Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
VMware Fusion
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Aonoa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2002
Posts: 574
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 7:58 am    Post subject: VMware Fusion Reply with quote

I've recently begun experimenting with Gentoo as a guest OS in VMware Fusion on my Macbook Pro, with that I'm trying to get the wireless interface up (atheros chipset). I tried to emerge madwifi-ng, but I could not get ath0 to appear as it should after modprobing ath_pci.

I was wondering if anyone else has tried this and gotten it to work?

Thanks in advance.
_________________
Dive into Gentoo Linux and emerge into a new world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luispa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Mar 2006
Posts: 342
Location: España

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2007 10:41 pm    Post subject: Re: VMware Fusion Reply with quote

Heion wrote:
I've recently begun experimenting with Gentoo as a guest OS in VMware Fusion on my Macbook Pro, with that I'm trying to get the wireless interface up (atheros chipset). I tried to emerge madwifi-ng, but I could not get ath0 to appear as it should after modprobing ath_pci.

I was wondering if anyone else has tried this and gotten it to work?

Thanks in advance.


Hi Heion,

I'm actually starting to install the same, Gentoo as guest of VMWare Fusion. Could you please share the most important parts to perform the instal?, like drivers you've used in your kernel, make.conf compiler flags, etc. I'm actually in the install part.

As soon as I've the system up I'll share my 'wifi' findings with you.

thanks
Luis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aonoa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2002
Posts: 574
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2007 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't really modified a lot in make.conf, except USE flags.
Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -mtune=i686 -pipe"


As for my kernel drivers, I used a gentoo-2.6.23-r3 source and used these:
Code:
CONFIG_FUSION=y
CONFIG_FUSION_SPI=y
CONFIG_E1000=y


In order for the e1000 driver to work, you'll need to add this to your virtual machine vmx file.
Code:
ethernet0.virtualDev = "e1000"

_________________
Dive into Gentoo Linux and emerge into a new world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luispa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Mar 2006
Posts: 342
Location: España

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heion wrote:
I haven't really modified a lot in make.conf, except USE flags.
Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -mtune=i686 -pipe"


As for my kernel drivers, I used a gentoo-2.6.23-r3 source and used these:
Code:
CONFIG_FUSION=y
CONFIG_FUSION_SPI=y
CONFIG_E1000=y


In order for the e1000 driver to work, you'll need to add this to your virtual machine vmx file.
Code:
ethernet0.virtualDev = "e1000"


Great, thank you. I had fusion options, but testing the e1000 option.

Btw, have you been able to boot with vga extended option, to have something more than 80x25?, with splash or framebuffer?. kernel options?


Thanks again.


Luis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sonyman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why don't you just use the default bridged networking?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luispa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Mar 2006
Posts: 342
Location: España

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sonyman wrote:
Why don't you just use the default bridged networking?


Sorry, I don't understand the question. Network driver by default is pcnet32. The one mentioned above is to use the Intel one. It's independent of which networking option you setup in the Host, so all should work.

Thanks

Luis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toaster.waffle
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2005
Posts: 31
Location: Thunder Bay, ON

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to get Gentoo up and running on my Macbook and I'm having a problem with the mouse. I installed KDE and the logical location of the mouse, as far as KDE is concerned, is in a different spot than the visible cursor. I'm using Driver="vmmouse" in my xorg.conf.

Also, I haven't been able to install the vmware tools. It asks for a directory with rc1.d -> rc6.d.
I've tried following the Gentoo Wiki article about getting Gentoo working on the Windows version of VMWare but to no luck.
_________________
$ mkdir matter; cat >matter
matter: cannot create
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luispa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Mar 2006
Posts: 342
Location: España

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

toaster.waffle wrote:
I'm trying to get Gentoo up and running on my Macbook and I'm having a problem with the mouse. I installed KDE and the logical location of the mouse, as far as KDE is concerned, is in a different spot than the visible cursor. I'm using Driver="vmmouse" in my xorg.conf.

Also, I haven't been able to install the vmware tools. It asks for a directory with rc1.d -> rc6.d.
I've tried following the Gentoo Wiki article about getting Gentoo working on the Windows version of VMWare but to no luck.



Hi,

1) regarding the mouse, please note that I'm using "/dev/input/mice" and driver "mouse" and it's working. Please find my xorg.conf just in case it's usefull

Code:
$ cat xorg.conf
# VMware SVGA

Section "Module"
    Load        "dbe"     # Double buffer extension
    SubSection  "extmod"
    EndSubSection
    Load        "type1"
    Load        "freetype"
#    Load       "glx"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    FontPath "unix/:-1"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
#    Option NoTrapSignals
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier   "Keyboard1"
    Driver   "kbd"
    Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
    Option "XkbModel"   "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout"   "es"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier   "Mouse1"
    Driver   "mouse"
    Option "Protocol"    "ps/2"
    Option "Device"      "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "ZAxisMapping"   "4 5"
#    Option "Emulate3Buttons"
#    Option "Emulate3Timeout"    "50"
#    Option "ChordMiddle"
EndSection


Section "Device"
    Identifier  "VMware SVGA"
    Driver      "vmware"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    Device      "VMware SVGA"
    Monitor     "vmware"
    # Don't specify DefaultColorDepth unless you know what you're
    # doing. It will override the driver's preferences which can
    # cause the X server not to run if the host doesn't support the
    # depth.
    Subsection "Display"
        # VGA mode: better left untouched
        Depth       4
        Modes       "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       8
        Modes       "1280x1024"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       15
        Modes       "1280x1024"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "1280x1024"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1280x1024"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier  "Simple Layout"
    Screen "Screen 1"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice   "XWorkAround"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier      "vmware"
    VendorName      "VMware, Inc"
    HorizSync       1-10000
    VertRefresh     1-10000
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "XWorkAround"
   Driver      "void"
EndSection


2) Regarding installation of the VMWare Tools.

I used the "VMwareTools-7.6.2-62573.tar.gz" and to solve the install process regarding the rc'x'.d, I created the /etc/rc + rc'n'.d directories in my gentoo and when the process finished I used the created script with a link from /etc/init.d. See the final result which is more clear:

Code:
luis$ ls -alR /etc/rc
/etc/rc:
total 32
drwxr-xr-x  9 root root   248 Dec 24 12:57 .
drwxr-xr-x 50 root root  3768 Jan  7 12:13 ..
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root    80 Dec 26 13:38 rc0.d
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root    48 Dec 24 12:56 rc1.d
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root   112 Dec 26 13:38 rc2.d
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root   112 Dec 26 13:38 rc3.d
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root    48 Dec 24 12:56 rc4.d
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root   112 Dec 26 13:38 rc5.d
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root    80 Dec 26 13:38 rc6.d
-r-xr-xr-x  1 root root 27730 Dec 24 12:57 vmware-tools

/etc/rc/rc0.d:
total 0
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root  80 Dec 26 13:38 .
drwxr-xr-x 9 root root 248 Dec 24 12:57 ..
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root  20 Dec 26 13:38 K08vmware-tools -> /etc/rc/vmware-tools

/etc/rc/rc1.d:
total 0
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root  48 Dec 24 12:56 .
drwxr-xr-x 9 root root 248 Dec 24 12:57 ..

/etc/rc/rc2.d:
total 0
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 112 Dec 26 13:38 .
drwxr-xr-x 9 root root 248 Dec 24 12:57 ..
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root  20 Dec 26 13:38 K08vmware-tools -> /etc/rc/vmware-tools
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root  20 Dec 26 13:38 S19vmware-tools -> /etc/rc/vmware-tools

/etc/rc/rc3.d:
total 0
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 112 Dec 26 13:38 .
drwxr-xr-x 9 root root 248 Dec 24 12:57 ..
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root  20 Dec 26 13:38 K08vmware-tools -> /etc/rc/vmware-tools
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root  20 Dec 26 13:38 S19vmware-tools -> /etc/rc/vmware-tools

/etc/rc/rc4.d:
total 0
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root  48 Dec 24 12:56 .
drwxr-xr-x 9 root root 248 Dec 24 12:57 ..

/etc/rc/rc5.d:
total 0
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 112 Dec 26 13:38 .
drwxr-xr-x 9 root root 248 Dec 24 12:57 ..
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root  20 Dec 26 13:38 K08vmware-tools -> /etc/rc/vmware-tools
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root  20 Dec 26 13:38 S19vmware-tools -> /etc/rc/vmware-tools

/etc/rc/rc6.d:
total 0
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root  80 Dec 26 13:38 .
drwxr-xr-x 9 root root 248 Dec 24 12:57 ..
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root  20 Dec 26 13:38 K08vmware-tools -> /etc/rc/vmware-tools


Code:

luis$ ls -al /etc/init.d/vmware-tools
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 20 Dec 24 14:05 /etc/init.d/vmware-tools -> /etc/rc/vmware-tools
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keegers02
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2007
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

luispa wrote:

Btw, have you been able to boot with vga extended option, to have something more than 80x25?, with splash or framebuffer?. kernel options?



Anyone have an answer for this. I would prefer to see more of the errors I get inside the VM rather than doing everything in terminal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luispa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Mar 2006
Posts: 342
Location: España

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Keegers02 wrote:
luispa wrote:

Btw, have you been able to boot with vga extended option, to have something more than 80x25?, with splash or framebuffer?. kernel options?



Anyone have an answer for this. I would prefer to see more of the errors I get inside the VM rather than doing everything in terminal.



Hi,

I'm still having the problem.
I followed the "http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_gensplash" without success.

I've tried uvesafb but nothing happens while booting (so still 80x25 text mode).

I've tried vesafb and at least now I see while booting that it goes to graphics mode (vmware window resizes to a promising 1024x768 size), but I only get a blank screen up until X11 loads... :-(

My grub options

test 1:
Code:
title=Gentoo Linux vesafb
root   (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/bzImage-2.6.23-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/sda3 video=vesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap vga=791


Result: blank screen, when X11 loads automatically switches to X and remains there.

test 2:
Code:
title=Gentoo Linux vesafb
root   (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/bzImage-2.6.23-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/sda3 video=vesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap vga=791 splash=verbose,theme:emergence console=tty1
initrd (hd0,0)/fbsplash-emergence-1024x768


Result: blank screen, when X11 loads automatically appears but switches back to console (blank). I have to use ssh to it to modify/reboot, etc.
I have an additional problem: can't change to any console using keyboard.

I've created an specific topic for this last problem: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-692251.html

Luis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum