Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Fullload CPU
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wisdom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 May 2002
Posts: 101
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2002 1:53 am    Post subject: Fullload CPU Reply with quote

Gkrellm shows that my cpu is fulload even if i daont do anyting? What can be wrong?
I dont know what information I should post so you can tell me what it's that you want to see
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16090
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2002 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

From a terminal, run top... something is hogging your resources. Look at the %CPU column.

You can also try running gtop... not sure what that comes with, so you may not have it.
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Damasz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 91
Location: Groningen, the Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2002 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might have enabled a apm kernel option that makes "idle" calls to the cpu when it's not doing anything. If your processor is put in the idle state, it consumes less power and runs cooler. This is particularly useful for laptops, where putting the cpu in the idle state helps prolong battery lifetime.

You'll probably see a "kidled" proccess running on your box with top.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wisdom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 May 2002
Posts: 101
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2002 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

12:07pm up 2 days, 3:30, 2 users, load average: 1.29, 1.07, 1.02
52 processes: 48 sleeping, 4 running, 0 zombie, 0 stopped
CPU states: 22.7% user, 77.2% system, 0.0% nice, 0.0% idle
Mem: 255472K av, 245192K used, 10280K free, 0K shrd, 18656K buff
Swap: 417648K av, 1864K used, 415784K free 176424K cached

PID USER PRI NI SIZE RSS SHARE STAT %CPU %MEM TIME COMMAND

2921 root 25 0 1032 1032 792 R 94.5 0.4 489:54 top

2949 root 15 0 82180 16M 2216 S 2.5 6.4 2:19 X

3047 gurkan 15 0 23604 23M 16340 S 2.4 9.2 0:04 galeon-bin

3017 root 15 0 1020 1020 792 R 0.2 0.3 0:39 top

3012 root 15 0 2448 2440 1836 R 0.1 0.9 0:05 xterm

1 root 15 0 512 468 444 S 0.0 0.1 0:06 init

2 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 keventd

3 root 34 19 0 0 0 SWN 0.0 0.0 0:00 ksoftirqd_CPU0

4 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:02 kswapd


Its ful loaf even if i not run top!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16090
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2002 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very strange. Especially the part showing nearly all of your memory being used.
I'm at a loss... have you tried rebooting?
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Utoxin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 411
Location: Springville, UT

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2002 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most of his memory is being used by Cache/Buffer. Not A Big Deal. (This is a /VERY/ common misunderstanding about the linux memory architecture. Heck, I used to fall for it.)
_________________
Gentoo:
1. A small fast penguin from Antarctica.
2. A small fast penguin on your computer.

Cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16090
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2002 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good to know... thanks for the tip Utoxin.
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2002 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have noticed sometimes if you run top and then close it, it doesn't actually close same goes for nano, they both hang and cause high cpu usage.

Try killall top as root incase you ran it as root then see what your usage is on gkrellm.
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.


Last edited by AutoBot on Wed Jun 26, 2002 5:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16090
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2002 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm curious to find out if the problem is persistant through reboots.
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
icespirit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 2
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2002 2:02 am    Post subject: kill top Reply with quote

The cpu is high because you have two instances of top running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2002 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thats exactally what I said, except I just noticed it in the list above :lol:
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wisdom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 May 2002
Posts: 101
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2002 2:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok thanks! I rebooted and its know working as usual.
I have notis that nano and top hangs sometimes anyone know why?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2002 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have quite a few optimizations on my system is perhaps why, but I'm not sure it is even that.
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
styzzo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jun 2002
Posts: 32
Location: Bellmore, NY, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2002 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wisdom wrote:
ok thanks! I rebooted and its know working as usual.
I have notis that nano and top hangs sometimes anyone know why?


Even though it would seem the gentoo folk would like us to use nano, I still prefer pico. You can get it by doing:


Code:
emerge pine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16090
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2002 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vi or bust :D
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2002 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not entirely sure this is a nano bug, since other applications do this aswell.
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum