Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
framebuffer problem on laptop
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gtsquirrel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 85
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2003 11:08 pm    Post subject: framebuffer problem on laptop Reply with quote

My laptop has been installed using the Gentoo 1.4_rc4 livecd. I noticed the framebuffer support working, so when I compiled the kernel, I added FB support in hopes of getting it to work. (Kernel was emerge'd from gentoo-sources.)

My kernel command-line (as reported by dmesg) is:

Code:
root=/dev/hda2 hdc=ide-scsi vga=794


When I start the laptop, everything works just fine. As soon as the screen is put to sleep (inactivity timer) and I wake it back up, however, things are ... odd. If you split the screen in two halfs, a top and a bottom, then the top is in the bottom and the bottom is in the top. For example:

Quote:
Normal Screen:
1
2
3
4
5
6


Quote:
After-Inactivity Screen:
4
5
6
1
2
3


If it went away, I'd be fine with it, but this affects prompts and stdout/stderr outputs. Does anyone have a clue as to what the root of the problem is and a solution?

Thanks!

Chris
squirrel@headnut.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Khan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2003 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DId you follow The Gentoo Framebuffer, Bootsplash & Grubsplash How-TO? https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=49036

Also, what is the maximum resolution that your screen can do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gtsquirrel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 85
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2003 3:49 pm    Post subject: Answer Reply with quote

I looked at the HOWTO. It mandates a LOT more stuff than what I want, however. I was trying to decide just how much is needed for the basic support I want.

My maximum screen size is 1400x1050. It's an SXGA+ 15" monitor. I think the vga=794 setting uses 1280x1024 @ 16bpp. I pulled the value out of the x86 Installation Guide (http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86-install.xml). I will try what the Frame Buffer HOWTO says and see if it gets things working properly. I'll post back with the results, but thanks for the help in advance. :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gtsquirrel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 85
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2003 5:03 pm    Post subject: No dice Reply with quote

I followed the HOWTO to the letter, but the screen is still doing that funky thing it was doing before. If I take a screenshot of the console, everything appears normal. So it seems now like the problem is just in displaying the framebuffer on the screen. Any clues?

Laptop is a Dell Inspiron 4100 with NVidia GeForce (2?) inside. Don't know if that helps or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pYrania
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Oct 2002
Posts: 650
Location: Cologne - Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2003 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess I have the same issue.
Not sure from what you say :(

Anyway, for me it helps to turn off the monitor and switch it on again.
_________________
Markus Nigbur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gtsquirrel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 85
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2003 7:41 pm    Post subject: Turning laptop monitor off? Reply with quote

Um ... how do you turn a laptop monitor off and then back on without rebooting the whole machine?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Peaceable Frood
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Apr 2003
Posts: 338
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2003 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the kernel what driver did you choose? For my and I think any nvidia card unless your using a Riva 128 or whatever it says, choose VESA.
_________________
"Our enemies are innovative and resourceful, and so are we, they never stop thinking about new ways to harm our country and our people, and neither do we." George W. Bush
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gtsquirrel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 85
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2003 8:25 pm    Post subject: VESA Reply with quote

the vesa.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discostu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Nov 2002
Posts: 333

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2003 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quick question: You said that you took a screenshot of the console. How do you do this?

It would come in handy at times.
_________________
"Disco Stu doesn't advertise."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gtsquirrel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 85
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2003 9:25 pm    Post subject: Taking Screen Shots of a frame buffer Reply with quote

The following explanation can get ambiguous. You can take screenshots using EITHER fbgrab or fb2png. Choose one of the bullets below and follow that. (I prefer fbgrab, personally.)

From the FrameBuffer HOWTO link above:

Taking screenshots!

* To use fbgrab emerge it and execute it as normal user on terminal 1.
Code:
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=~x86 emerge fbgrab
fbgrab ~/console.png


* To use fb2png you must acquire and install it as root and execute as normal user on terminal 1.
Code:
wget http://dhruba.codewordt.co.uk/files/fb2png -P ~
mv ~/fb2png /usr/local/bin/
fb2png /dev/fb0 ~/console.png 0 1280 1024 16
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pYrania
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Oct 2002
Posts: 650
Location: Cologne - Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2003 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i do have a special function key to turn off my lcd (and get it back on, of course)

think most notebooks do have.
_________________
Markus Nigbur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gtsquirrel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 85
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2003 11:39 pm    Post subject: Aah Reply with quote

No, I don't have that. I tried blanking the screen and toggling between CRT/LCD, but to no avail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum