Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Is Linux a Possibility?: 486 SX/25 MHz, 8 MB RAM, 200 MB HD
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alphatronics
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Location: Boston

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 2:14 am    Post subject: Is Linux a Possibility?: 486 SX/25 MHz, 8 MB RAM, 200 MB HD Reply with quote

I'm hoping for a fairly modern version of linux, but I am certainly not expecting to be able to run a GUI on the thing.

Any recommended distros?

I looked at Slackware, they want 16 MB of ram, Debian wants 12 MB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alphatronics
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Location: Boston

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As for the reason I'm doing this: I have lots of free time, and it would be cool if the computer could still be used for something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aja
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Aug 2002
Posts: 705
Location: Edmonton, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should be possible:

Try:

http://www-106.ibm.com/developerworks/linux/library/l-lwl1/?dwzone=linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lovechild
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 2858
Location: Århus, Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 3:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

look as some of the Linux version out there which are intented for embedded usage - those might help you out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cult hero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Oct 2002
Posts: 186
Location: Las Vegas

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 3:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Despite what Slackware might say, I had an older version of Slack running on a 486 DX2 66 with, I think 8 megs. It might have even been 4 but I can't remember. I used it for a little web server and because I was bored.
_________________
Repeat after me! This world is made of love and peace!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snipingkills
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 May 2003
Posts: 92
Location: Denham Springs, La.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 5:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well you could always hook it up with SmoothWall and use it as a firewall/router. All you need is 80MB of hd space.
_________________
When the Illusions of Reality fade,
Which is more deceptive; the Illusion or Reality?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrkPlague
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jun 2003
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

80Mb of HD for a firewall! I use a floppy firewall on a 486 with 8 megs of RAM, 2 NIC's, a floppy drive, and nothing else for a firewall/router/dhcp server at a lan party.

as for other uses or a good distro, i leave you in the capable hands of my good friend, Google: http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=486+linux+distro
_________________
DKP

There are 10 kinds of people in the world:
Those who understand binary and those who don't...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hook
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1398
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cult hero wrote:
Despite what Slackware might say, I had an older version of Slack running on a 486 DX2 66 with, I think 8 megs. It might have even been 4 but I can't remember. I used it for a little web server and because I was bored.

second to that!!!
i got slackware to run on a 486 DX2 66 with 8MB ram ...it'll work (i got even kde2.2 to run on it :D)
_________________
tea+free software+law=hook

(deep inside i'm still a tux's little helper)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darian
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jun 2003
Posts: 74
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The easiest way I've found to make old hardware like this useful is with OpenBSD. Its performs as well as any unix on low-end hardware without being explicitly desinged for an embedded environment. It can be painlessly installed over the network after booting from a single 3.5" floppy (so you don't need a CD-ROM). Also, it has a ports system that lets you install software with at least as much ease as portage.

Of course, it is under the BSD licence instead of the GPL, so, technically, you will no longer be worthy of God's love if you use it. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could give fli4l a try if you intend to use it as a router, the whole program resides on a floppy, but can installed on and access a whole harddisk.
_________________
Do you want your posessions identified? [ynq] (n)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cult hero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Oct 2002
Posts: 186
Location: Las Vegas

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Of course, it is under the BSD licence instead of the GPL, so, technically, you will no longer be worthy of God's love if you use it.


*cackle* Sorry... that made me laugh quite a lot this morning.
_________________
Repeat after me! This world is made of love and peace!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alphatronics
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Location: Boston

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I downloaded the 3 floppy set from Slackware (single boot, two root), it gave the following when I started the first root disk:

RAMDISK: Compressed image found at block 0
Kernel panic: Out of memory and no killable processes...

Looks like it needs more than 8M of RAM. I'll look around for a solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aja
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Aug 2002
Posts: 705
Location: Edmonton, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is upgrading the memory possible? You should be able to get a few SIMM sticks as party favours or hanging from keychains. (I just gave someone a bag with about 30 of them).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gsfgf
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 1266

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

use gentoo. build a system on another computer (and hdd), copy over the complete system to the 800 mb hdd and setup grub. that's all it takes.
_________________
Aim:gsfgf0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlterEgo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 1619

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Install an older version of debian (maybe even a lowmem install):
I did one on a 486-25 with 4 MB and 180 MB hdd.
With some googleing, you can still download the floppies needed.
From there, you can decide how "modern" you want to box to be upgraded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alphatronics
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Location: Boston

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got Slackware 3.5 working.

Now to figure out why the HD is suddenly hating me:

(During bootup) "HDD Controller Failure"

Solution: IDE Cable went bad.


Last edited by alphatronics on Fri Jun 13, 2003 9:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlterEgo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 1619

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alphatronics wrote:
I got Slackware 3.5 working.

Now to figure out why the HD is suddenly hating me:

(During bootup) "HDD Controller Failure"

1st guess: dead BIOS battery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alphatronics
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Location: Boston

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, we replaced that a while ago when we noticed that the computer was forgetting the time whenever rebooted. Batteries, actually. 3 AA's.

Old computers: Adventure!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alphatronics
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Location: Boston

PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2003 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone happen to know how to find the IRQ and I/O addresses for a Mitsumi CDROM that connects through the soundcard? (Apparently this configuration was pretty popular around the time we bought the 486)

I got the Slackware bootdisk "mcdi.x", the devices show up in /dev but will not mount. Noticing the documentation I found online, I apparently need to find the IRQ and I/O addresses if the CDROM is going to work, and therefore, if I'm going to be able to install a copy of linux on my computer. (No network card at the moment, as I don't happen to have an ISA card around, and I don't have 20 floppies) I found a jumper on the sound card (which the CDROM connects to) which appears to be used to change the IRQ for something, but I'm not sure if its the CDROM or the Sound Card that is set with this jumper. (If it matters: The IRQ jumper is set to "11"). The CDROM itself appears to have no jumpers on it.

Aforementioned documentation:

Mcdx Driver

Principal author: Heiko Schlittermann
Multi-session support: yes
Multiple drive support: yes
Loadable module support: yes
Reading audio frames: no (not supported by hardware)
Auto-probing: no
Device file: /dev/mcdx0, major 20
Configuration file: mcdx.h
Kernel config option: Experimental Mitsumi support?
README file: mcdx

This is a newer driver for Mitsumi drivers. The older and possibly more stable mcd driver is still available.

This driver accepts a kernel command line of the form:

mcdx=<io-address>,<irq>

specifying the I/O base address of the card (e.g. 0x340) and the IRQ request number used.

The device file can be created using:

# mknod /dev/mcdx0 b 20 0

If you recently bought a Mitsumi CD-ROM drive, don't assume that it should use this kernel driver. Some Mitsumi models are now EIDE/ATAPI drives and should use the idecd kernel driver.

See the file mcdx for more information on this driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a look into /proc/interrupts or in the machine's BIOS and then try to pass the IRQ accordingly. If that doesn't work, try all IRQ settings (5 is normally reserved for VGA, 14+15 for ide0 and ide1, 0 is the timer and 1 should assigned to the keyboard)
_________________
Do you want your posessions identified? [ynq] (n)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hook
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1398
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alphatronics wrote:
I got Slackware 3.5 working.

3.5?!? ...on my 486/DX2 66Mhz, 8MB ram, around 200MB space, i had 7.0 running perfectly ...well, whatever works is ok :)
_________________
tea+free software+law=hook

(deep inside i'm still a tux's little helper)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cuardin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 713
Location: vasastaden.stockholm.se

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just booted up Coyote on my old Pentium that I have had problems with since it cannot boot of the CD. Coyote is even more dumbening than *Hat or Win*, but it works. Download, config, boot. Need to do some more extensice testing before I settle, but this mess is going through it.

//Daniel Armyr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WZot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2003
Posts: 10
Location: Skien, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have Debian 3.0r1 running on a 33Mhz 486DX... But with 20MB RAM and 1GB HDD tho... Using it as a webserver/database server...mostly for fun...but also a bit for testing. It's quite slow tho :) Takes many seconds to parse a little PHP-file :) However...It's quite fun getting it to run. And it even have a good time (over 50 days now;)). If you are just in it for getting an Internet gateway Coyote Linux is the way to go. Gentoo is not the thing ;) 2 weeks to compile a base-system I guess :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nerdbert
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 Feb 2003
Posts: 981
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this was exactly the setup of my first computer... DOS 5.0 was running smoothly on it :D

just to be serious for a little moment - it surely is possible to install linux on such a computer (don't know what you want to do with it afterwards, but this is not the topic).

I'm not absolutely sure, but Debian should run on your computer (I don't know why distros publish system requirements - IFAIK linux was build on and for an i386 - as long as you can install the OS without any gui you should be fine)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naughtyus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 463
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think the problem with newer distros is with their ability to run on the system, but on the installer itself. The installers are usually loaded into a RAMdisk, so if you don't have enough ram for the installer, you're SOL unless you can install on a different machine, and copy over.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum