Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
gentoo m68k
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2008 4:23 pm    Post subject: gentoo m68k Reply with quote

Quote:

binary packages for Gentoo/m68k

This should now be very close to a fully working system.

I have myself installed a couple of systems from scratch simly by unpacking
the most obvious system packages to a boot-partition. (This can ofcourse be
done one a non-m68k machine as well, as long as the system understands the
partition table of the m68k system, and the filesystem of choice)

You can also use this directory as a binary source in /etc/make.conf, just set
PORTAGE_BINHOST="http://tinderbox.dev.gentoo.org/default-linux/m68k/"

The packages were buildt with /etc/make.profile pointing to
/usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/m68k and the following flags in
/etc/make.conf:

---
USE="python berkdb xml logrotate objc objc++ pam zlib crypt png jpeg truetype
ncurses nptl nptlonly curl ccache memlimit ipv6 tcpd imagemagick expat gd dba
apache2 bzip2 mailwrapper ssl idn -oss -apache1 -dvd -xv -gpm -nls -esd -sdl
-oggvorbis -gnome -gtk -gtk2 -X -qt -kde -motif -opengl -mozilla -cups
-foomaticdb -mudflap"

CHOST="m68k-unknown-linux-gnu"

CFLAGS="-m68030 -pipe -Os"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"

(-Os does not always work, I then try -O2 or no -O at all)

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~m68k ~x86 x86 ppc"

FEATURES="sandbox ccache buildpkg"
---

/etc/portage/package.use is:
---
sys-fs/e2fsprogs static
sys-apps/baselayout static
sys-libs/glibc userlocales
sys-libs/cracklib python
net-www/apache mpm-prefork
dev-lang/php cli
app-editors/nano minimal
---

All packages are build on an CBM Amiga A1200 with a Blizzard-1260 (68060
clocked at 50MHz) with 192MB RAM. As I build newer packages I will uploaded
them here.

Note: glibc-2.4 is still on the todo, support for the required
Native POSIX Threads Library is still unresolved for m68k.

Note (2007-01-16):
I've had some BAD experience with the e2fstools - if you experience weird
problems (e2mkfs unable to format filesystem, e2fsck complaining about blocks
being outside fs) please try busybox instead instead, using "busybox e2mkfs"
and "busybox e2fsck" etc.

Cheers!





it could be considered "insane" to think about gentoo on such a slow and so obsoleted m68k arch (amiga 1200/4000 with an accelerator card is still an expansive chunk of old hardware from ebay) , anyway if you do it for kicks thats is the URL http://tinderbox.dev.gentoo.org/default-linux/m68k/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anybody using m68k ? i mean amiga A1200/4000 or apple m68k (LC475, LC-*, etc)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
limn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 868

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A few years back I tried to cross compile Gentoo for a Quadra. I spent a fair amount of time on it before switching to NetBSD.
The box does work as a file server and web test box. Large compilations are distributed to a faster box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2008 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the link provide a nice amount of compiled packages for gentoo/m68k

my question is: how do you made the stage3 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bombsquad
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Location: Coventry, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried a similar thing on my 4000/040@40MHz - got a basic Debian install going then started unpacking the Gentoo bits into a fresh partition.
Never quite got to the stage where it could boot on its own before I had to leave it last time =/

Now I can at least grab the basic binaries from your setup and do it that way.
Nice one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrZammler
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 104
Location: The Island of Crete

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm thinking of trying something similar (A3000/060).

Anyone who manage a stage1, please do post it somewhere for the rest of us. Would kick things off I think.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrZammler
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 104
Location: The Island of Crete

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, and something else.

As I'm looking around for general linux/m68k, on an Amiga platform, do the swap and root partitions need to be within the 4G barrier?

I would assume no, since the kernel is booted from AmigaOS, and it should not matter, but I'd like to know.

I'm planning to reserve some 10-20G space at the end of my 120G disk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry, I don't know about this


I'd like to install emile as boot loader, anyone has experimented it ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
armanox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MrZammler wrote:
Oh, and something else.

As I'm looking around for general linux/m68k, on an Amiga platform, do the swap and root partitions need to be within the 4G barrier?

I would assume no, since the kernel is booted from AmigaOS, and it should not matter, but I'd like to know.

I'm planning to reserve some 10-20G space at the end of my 120G disk.


I would imagine that as long as your boot partition is within the limits and the system can use the disk (BIOS doesn't need to be able to boot beyond 4G, just needs to be able to boot the kernel from /boot) you should be fine. That is why we have /boot afterall =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm very happy to say that i successfully build a gentoo-m68k-stage3-proof.0.2

lc475 ~ # cat /proc/cpuinfo
CPU: 68040
MMU: 68040
FPU: 68040
Clocking: 24.4MHz
BogoMips: 16.28
Calibration: 81408 loops

lc475 ~ # uname -m
m68k

lc475 ~ # uname -r
2.6.24-mac68k-lc475

lc475 ~ # gcc -v
Using built-in specs.
Target: m68k-unknown-linux-gnu
gcc version 4.2.3 (Gentoo 4.2.3 p1.0)

lc475 ~ # myhallo
hallo world from gentoo-m68k



still booting from the floppy disk, but I'm working around Apple_Driver, boot_first_scsi, boot_second_scsi to boot directly from the scsi hard drive (emile-0.12 has a tone of issues that make me unable to boot from the hard drive)



anyone using apple mac68k 68040 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Simba7
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 678
Location: Billings, MT, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try out miBoot yet?
_________________
Router(PE1750,4GB RAM,3x36GB HDDs,2xIntel Pro/1000+GT Quad Port) | MyDT(PhmIIx3 720@3.3GHz,8GB RAM,1TB+1.5TB+2TB HDDs,GFGTS250,LG BD-RE,Win7)
MyLT(Asus G53SX,32GB RAM,2x750GB HDDs,BD-RE,Intel 6230,Win7) | Wife(C2D@2.4GHz,4GB RAM,250GB HDD,DVDRW,Win7)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shouldn't be for powerpc ?

lc475 is m68k !

http://people.debian.org/~wouter/d-i/powerpc-miboot/20081224-05:27/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Simba7
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 678
Location: Billings, MT, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darn..

I thought there was a miBoot for 68k.. Ahh well..

You could have a rather TINY MacOS 7 install as a bootstrap (just make a 2-3mb partition), then have it autoload BootX..

I remember doing this on an old IIvx awhile ago..
_________________
Router(PE1750,4GB RAM,3x36GB HDDs,2xIntel Pro/1000+GT Quad Port) | MyDT(PhmIIx3 720@3.3GHz,8GB RAM,1TB+1.5TB+2TB HDDs,GFGTS250,LG BD-RE,Win7)
MyLT(Asus G53SX,32GB RAM,2x750GB HDDs,BD-RE,Intel 6230,Win7) | Wife(C2D@2.4GHz,4GB RAM,250GB HDD,DVDRW,Win7)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was using bootX on my old-firmware powerbook G3 "wallstreet"
then i sold it for a new-firmware powerbook G4 called "aluminium" and i bootstrap the kernel with yaboot

for apple 68k, a good boot loader maybe "penguin boot", that needs macOS to be loaded

now, the problem is: i don't want any macOS installed on my harddrive 'cause i simply hate it !

so i will develop around "emile" producing something new something working for my LC475 :P

(I am also working to hack the mobo: i'd like to change the clock from 25Mhz to 33Mhz, and i'd like to add a 64Mb simm 72 ram module ... I am studying the problem, it may be possible)



p.s.
have you got any binary packages ? debian ? i can't find them on the web and i'd like to do a compare with what i build
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zotalore
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 2:00 pm    Post subject: Coldfire? Reply with quote

Have anybody tried out Gentoo on the Freescale coldfire architecture?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

coldfire ... mmm it should have no MMU, so no MMC, no party
ucLinux is not supported yet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zotalore
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some of them do have a MMU, like the MCF5445x while others don't, like my favorite the MC5223x which are dirt cheap and include an ethernet phy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, it may be possible to emerge a new stage3 compiled for them
unfortunately coldfire uses a reduced set of m68k isa, so ... we need to recompile the whole

umm are you thinking about a good hw ? should it be a pretty target to aim for ?
in this case we could find interest about recompiling the stuff for coldfire :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zotalore
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2009 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ddc wrote:

umm are you thinking about a good hw ? should it be a pretty target to aim for ?
in this case we could find interest about recompiling the stuff for coldfire :P


Unfortunately I only have a couple of boards with the MC52235, which lacks the MMU :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum