Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Rhythmbox
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
newfloat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 24
Location: Atlanta

PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2002 6:08 pm    Post subject: Rhythmbox Reply with quote

Rhythm box is a Gnome2 app that i've been trying to get working but whenever i try i get this warning and this error message which seg faults the app.
Code:
warning: failed to load external entity "/home/float/.gnome2/rhythmbox/library.rhythmbox"
FAMOpen failed, FAMErrno=0

** ERROR **: file file-watcher.c: line 273 (add_uri): assertion failed: (handle != NULL)



Does anyone know how to fix this problem? Is anyone else even using this program... I don't have an iPod but i want to use this to manage my mp3s. Has anyone else encountered this problem or know what i need to put into it's library file? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Obz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Jun 2002
Posts: 274

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2002 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it sounds like you havent emerged/installed/started FAM (which is the File Alteration Monitor). i wasnt actually aware rythmbox depended on it, but this should help you.

Code:

emerge fam-oss
/etc/init.d/fam start
rc-update add fam default


this will:

    install fam
    start it running now
    and ensure its started on every bootup.


hope this helps, have a nice day.
mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newfloat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 24
Location: Atlanta

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2002 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the help on that but it seems rhythmbox has been masked so I guess I'll just wait for it and see if it will be fixed in the next release of the ebuild.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spider
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 26 May 2002
Posts: 163
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2002 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

newfloat wrote:
Thanks for the help on that but it seems rhythmbox has been masked so I guess I'll just wait for it and see if it will be fixed in the next release of the ebuild.



Rhythmbox was always masked, part of the Gnome2 big bloated mask.

its not an ebuild problem as such though, but a Warning.
_________________
For immediate answers, @gentoo.org :
gentoo-users, gentoo-desktop, gentoo-dev, spider
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghetto
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jul 2002
Posts: 369
Location: BC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2002 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
its not an ebuild problem as such though, but a Warning.


question: how strong a warning? will it just not work if I unmask it and emerge it.. or will it actually break other stuff if i do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sisob
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jun 2002
Posts: 274
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2002 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm a really big rhythmbox head - am listening to music on it right now

To get 0.3.0 working
I did
Code:
emerge /usr/portage/media-sound/rhythmbox/rhythmbox-0.3.0.ebuild

which IMHO is masked for good reason because it didnt work for me - but trying and failing to emerge
it is the easiest way to install all the rb deps.


Then i just went to /var/tmp/portage/rh*/work/*/
and did
Code:
./configure --prefix=/usr && make
touch ../.compiled
ebuild /usr/portage/media-sound/rhythmbox/rhythmbox-0.3.0.ebuild merge



Beyond 0.3.0
That should be enough to get you up and running - if you want to be on the cutting edge like
me and use cvs(it gets better every day - hell of a lot more stable then 0.3.0) then do
Code:

CVSROOT=':pserver:anonymous@anoncvs.gnome.org:/cvs/gnome'
cvs -z3 co rhythmbox
cvs -z3 co monkey-sound
cvs -z3 co gnome-common

cd gnome-common
./autogen.sh --prefix=/usr
make && make install
cd ..

cd monkey-sound
   find . -iname makefile |while read MAKEFILE
      do cp ${MAKEFILE}  ${MAKEFILE}.old
      sed -e "s:-I/usr/include : :g" ${MAKEFILE}.old > ${MAKEFILE}
   done
./autogen.sh
./autogen.sh --prefix=/usr
make && make install
cd ..

cd rhythmbox
./autogen.sh --prefix=/usr
make && make install
cd ..



If you are not mad enought for all that - you may have to wait till january for the next major release
_________________
Mark Finlay - Gnome Hacker of Sorts
Come join me on the Gnome User's Forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyevee99
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2002 3:24 am    Post subject: emerge worked but Reply with quote

I emerged 0.3.0 today and it installed fine.

However no music plays. it's very odd.

you can queue a song to play, but once you hit play no sound. Zinf works and gnome sounds work, but not rhythmbox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sisob
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jun 2002
Posts: 274
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2002 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's weird - have you tried madplay from the console

See also my rb install guide:

http://www.gnomesupport.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=330
_________________
Mark Finlay - Gnome Hacker of Sorts
Come join me on the Gnome User's Forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyevee99
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

madplay works fine

looking through your guide now.

gst-launch-ext works fine too.


Running from the shell prompt:
Code:

bash-2.05a$ rhythmbox
INFO (15992: 0) Initializing GStreamer Core Library version 0.4.0
INFO (15992: 0) CPU features: (0c040882) MMX SSE
registry: loaded user_registry in 0.000308 seconds
          (/home/eyevee99/.gstreamer/registry.xml)
registry: loaded global_registry in 0.151033 seconds
          (/etc/gstreamer/registry.xml)
Opening alsa device "default" for playback...
error opening pcm device: No such file or directory



Any thoughts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sisob
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jun 2002
Posts: 274
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try running rhythmbox as root
Also check your monkeymedia settings in the gnome-cc - make sure the right audio output is selected
_________________
Mark Finlay - Gnome Hacker of Sorts
Come join me on the Gnome User's Forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyevee99
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 8:44 am    Post subject: monkey media was set to alsa Reply with quote

but I'm using oss

Thanks all!

I guess that begs the question how do you start using alsa?

:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sisob
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jun 2002
Posts: 274
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 8:16 pm    Post subject: Re: monkey media was set to alsa Reply with quote

eyevee99 wrote:
but I'm using oss


Applications->Desktop Perferences->Advanced->MonkeyMedia Properties
Select OSS

As for Alsa - i also want to know this
_________________
Mark Finlay - Gnome Hacker of Sorts
Come join me on the Gnome User's Forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyevee99
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2002 5:14 am    Post subject: thanks Reply with quote

Yeah, once I knew there were MonkeyMedia Properties it was plain sailing...

;)

cheers,
Ryan

Now to search for alsa threads.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum