Compiz fusion - scrolling in firefox - window resizing
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
NewB
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 3:12 pm    Post subject: Compiz fusion - scrolling in firefox - window resizing Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm new to the xgl/aiglx and compiz world. I installed compiz-fusion and I'm pretty happy with it except for 3 different things:

-Scrolling in Firefox is slow and laggy
-resizing windows is slow and laggy
-switching to full screen in mplayer with F does not work (video goes full screen and directly goes back to the original size). This one is not that important since when I go to full screen using the menu it works.

So any ideas how to solve these problems? I have a ati video card and using the open source drivers (radeon) with aiglx. I'm using xorg-server 1.3 (update to 1.4 gave me problems with my mouse: a single click behaves as a double click!?).

Looking around on the forums I saw that other people had the same problem with Firefox. But unfortunately I didn't find any solution...

Thanks for your help.
EnderWiggin
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NewB,

I assume that you are using the fglrx (ATI binary) driver as these symptoms are widespread with the latest driver. Is that correct?
NewB
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, no i'm using the open source driver, no fglrx. My card is not supported anymore by the fglrx drivers (it's a radeon 9000 Mobility FireGL).
EnderWiggin
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately I don't have a card compatible with the opensource card so I have little experience with it.