One server to do it all?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
morphal
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 4:38 am    Post subject: One server to do it all? Reply with quote

Trying to come up with a solution for what I want has been difficult. I've been admining my Gentoo boxes for about five years but have never really moved on into anything beyond a simple web server. I've hosted a phpBB forum, helped with some basic scripts for a work project, swapped some files around and, I think, been very good at keeping it all secure. Long ago I figured out a nice little fix for all the fancy buttons on my Logitech mouse and I managed to keep abreast of things when the first (in my experience) big change to Gentoo's config file layout for Apache came along and helped some users through that. I've received (at least) my share of help from the forums along the way but I do try to Google and RTFM as often as I can.

Rambled enough? Great. I'd like to do something more with my machines.

I'd like to get something useful running, for once. Specifically, I want a server that hosts multiple domains/sites with message boards, mail (webmail/IMAP/POP/SMTP and all securely!), Jabber, single sign-in, preferably in a chrooted environment. I'd also like to support mail aliasing, but that seems trivial after the other requests. Blocking spammers is a huge, huge problem on my current forum and I'd like to be as secure against that as can be realistically expected. I know this is a fairly tall order all by itself, but I'm probably looking at no more than 50 registered users with 10 concurrent users being positively hectic. Yes, I know it's overkill. Yes, it gets worse. :D