Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to mount CDrom and CDRW?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GentooBox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 1168
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 12:33 pm    Post subject: How to mount CDrom and CDRW? Reply with quote

I have no idea how to mount a cdrom drive and a cdromRW drive. - so a little help would be nice :wink:

Code:

#dmesg | grep hd
hda: ST320011A, ATA DISK drive
hdb: CREATIVE CD4834E, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
hdc: CREATIVECD-RW RW8432E, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
hda: 39102336 sectors (20020 MB) w/2048KiB Cache
hdb: ATAPI 48X CD-ROM drive, 128kB Cache, DMA
hdc: ATAPI 32X CD-ROM CD-R/RW drive, 2048kB Cache, DMA


What should i enable in the kernel ?
What should i emerge ?
How do i mount them ?
And how do i enable them ?
_________________
Encrypt, lock up everything and duct tape the rest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spooon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To mount an atapi cd-rom, you need to enable "Enhanced IDE/MFM/RLL disk/cdrom/tape support" and "Include IDE/ATAPI CDROM support" in your kernel. Then, it's just a simple "mount -t iso9660 /dev/hdb /mnt/cdrom".

If you want to burn cd-r or cd-rw's with your burner, you need the cdtools/cdrecord package, which is available in portage.

See http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/CDROM-HOWTO/ if you need more help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GentooBox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 1168
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What about SCSI support ? i heard that i should enable SCSI support cuz my CDRW needed it.
_________________
Encrypt, lock up everything and duct tape the rest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GentooBox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 1168
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whiii..... it works. :D :D :D :D
i put in a cdrom (the gentoo livecd cdrom ;) )
and i typed:
Code:

mount -t iso9660 /dev/hdb /mnt/cdrom


But.... (there is always a but :( )

then i type:

Code:

mount -t iso9660 /dev/hdb /mnt/cdrom


then it mounts the cdrom (the gentoo cd) and not the cdrom drive.
is that normal ? and do i have to mount every cd i put into the cdrom drive ?

and how do i unmount the cdrom again so i can get my ******* cd out :evil: ?

edit: found out that it was
Code:

umount dev/hdb

_________________
Encrypt, lock up everything and duct tape the rest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
barlad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 673

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not sure I understood what you meant but... Yes, you can only mount the media - the CDROM - and not the device - the CDROM drive.
You have to mount/umount your cdrom everytime you want to switch CDs.

I am not 100% sure about it but I think that supermount allows you to change CD on-the-fly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum