Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Troubles installing firefox
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lolikapuxa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Nov 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:08 pm    Post subject: Troubles installing firefox Reply with quote

i've installed gentoo, but i can't emerge firefox. here's the output

emerge mozilla-firefox
Calculating dependencies... done!
>>> Verifying ebuild Manifests...

>>> Emerging (1 of 6) x11-libs/gtk+-2.10.14 to /
* gtk+-2.10.14.tar.bz2 RMD160 ;-) ... [ ok ]
* gtk+-2.10.14.tar.bz2 SHA1 ;-) ... [ ok ]
* gtk+-2.10.14.tar.bz2 SHA256 ;-) ... [ ok ]
* gtk+-2.10.14.tar.bz2 size ;-) ... [ ok ]
* checking ebuild checksums ;-) ... [ ok ]
* checking auxfile checksums ;-) ... [ ok ]
* checking miscfile checksums ;-) ... [ ok ]
* checking gtk+-2.10.14.tar.bz2 ;-) ... [ ok ]
* Please re-emerge x11-libs/cairo with the X USE flag set
*
* ERROR: x11-libs/gtk+-2.10.14 failed.
* Call stack:
* ebuild.sh, line 1711: Called dyn_setup
* ebuild.sh, line 762: Called qa_call 'pkg_setup'
* ebuild.sh, line 44: Called pkg_setup
* gtk+-2.10.14.ebuild, line 50: Called die
* The specific snippet of code:
* die "cairo needs the X flag set"
* The die message:
* cairo needs the X flag set
*
* If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
* A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/gtk+-2.10.14/temp/build.log'. [/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wojtek_
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 May 2006
Posts: 397
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Just look what it says - 'cairo requires X use flag' so simply add 'X' to make.conf and reemerge again.
Cheers,

Wojtek

PS Why don't you install a graphical environment first?
_________________
Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo Xi-1546
Intel Centrino Duo T2600 (2,16GHz)
2x1GB DDR2 RAM
ATi Mobility Radeon X1800 256MB DDR3
2x120GB HDD
Intel High Definition Audio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lolikapuxa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Nov 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wojtek_ wrote:
Hi,
Just look what it says - 'cairo requires X use flag' so simply add 'X' to make.conf and reemerge again.
Cheers,

Wojtek

PS Why don't you install a graphical environment first?

graphical environment? i have kde installed if that is what you mean.

i added USE="X" to make.conf

mybox daniel # emerge --unmerge x11-libs/cairo
mybox daniel # emerge x11-libs/cairo

and did the same with cairo, and it still complains the same thing

sorry for being noob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10315
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post the output for "emerge -pv cairo".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lolikapuxa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Nov 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge -pv cairo

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild R ] x11-libs/cairo-1.4.10 USE="-X -debug -directfb -doc -glitz -opengl -svg -xcb" 0 kB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 kB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10315
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lolikapuxa wrote:
emerge -pv cairo

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild R ] x11-libs/cairo-1.4.10 USE="-X -debug -directfb -doc -glitz -opengl -svg -xcb" 0 kB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 kB


Well, it still says "-X", so X is disabled.

You need to add "X" to your use flags (without the "-" in front of it). The emerge cairo again. After that, continue where you left.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lolikapuxa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Nov 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mybad! i had something like this in make.conf

USE="X"
USE="hal"

changed to this

USE="X hal"

now working :D thank you guys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10315
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lolikapuxa wrote:
mybad! i had something like this in make.conf

USE="X"
USE="hal"

changed to this

USE="X hal"

now working :D thank you guys


Not that it is important, now that the topic is solved, but in case you want to know, if you are going to do that, you can do it this way:

Code:

USE="X"
USE+="hal"


Or even

Code:

USE="X"
USE="$USE hal"


make.conf is just a bash script, and as such, the bash syntax applies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WakkaDojo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 174
Location: Massachusetts

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a tip, if you don't want all of your use flags in one big line, you can do a couple of things. One is break the flags up into environment variables then combine them later:
Code:
FLAGS1="X alsa hal"
FLAGS2="-gnome qt gtk"
USE="$FLAGS1 $FLAGS2"

This makes USE="X alsa hal -gnome qt gtk"
Another option would be to append to the USE variable:
Code:
USE="-gnome"
USE="$USE kde"

Making USE="-gnome kde"
So that's just something you can do to organize your USE flags in /etc/make.conf. Ideally the best way to organize your flags would be by doing package specific flagging in /etc/portage/package.use, but that is a lot of work, and is practically only done for specific packages, not all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 6066
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Other Things Gentoo to Duplicate Threads.

See https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-540747.html
_________________
www.gentoo.org.au || #gentoo-au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum