Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Solving problems with services on boot only(/etc/init.d)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
frog-o
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 6:32 pm    Post subject: Solving problems with services on boot only(/etc/init.d) Reply with quote

Intruduction and why i writing this

One of the most common problem (I had with Gentoo base distrobutions and Gentoo itself) is some time the services did not start and it left me pull out my hair trying to find out why? The purpose of this tip is to give you an idea in how to solve them. I browsed a bunch of different Linux book and done a bunch of Google searching to find out what i know now many years later.

Note: I'm not an expert i all self taught and these institution might not be real secure or proper way of doing thing even thou i try to be as secure and proper as possible. If you and expert or even a beginner for that matter and see a security flaw or better way of doing thing i encourage you to post bellow on how and what it is a how to improve on it.

Thank in advance for any info on the matter.

Please also Note:
This topic only cover what i believe to be the default way of service startup on gentoo and dose not tell you how to deal with thing that uses initng (init next generation). there are probably also more way to go about halding failed services but I tryed to list all that i know.

How to procced with fix

Step 1 decide on which failed service your are trying to fix and take note

The first step is to reboot your computer and choice a services that is failing and take note of all output on the command line that show after the failed service starts. (you can of course make mantel notes) but i would try to rember one service output at a time.

in other word log everything between

* bla (service name) bla
[failed]