="Rechner", ...}) = 0
access("/home/myself/.mozilla/firefox/28uq098a.default/XUL.mfasl", F_OK) = 0
open("/home/myself/.mozilla/firefox/28uq098a.default/XUL.mfasl", O_RDONLY|O_LARGEFILE) = 36
read(36, "", 32)                        = 0
close(36)                               = 0
stat64("/home/myself/.mozilla/firefox/28uq098a.default/XUL.mfasl", {st_mode=S_IFREG|0644, st_size=0, ...}) = 0
lstat64("/home/myself/.mozilla/firefox/28uq098a.default/XUL.mfasl", {st_mode=S_IFREG|0644, st_size=0, ...}) = 0
unlink("/home/myself/.mozilla/firefox/28uq098a.default/XUL.mfasl") = 0
open("/home/myself/.mozilla/firefox/28uq098a.default/XUL.mfasl", O_WRONLY|O_CREAT|O_TRUNC|O_LARGEFILE, 0644) = 36
write(36, "", 0)                        = 0
_llseek(36, 32, [32], SEEK_SET)         = 0
stat64("/usr/lib/mozilla-firefox/chrome/browser.jar", {st_mode=S_IFREG|0644, st_size=1883212, ...}) = 0
futex(0x10239e24, FUTEX_CMP_REQUEUE_PRIVATE, 1, 2147483647, 0x10229964, 0) = 1
futex(0x105665a8, FUTEX_WAKE_PRIVATE, 1) = 1
write(19, "\372", 1)                    = 1
--- SIGSEGV (Segmentation fault) @ 0 (0) ---
unlink("/home/myself/.mozilla/firefox/28uq098a.default/lock") = 0
...

Does anyone have an idea, what could be the problem?
I'm here on a PPC (PowerPC, G4), if that is of interest.

Thanks in advance for any hints!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
muczy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Sep 2006
Posts: 45
Location: Szeged, Hungary, Europe

PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try moving you .firefox directory, and start firefox with a clean one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fixhalleluja
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, but I already did that.
The files accessed in the strace output have been created during an attempt to start firefox just before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bastibasti
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2006
Posts: 581

PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

seg fault could also mean wrong compiler options. can u post you make.conf and build log?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1330
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I experienced the same with an FF3 installation that was already running for a month now ;-)

Debugging with gdb I found out that pango was the culprit - I still had x11-libs/pango-1.20.3 ... updating to x11-libs/pango-1.20.5 resolved the problem for me.

HTH
swimmer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fixhalleluja
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First I wanna say thank you for the quick replies..
Second.. here's my make.conf
Code:
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--enable-new-dtags -Wl,--sort-common -s"
CFLAGS="-O3 -mcpu=G4 -mtune=G4 -maltivec -mabi=altivec -fno-strict-aliasing -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
CHOST="powerpc-unknown-linux-gnu"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
USE="X mad qt3 loop-aes php curl encode qhull java5 amr v4l x264 xvid a52 aac glitz ldap kerberos samba xml xmlreader xmlwriter xmlrpc apache2 xinerama fbcon -berkdb mysql qt4 xforms xplanet jack exif dbus binfilter cairo sound wxwindows tk mozdevelop agg nsplugin ffmpeg mp3 java opengl gstreamer plotutils postscript wmf truetype pdf latex tiff jpeg png svg alsa gtk gnome xulrunner -firefox -qt -kde dvd alsa cdr flac tagwriting ogg vorbis dvdr libwww teamarena"
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~ppc"
LINGUAS="es en de"
VIDEO_CARDS="radeon"
INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard evdev mouse synaptics"
FOO2ZJS_DEVICES="km2300"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"
CAMERAS="ptp2"
source /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf

Concerning pango:
I already had version 1.20.5 installed.. I reemerged it and nothing changed.. revdep-rebuild doesn't complain either...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skellr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 975
Location: The Village, Portmeirion

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Profile problem maybe?
Code:
firefox -CreateProfile test && firefox -P test
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fixhalleluja
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, I just tried your suggestion, but that didn't do it..
Also I think, by moving away my ~/.mozilla directory, a new profile was created anyway.. wasn't it?
Thanks though..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skellr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 975
Location: The Village, Portmeirion

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fixhalleluja wrote:
Hmm, I just tried your suggestion, but that didn't do it..
Also I think, by moving away my ~/.mozilla directory, a new profile was created anyway.. wasn't it?
Thanks though..
Ohh yes. Somehow I missed that. :o
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phoenix591
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 487

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, this won't solve your problem, but code is more optomized if you use -march=G3 (or whatever G it was) , or -march=native (gcc >=4.2 only)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1330
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just again can recommend you gdb ...
Code:
gdb /usr/lib/mozilla-firefox/firefox
run
and see where it bails out. Then you know at least where to start ;-)

HTH
swimmer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fixhalleluja
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, ok.. gdb says:
Code:
Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0x0da4b2bc in ?? () from /usr/lib/xulrunner-1.9/components/libdocshell.so

So, I'm going to do something to xulrunner, like reemerge it with different CFLAGS...
I'll tell you, what happens..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fixhalleluja
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With the new information from gdb I also found this topic and this bug.
So, thank you all, I consider the issue as solved!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

g2g591 wrote:
well, this won't solve your problem, but code is more optomized if you use -march=G3 (or whatever G it was) , or -march=native (gcc >=4.2 only)

Just so you know, -march is not a supported gcc option on powerpc, -mcpu=G4 is correct (and -mtune=G4 is not needed).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sno35
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 May 2004
Posts: 334
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
I have/had the same problem with -O2.
Turned it to -O1
Then it works.
Hth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum