Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
gentoo on sgi altix 3000 (ia64)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jock82
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2008 12:11 am    Post subject: gentoo on sgi altix 3000 (ia64) Reply with quote

hello.

i am new to installing gentoo on ia64, so please bear with me.

we have an SGI altix 3000 server that we are trying to install gentoo on.

before i go any further, here is the output from lspci:


0001:00:01.0 Co-processor: Silicon Graphics, Inc. IOC4 I/O controller (rev 4f)
0001:00:03.0 SCSI storage controller: QLogic Corp. ISP12160 Dual Channel Ultra3 SCSI Processor (rev 06)
0001:00:04.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5701 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 15)
0002:00:02.0 Fibre Channel: QLogic Corp. ISP2312-based 2Gb Fibre Channel to PCI-X HBA (rev 02)
0002:00:02.1 Fibre Channel: QLogic Corp. ISP2312-based 2Gb Fibre Channel to PCI-X HBA (rev 02)

we started with the gentoo minimal install cd. it boots up fine but i suspect it does not have the qla2xxx driver needed to load the fibre disks.

i know that the fibre channel uses QLA2312 - this is what the SuSE enterprise 10 that is installed on this machine reports.

based on the information in a post, the gentoo minimal cd should have the qla2xxx module, but we were unable to find/load it. i cannot provide the link to the thread because this is my first post.

am i doing something wrong or loading the wrong module?

i would really appreciate any help on this.

thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blu3bird
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 605
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2008 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm not familiar with ia64 but the same problem exists on sparc.

The qla2xxx module doesn't work out of the box. It requires a firmware to be loaded from the userpace(eg harddrive) to work. The 2007 minimal cd couldn't really handle it but the 2008 probably can.

After booting the cd, did you try to remove the module and modprobe it again to trigger the firmware loading? That should make it work even on the old 2007 cd.
Code:
rmmod qla2xxx
modprobe qla2xxx


Once you've managed to boot the machine and partition your harddrive etc this howto should help you to configure you'r kernel and make your system boot.[/url]
_________________
Black Holes are created when God divides by zero!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jock82
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2008 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

blu3bird,

thank you very much for your response - you pointed me in the right direction.

the 2007 cd does not have the qla2xxx module at all, but the 2008 minimal cd does.

after i downloaded the required firmware image, i was able to remove the qla2xxx module and modprobe it again.

one of the two discs now show up. unfortunately the second disc (the one i would like to install the O.S on), does not show up. is there a parameter that the module expects?

the output from dmesg is as follows below. there is a complaint about a cable being unplugged - i don't know what that is about.

any further ideas appreciated .... as you can tell, i have no experience with such hardware.

Code:
 QLogic Fibre Channel HBA Driver: 8.02.00-k5
  QLogic QLA2342 - 133MHz PCI-X to 2Gb FC, Dual Channel
  ISP2312: PCI-X (133 MHz) @ 0002:00:02.0 hdma+, host#=8, fw=3.03.20 IPX
ACPI: Unable to derive IRQ for device 0002:00:02.1
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0002:00:02.1[B]: no GSI<5>sd 8:0:0:0: [sda] Write Protect is off
sd 8:0:0:0: [sda] Mode Sense: 7f 00 10 08

sd 8:0:0:0: [sda] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, supports DPO and FUA
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.1: Found an ISP2312, irq 61, iobase 0xc00000080ce01000
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.1: Configuring PCI space...
sd 8:0:0:0: [sda] 3499991040 512-byte hardware sectors (1791995 MB)
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.1: Configure NVRAM parameters...
sd 8:0:0:0: [sda] Write Protect is off
sd 8:0:0:0: [sda] Mode Sense: 7f 00 10 08
sd 8:0:0:0: [sda] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, supports DPO and FUA
 sda:<4>Alternate GPT is invalid, using primary GPT.
 sda1 sda2 sda3
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.1: Verifying loaded RISC code...
sd 8:0:0:0: [sda] Attached SCSI disk
sd 8:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 0
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.1: Allocated (412 KB) for firmware dump...
scsi9 : qla2xxx
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.1:
 QLogic Fibre Channel HBA Driver: 8.02.00-k5
  QLogic QLA2342 - 133MHz PCI-X to 2Gb FC, Dual Channel
  ISP2312: PCI-X (133 MHz) @ 0002:00:02.1 hdma+, host#=9, fw=3.03.20 IPX
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.1: Cable is unplugged...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jock82
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2008 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oops, i think i made a mistake.

we also have a raid attached to the machine in question. i just realized that performing the previous steps actually enabled the raid at /dev/sda, not the fibre discs that i was after.

i am a little lost now, so i think it is time for me to do my homework before proceeding any further
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blu3bird
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 605
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2008 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jock82 wrote:
Code:
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.1: Cable is unplugged...
Means a timeout it hit before any disc is found. You can try to increase this timeout, maybe your disk just needs a few seconds to wake up...

Try passing these qla2xxx parameters when modprobing the module:
Quote:
ql2xextended_error_logging=1 # to enable debug output
ql2xplogiabsentdevice=1 # enable a fix for disc-detection on broken switches
ql2xlogintimeout=30 # timeout in seconds

_________________
Black Holes are created when God divides by zero!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jock82
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2008 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for your reply.

i tried to pass the module arguments that you suggested - still no luck. the output from dmesg is at the end of this reply.

this is how i understand this setup - the qla2xxx module controls the hba fibre channels to which both the raid and the fibre discs are attached. is this correct? my earlier post had the lspci output in which i noticed two SP2312-based 2Gb Fibre Channel to PCI-X HBA which i assumed to be for the fibre discs (obviously i was wrong). lspci also mentioned a scsi controller QLogic Corp. ISP12160 Dual Channel Ultra3 SCSI Processor. does the qla2xxx module take care of that too or does it need a module of its own?

dmesg output:
Code:

QLogic Fibre Channel HBA Driver
ACPI: Unable to derive IRQ for device 0002:00:02.0
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0002:00:02.0[A]: no GSI
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.0: Found an ISP2312, irq 60, iobase 0xc00000080ce00000
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.0: Configuring PCI space...
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.0: Configure NVRAM parameters...
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.0: Verifying loaded RISC code...
scsi(16): **** Load RISC code ****
scsi(16): Verifying Checksum of loaded RISC code.
scsi(16): Checksum OK, start firmware.
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.0: Allocated (412 KB) for firmware dump...
scsi(16): Issue init firmware.
DEBUG: detect hba 16 at address = e000003440310450
scsi16 : qla2xxx
scsi(16): Asynchronous LIP RESET (f8f7).
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.0: LIP reset occured (f8f7).
scsi(16): LIP occured (f8f7).
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.0: LIP occured (f8f7).
scsi(16): Asynchronous LOOP UP (1 Gbps).
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.0: LOOP UP detected (1 Gbps).
scsi(16): Asynchronous PORT UPDATE.
scsi(16): Port database changed ffff 0006 0000.
scsi(16): qla2x00_reset_marker()
scsi(16): qla2x00_loop_resync()
scsi(16): F/W Ready - OK
scsi(16): fw_state=3 curr time=100891345.
scsi(16): Configure loop -- dpc flags =0x40800e0
qla2x00_mailbox_command(16): **** FAILED. mbx0=4006, mbx1=7e, mbx2=0, cmd=6a ****
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.0: scsi(16:0:0:0): Queue depth adjusted-up to 4.
qla2x00_get_port_name(16): failed=102.
scsi(16): MBC_GET_PORT_NAME Failed, No FL Port
scsi 16:0:0:0: Direct-Access     MYLEX    DACARMRB 5_17089 7775 PQ: 0 ANSI: 2
scsi(16): LOOP READY
scsi(16): qla2x00_loop_resync - end
sd 16:0:0:0: [sda] 3499991040 512-byte hardware sectors (1791995 MB)
sd 16:0:0:0: [sda] Write Protect is off
sd 16:0:0:0: [sda] Mode Sense: 7f 00 10 08
sd 16:0:0:0: [sda] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, supports DPO and FUA
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.0:
 QLogic Fibre Channel HBA Driver: 8.02.00-k5-debug
  QLogic QLA2342 - 133MHz PCI-X to 2Gb FC, Dual Channel
  ISP2312: PCI-X (133 MHz) @ 0002:00:02.0 hdma+, host#=16, fw=3.03.20 IPX
sd 16:0:0:0: [sda] 3499991040 512-byte hardware sectors (1791995 MB)
sd 16:0:0:0: [sda] Write Protect is off
sd 16:0:0:0: [sda] Mode Sense: 7f 00 10 08
sd 16:0:0:0: [sda] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, supports DPO and FUA
 sda:<4>Alternate GPT is invalid, using primary GPT.
 sda1 sda2 sda3
ACPI: Unable to derive IRQ for device 0002:00:02.1
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0002:00:02.1[B]: no GSI
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.1: Found an ISP2312, irq 61, iobase 0xc00000080ce01000
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.1: Configuring PCI space...
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.1: Configure NVRAM parameters...
sd 16:0:0:0: [sda] Attached SCSI disk
sd 16:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 0
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.1: Verifying loaded RISC code...
scsi(17): **** Load RISC code ****
scsi(17): Verifying Checksum of loaded RISC code.
scsi(17): Checksum OK, start firmware.
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.1: Allocated (412 KB) for firmware dump...
scsi(17): Issue init firmware.
DEBUG: detect hba 17 at address = e0000034400d4450
scsi17 : qla2xxx
scsi(17): qla2x00_loop_resync()
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.1:
 QLogic Fibre Channel HBA Driver: 8.02.00-k5-debug
  QLogic QLA2342 - 133MHz PCI-X to 2Gb FC, Dual Channel
  ISP2312: PCI-X (133 MHz) @ 0002:00:02.1 hdma+, host#=17, fw=3.03.20 IPX
qla2xxx 0002:00:02.1: Cable is unplugged...
scsi(17): fw_state=4 curr time=100892970.
scsi(17): Firmware ready **** FAILED ****.
qla2x00_loop_resync(): **** FAILED ****
scsi(17): qla2x00_loop_resync - end
scsi(17): Loop Down - aborting the queues before time expire
scsi(17): Loop down exceed 4 mins - restarting queues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blu3bird
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 605
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2008 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, now I get it...

You have 3 scsi controllers:
Code:
0002:00:02.0 Fibre Channel: QLogic Corp. ISP2312-based 2Gb Fibre Channel to PCI-X HBA (rev 02)

- connected to the raid you'r seeing as /dev/sda
- uses the qla2xxx module
- works

Code:
0002:00:02.1 Fibre Channel: QLogic Corp. ISP2312-based 2Gb Fibre Channel to PCI-X HBA (rev 02)

- not connected to anything(that's why is says "cable is unplugged")
- uses the qla2xxx module
- works

Code:
0001:00:03.0 SCSI storage controller: QLogic Corp. ISP12160 Dual Channel Ultra3 SCSI Processor (rev 06)

- connected to the disc you want to install gentoo on
- uses the qla1280(CONFIG_SCSI_QLOGIC_1280) module, not qla2xxx
- does not work(yet)

Can you try to modprobe qla1280(it should work out of the box, meaning without the need for a userpace firmware)? Hoepfully this one exists on the cd...
_________________
Black Holes are created when God divides by zero!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jock82
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2008 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

now it all starts to make a little more sense! thanks for clearing that up.

unfortunately, no qla1280 module exists on the cd ...

does this mean i have to install gentoo by booting off the SuSE disc and creating a chroot for the gentoo install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blu3bird
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 605
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2008 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jock82 wrote:
does this mean i have to install gentoo by booting off the SuSE disc and creating a chroot for the gentoo install?

Yeah, that would probably be easier and much faster than creating a custom install cd first ;)
_________________
Black Holes are created when God divides by zero!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jock82
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2008 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright, lets see how much fun that is going to be.

thanks for all your help so far, but i have a feeling this is not the end of the qlogic stuff. more awaits once i get to the kernel ... so i think i'll be back with more questions for you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum