Going wireless, many questions
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
helmers
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2003 8:30 am    Post subject: Going wireless, many questions Reply with quote

Hi!

I'm planning on moving away from normal networking, and over to a wireless solution.

Here's the setup now:
1. Router/firewall (attached to switch)
2. Switch
3. 3 PC's attached to the switch on same floor
4. 1 PC with a 50 M cable in the basement, attached to the switch
5. One older laptop, attatched to the switch sometimes.

The main reason I am going wireless, is because I don't like that wire hanging out the window, and I want freedom with my laptop. :wink:

Only problem is, I have never done this before, but here's what I want to do:

1. Buy a 54Mbps wireless router
2. Plug it into the switch
3. Add a 54Mbps PCI card to the basement PC(running WinXP)
4. Add a 22Mbps PCMCIA card to the laptop.

My first question; do you see any flaws in my reasoning/setup here? Because I would like to aviod any bad surprises afterwords.

Second question; I need a well-supported and well working PCMCIA card, can someone recommend a card that have served them well?

Third question; Will I be able to get the PC in the basement on the net? It will be about 8 meters directly below the wireless router, through two floors. Or could someone comment on how far away one can be from a router and still get a decent signal?

Phew! :o
I think that's about it. Sorry about any misspellings. Hope you can help me out.
ady
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2003 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

5 points that might be worth considering:
1) You don't need a wireless router. These tend to have a wireless access point and a 4-way switch/hub in them. All you need is an access point that has a single ethernet port that you can then connect to your existing switch.