Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Enemy Territory: Quake Wars Full Linux client is out !
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BeaTtheMeaT666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:24 pm    Post subject: Enemy Territory: Quake Wars Full Linux client is out ! Reply with quote

It's currently only available from id software's torrents:

http://zerowing.idsoftware.com:6969/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5017
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=196452
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5017
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EDIT,
error with the ebuild, 2min


try now
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BeaTtheMeaT666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great, I'm going to try the ebuild when I get home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5017
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are some files you need to copy off the DVD (the *.pk4 and the megatexture directory) the ebuild tells you this tho
works great \o/

smoother then windows I swear
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisJumper
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 2003
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

YEEEEHA :)

Thank You Thank You Thank You :D

But..? Is it right that there are just 2 seeders, and i couldn't download fast?
(Damm, it was the full Windows Version ;D)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kensai
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 568
Location: Puerto Rico

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The full game has been released 8)
_________________
Gentoo: Gigabyte: nFORCE 2: nVIDIA GeForce 6600: AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Perspective of a Thinking Human Being
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BeaTtheMeaT666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib, I just tested your ebuild and left a comment in the bug report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carpman
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 2202
Location: London - UK

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried ebuild and got:

Code:

Would you like to merge these packages? [Yes/No] y
>>> Verifying ebuild Manifests...

>>> Emerging (1 of 1) games-fps/etqw-client-1.1.8-r1 to /
 * ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run MD5 ;-) ...                                                                    [ ok ]
 * ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run RMD160 ;-) ...                                                                 [ ok ]
 * ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run SHA1 ;-) ...                                                                   [ ok ]
 * ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run SHA256 ;-) ...                                                                 [ ok ]
 * ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run size ;-) ...                                                                   [ ok ]
 * checking ebuild checksums ;-) ...                                                                         [ ok ]
 * checking auxfile checksums ;-) ...                                                                        [ ok ]
 * checking miscfile checksums ;-) ...                                                                       [ ok ]
 * checking ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run ;-) ...                                                               [ ok ]
>>> Unpacking source...
Archive:  /usr/portage/distfiles/ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run
  End-of-central-directory signature not found.  Either this file is not
  a zipfile, or it constitutes one disk of a multi-part archive.  In the
  latter case the central directory and zipfile comment will be found on
  the last disk(s) of this archive.
unzip:  cannot find zipfile directory in one of /usr/portage/distfiles/ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run or
        /usr/portage/distfiles/ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run.zip, and cannot find /usr/portage/distfiles/ETQW-client-1                                        .1.r8.x86.run.ZIP, period.
mv: cannot stat `data/*': No such file or directory
>>> Source unpacked.
>>> Compiling source in /var/tmp/portage/games-fps/etqw-client-1.1.8-r1/work ...
>>> Source compiled.
>>> Test phase [not enabled]: games-fps/etqw-client-1.1.8-r1

>>> Install etqw-client-1.1.8-r1 into /var/tmp/portage/games-fps/etqw-client-1.1.8-r1/image/ category games-fps
install: cannot stat `pb': No such file or directory
install: cannot stat `base': No such file or directory
 *
 * ERROR: games-fps/etqw-client-1.1.8-r1 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *   ebuild.sh, line 1654:   Called dyn_install
 *   ebuild.sh, line 1089:   Called qa_call 'src_install'
 *   ebuild.sh, line 44:   Called src_install
 *   etqw-client-1.1.8-r1.ebuild, line 72:   Called die
 *
 * doins pb base
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/log/portage/games-fps:etqw-client-1.1.8-r1:20071020-162158.log'.
 * This ebuild is from an overlay: '/usr/local/portage/'
 *

 * Messages for package games-fps/etqw-client-1.1.8-r1:

 *
 * ERROR: games-fps/etqw-client-1.1.8-r1 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *   ebuild.sh, line 1654:   Called dyn_install
 *   ebuild.sh, line 1089:   Called qa_call 'src_install'
 *   ebuild.sh, line 44:   Called src_install
 *   etqw-client-1.1.8-r1.ebuild, line 72:   Called die
 *
 * doins pb base
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/log/portage/games-fps:etqw-client-1.1.8-r1:20071020-162158.log'.
 * This ebuild is from an overlay: '/usr/local/portage/'

_________________
Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ETQW still needs an ALSA config tweak to have proper surround sound with a SoundBlaster Live/Audigy soundcard, just like the other ID Software games.

Last edited by PaulBredbury on Sat Oct 20, 2007 4:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisJumper
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 2003
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The game runs fine here!

No Problem with Installation.

Code:
$ md5sum ./ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run
89210dadaf7b55842fe1472dafac7cf8  ./ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run


If you want to run the Game in another Speak as English just copy the Information in the Directory of you Language in the Base Directory of you ETQW-Installation.

Code:
cp /mnt/cdrom/Setup/Data/base/Deu/* /opt/etqw-client/base/


It just overwrite the language.cfg and copy zpak_german000.pk4 into /opt/etqw-client/base/

Good Luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5017
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

carpman wrote:
I tried ebuild and got:

Code:

Would you like to merge these packages? [Yes/No] y
>>> Verifying ebuild Manifests...

>>> Emerging (1 of 1) games-fps/etqw-client-1.1.8-r1 to /
 * ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run MD5 ;-) ...                                                                    [ ok ]
 * ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run RMD160 ;-) ...                                                                 [ ok ]
 * ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run SHA1 ;-) ...                                                                   [ ok ]
 * ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run SHA256 ;-) ...                                                                 [ ok ]
 * ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run size ;-) ...                                                                   [ ok ]
 * checking ebuild checksums ;-) ...                                                                         [ ok ]
 * checking auxfile checksums ;-) ...                                                                        [ ok ]
 * checking miscfile checksums ;-) ...                                                                       [ ok ]
 * checking ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run ;-) ...                                                               [ ok ]
>>> Unpacking source...
Archive:  /usr/portage/distfiles/ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run
  End-of-central-directory signature not found.  Either this file is not
  a zipfile, or it constitutes one disk of a multi-part archive.  In the
  latter case the central directory and zipfile comment will be found on
  the last disk(s) of this archive.
unzip:  cannot find zipfile directory in one of /usr/portage/distfiles/ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run or
        /usr/portage/distfiles/ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run.zip, and cannot find /usr/portage/distfiles/ETQW-client-1                                        .1.r8.x86.run.ZIP, period.
mv: cannot stat `data/*': No such file or directory
>>> Source unpacked.
>>> Compiling source in /var/tmp/portage/games-fps/etqw-client-1.1.8-r1/work ...
>>> Source compiled.
>>> Test phase [not enabled]: games-fps/etqw-client-1.1.8-r1

>>> Install etqw-client-1.1.8-r1 into /var/tmp/portage/games-fps/etqw-client-1.1.8-r1/image/ category games-fps
install: cannot stat `pb': No such file or directory
install: cannot stat `base': No such file or directory
 *
 * ERROR: games-fps/etqw-client-1.1.8-r1 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *   ebuild.sh, line 1654:   Called dyn_install
 *   ebuild.sh, line 1089:   Called qa_call 'src_install'
 *   ebuild.sh, line 44:   Called src_install
 *   etqw-client-1.1.8-r1.ebuild, line 72:   Called die
 *
 * doins pb base
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/log/portage/games-fps:etqw-client-1.1.8-r1:20071020-162158.log'.
 * This ebuild is from an overlay: '/usr/local/portage/'
 *

 * Messages for package games-fps/etqw-client-1.1.8-r1:

 *
 * ERROR: games-fps/etqw-client-1.1.8-r1 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *   ebuild.sh, line 1654:   Called dyn_install
 *   ebuild.sh, line 1089:   Called qa_call 'src_install'
 *   ebuild.sh, line 44:   Called src_install
 *   etqw-client-1.1.8-r1.ebuild, line 72:   Called die
 *
 * doins pb base
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/log/portage/games-fps:etqw-client-1.1.8-r1:20071020-162158.log'.
 * This ebuild is from an overlay: '/usr/local/portage/'


try re-downloading it looks like a corrupt d/l

Code:
jrb@Fluid ~ $ md5sum /usr/portage/distfiles/ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run
89210dadaf7b55842fe1472dafac7cf8  /usr/portage/distfiles/ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run

_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5017
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ChrisJumper wrote:
The game runs fine here!

No Problem with Installation.

Code:
$ md5sum ./ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run
89210dadaf7b55842fe1472dafac7cf8  ./ETQW-client-1.1.r8.x86.run


If you want to run the Game in another Speak as English just copy the Information in the Directory of you Language in the Base Directory of you ETQW-Installation.

Code:
cp /mnt/cdrom/Setup/Data/base/Deu/* /opt/etqw-client/base/


It just overwrite the language.cfg and copy zpak_german000.pk4 into /opt/etqw-client/base/

Good Luck


interesting. I want to add CD-copy to teh ebuild to simplify the install, so a LANG option seems possible as well
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use an ebuild named games-fps/etqw-data for the DVD data, just as with quake4-data.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carpman
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 2202
Location: London - UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok i have updated to version 1.2 using ebuild but games seems slower to me?


It not as smooth, i have tried different server at different time of day but still the same.


Anyone else have same issue?


