Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Visual Studio and Linux
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bobber205
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Aug 2006
Posts: 561
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 4:57 am    Post subject: Visual Studio and Linux Reply with quote

I have to use Visual Studio for school (alot).

I would like to run it on linux. It doesn't work wine of course. ;)

Should I use an emulation ?
What do you guys recommend I do?
_________________
Never Forget The Expat 2.0!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Telexen
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Oct 2005
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Might as well run a VM.

But if you have another computer using VNC would probably work too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baeksu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Sep 2004
Posts: 609
Location: Seoul, Korea

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 5:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you machine is new enough (<3 years), running in VM will be probably smoother than using a VNC.

Both Virtualbox and VMWare are pretty good.
_________________
Gnome:
1. A legendary being.
2. A never ending quest to make unix friendly to people who don't want unix and excruciating for those that do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobber205
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Aug 2006
Posts: 561
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 5:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I went to easyvmz and got a virtual machine installed and started. Had trouble with vmwareplayer so I tried virtualbox.

Code:


Failed to assign the machine to the session.


Result Code:
0x80004001
Component:
Machine
Interface:
IMachine {0332de0e-ce75-461f-8c6f-0fa42616404a}
Callee:
IVirtualBox {d1a2295c-d257-4a4c-a9a6-843d87db6f45}


Whenever I would run the non binary package, it would freeze at starting a new session. Now what do I do?
_________________
Never Forget The Expat 2.0!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brumbrum
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bobber205 wrote:
Whenever I would run the non binary package, it would freeze at starting a new session. Now what do I do?


I work as a tool-developer at a big mobile phone company, and at home I use Gentoo only on my mashines, but at work we use Windows.
When I have to use my home computer to work with or when I work at home, I use KVM.
KVM is VERY fast and stable, and working just like using a real computer to run Windows XP.

I use Visual Studio 2003 and Visual Studio 2008 without any problems (C++ in 2003, C# in 2008) in KVM and strongly recomend this VM becouse of the speed and becouse it is simple to use and setup. I use to update KVM from http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=180599 like once a month, and havn't had any problems yet. VERY stable VM (but I cant say this about VirtualBox or VmWare as I find them unstable to use, and VirtualBox kernel-modules often made my computer hard-freeze).

You find KVM here: http://kvm.qumranet.com/kvmwiki
When you have compiled it and installed it, load the modules by "modprobe kvm_amd" or "modprobe kvm_intel", depending on what CPU you use (or place the lines needed in
/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6

To create a new virtual disc to use, just type:
# qemu-img create -f qcow vdisk.img 20G
(or some other value depending on the size you need).

To install a operatingsystem on your new disc, type:
# qemu-system-x86_64 -hda vdisk.img -no-acpi -localtime -usb -usbdevice tablet -cdrom Windows-disc.iso -boot d -m 512 -std-vga

When finished, run QEmu/Kvm like this:
# qemu-system-x86_64 -hda vdisk.img -no-acpi -m 512 -localtime -boot c -usb -usbdevice tablet -std-vga
or something simular.

More documentation could be found here:
http://kvm.qumranet.com/kvmwiki/HOWTO
http://fabrice.bellard.free.fr/qemu/user-doc.html (this is QEmu-documentation, and KVM uses a patched QEmu to work. Dont use the source from this site to compile QEmu, use the KVM-source instead).

edit:
Maby you have to make sure your CPU is supported, as I have Virtualization-support in my CPU, AMD64x2 6000. Maby you also should change my lines above to use less RAM, since I have 4gb RAM in my computer. 256 maby is a better value then 512 in your case depending on RAM-size.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum