AC ' 97 Audio and Module configuration
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
LostInGentoo
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2002 10:38 am    Post subject: AC ' 97 Audio and Module configuration Reply with quote

Hey!

Yeah, I'm a real newbie to Linux asking to many questions, but anyway gentoo seems nice enough. I just installed the GNOME2 desktop environment and seem to have a little trouble with sound-configuration. I have a ASUS A7V133-A Motherboard which has onboard AC ' 97 Audio. I don't know how to configure this onboard audio card, but I started following the "Gentoo Linux Desktop Configuration Guide" and got into trouble where I should autoload the sound modules. The guide tells me to look in "/lib/modules/[kernel version]/misc/" for a list of available modules - the thing is, that there isn't any directory called misc :(

I really could use some help here - what have I done wrong during installation and how can I change these settings!

Hope you can help!
flater
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2002 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you compiled in sound support into the kernel? I have had trouble putting it in directly, compiling it as a module solved the problem.
If you follow the directions to install ALSA, make sure that gnome does NOT load a sound server, as it standardly loads ESD, which locked up sound on my system. When I killed the ESD process, sound played again ...
LostInGentoo
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2002 12:22 pm    Post subject: /dev/dsp can't be opened (No such file or directory) Reply with quote

Hey - I compiled my kernel having built in support for audio (not as a module) - The kernel itself chose the Creative Ensoniq AudioPCI 97 (ES1371) - How can i configure Alsa when the driver is directly added into the kernel and not as a module?
LostInGentoo
Apprentice
Apprentice