BFG 8800 GTS 640mb OC2 1600x1200
_________________
Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5017
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't get any drop in performance. HOWEVER some ppl on the splashdamage forum and in #etqw.linux are reporting a drop

btw, the linux-client is heavily unoptimised atm (yet still run circles around vista ;) )
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Defender
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Dec 2006
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib wrote:
I didn't get any drop in performance. HOWEVER some ppl on the splashdamage forum and in #etqw.linux are reporting a drop

btw, the linux-client is heavily unoptimised atm (yet still run circles around vista ;) )

Good to hear. I get around from 5fps to 30 and 60 if i'm lucky. Now the strange thing is that i don't get lower or higher fps depending on what settings i use... So I get the same fps on 800x600 everything on low and 1280x1024 with everything on high... It's quite annoying because in areas with 8+ people it becomes unplayable. Maybe the ati drivers are to blame but q3 and darkplaces run fine how ever...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asafeilon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thats Great game, but anyways i just had to ask... every time i enter server In wolfteam it talls me my network is off and wont let me play, know any way to make it work better? by the way not having trouble with this game.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisJumper
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 2003
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm?!

Whats the easiest way to make an upgrade to Version 1.2-r2?!?
(The update-Button in Game won't work..)

Download the nomedia-Client and then?

And i can't connect at the time 1.1-r8 to the Online-Servers. Get it done if i install the 1.2-Version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5017
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in-game don't work for linux (plus would fail since the actual install data is r/w for root only)
get the ebuild from the bug and it will do it for you. You just need to fetch the FULL version (not the nomedia). Full version has some pk4 files that have been updated. So while they are not needed to play the game you will be missing out on new textures
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zeroth
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2007 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not working: Couldn't load fs.chk

I assume it just can't locate it's base dir... I've tried -base, -basedir, and -fs_game parameters...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5017
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it says that when some of the pk4,lang,megatextures havn't been copied into the expected location
what did you copy and to where?
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisJumper
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 2003
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm..

I have to 1.2-X today and could login online. BUT there are some Strings broken in my menus!

Things i have try: Over-Copy the pak00*.pk Files and re-overwrite the Language-Packages. But the issues are still there?

Edit: It's an problem with the German-Language-Pack.:

Code:
71 strings read from localization/german/strings/bindings.lang
478 strings read from localization/german/strings/chat.lang
857 strings read from localization/german/strings/code.lang
2017 strings read from localization/german/strings/game.lang
2937 strings read from localization/german/strings/guis.lang
3063 strings read from localization/german/strings/loadtips.lang
3402 strings read from localization/german/strings/locations.lang
3926 strings read from localization/german/strings/maps.lang
3993 strings read from localization/german/strings/tasks.lang
WARNING: Unknown String ID '#str_00000124'
WARNING: Unknown String ID '#str_00000124'
WARNING: Unknown String ID '#str_00000125'
WARNING: Unknown String ID '#str_00000125'
WARNING: Unknown String ID '#str_00000126'
WARNING: Unknown String ID '#str_00000126'
WARNING: Unknown String ID '#str_00000127'
WARNING: Unknown String ID '#str_00000127'
WARNING: Unknown String ID '#str_00000128'
WARNING: Unknown String ID '#str_00000128'
WARNING: Unknown String ID '#str_0005008'
WARNING: Unknown String ID '#str_0005008'


There cames much more unknown Strings.. off course this will be fix with the NEXT ;) Patches. I think they just forgotten the Translation of the Changes in the Menus?!

Until this is fix i just use the English-Language Files ;)


Last edited by ChrisJumper on Sun Nov 04, 2007 11:45 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5017
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ChrisJumper wrote:
Hmm..

I have to 1.2-X today and could login online. BUT there are some Strings broken in my menus!

Things i have try: Over-Copy the pak00*.pk Files and re-overwrite the Language-Packages. But the issues are still there?


did you get the -full- download, the nomedia version is next to useless

The FULL contains a texture pk4 file and a new language pk4 file (since menus have changed). At a guess you prob d/l the no-media version (I mean it offers a 18meg d/l as opose to a 260meg d/l)
I have no idea why they offered the 18meg nomedia cause it is useless. I have as TTimo to remove it from future releases
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carpman
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 2202
Location: London - UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib wrote:
ChrisJumper wrote:
Hmm..

I have to 1.2-X today and could login online. BUT there are some Strings broken in my menus!

Things i have try: Over-Copy the pak00*.pk Files and re-overwrite the Language-Packages. But the issues are still there?


did you get the -full- download, the nomedia version is next to useless

The FULL contains a texture pk4 file and a new language pk4 file (since menus have changed). At a guess you prob d/l the no-media version (I mean it offers a 18meg d/l as opose to a 260meg d/l)
I have no idea why they offered the 18meg nomedia cause it is useless. I have as TTimo to remove it from future releases



I can confirm that the nomedia version is useless, i used the full media version and updated patch 1.2 ebuild and it worked fine.
_________________
Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum