Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
routing ADSL from one computer to another
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BennyP
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 503
Location: Jerusalem, Israel

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 3:56 pm    Post subject: routing ADSL from one computer to another Reply with quote

Hiya!
I'd like to route my ADSL connectin from my computer to my sister's
I have an ADSL modem plugged into A D-Link ethernet card in my computer and a Tulip card that I'm going to connect to my sister's with crossover cable.
My sister uses Win2k now, so the first step will be to get a working conection between the two and get samba up and running.
After that i will have to set up the ip routing and whatnot.

Which packages should i emerge and how should i arrange my kernel before i start messing around with the config files?
_________________
Could it be?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Qubax
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2002
Posts: 451
Location: Tirol, Austria

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in short: download the iptables firewall-script at http://projectfiles.com/firewall/ and configure it to your setup ( the script is selfexplaining and good commented ) -> your adsl nic for external, ...
by this you have a firewall, including a router/gateway for other boxes.
at this point, all you have to do at your linux box is finished. now go to your sister and have a look at the lan settings or something like that. as gateway you enter your internal ip. if you are running a dns like named or djbdns(that i recommend) you can enter the ip your dns is listen to as nameserver for the win2k box, otherways have a look at your /etc/resolv.conf and put the ip of the nameserver given there to the nameserver list of the win2k box.

that should be all for routing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BennyP
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 503
Location: Jerusalem, Israel

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

Running './rc.firewall check'.  Output will follow ...

-> Projectfiles.com Linux Firewall version 2.0rc9 running.
-> Performing sanity checks... [ FAILED ]
-> FATAL: A static internal interface is down.  Did you forgot to configure interfaces before running the firewall?

Errors were detected in your system configuration.
See the output above for specific details.

A copy of the Linux Firewall initialization script preconfigured by this
program is located in /tmp/rc.firewall


this is what i got after running the menu-based installer
i told it to share the network through eth1 (tulip). however all i did in the way of configuration for eth1 was to load the tulip module. so how should i get that working?
_________________
Could it be?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Qubax
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2002
Posts: 451
Location: Tirol, Austria

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think you have a prob with your nic
there is a little more to be done to setup your nic than just load the module. in the user docs you could have found a way configure it - eq ip,broadcast... have a look around :?
try this (copied from the gentoo docs) :
We need to setup just enough networking so that we can download sources for the system build, as well as the required localhost interface. Type in the following commands, replacing $IFACE with your network interface (typically eth0), $IPNUM with your IP address, $BCAST with your broadcast address, and $NMASK with your network mask. For the route command, replace $GTWAY with your default gateway.
Code:
ifconfig $IFACE $IPNUM broadcast $BCAST netmask $NMASK


hint for:
* NMASK 255.255.255.0
* IP something (eg 192.168.150.10) resulting in
* BCAST 192.168.150.255

(next thing copied)
Network Testing

Now that your network has been configured, the /sbin/ifconfig -a command should show that your network card is working (look for UP and RUNNING in the output).

Code listing 5.7: /sbin/ifconfig for a working network card
Code:
ifconfig -a

as mentioned above - should deliver something like
Code:
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:50:BA:8F:61:7A
          inet addr:192.168.0.2  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::50:ba8f:617a/10 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1498792 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1284980 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:1984 txqueuelen:100
          RX bytes:485691215 (463.1 Mb)  TX bytes:123951388 (118.2 Mb)
          Interrupt:11


this all can be set by /etc/conf.d/net, so that all the configs are loaded at starttime
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86-1.4_rc2-install.xml#doc_chap23

try to ping your sister afterwards ( use ping with the ip of your sister, unless you have her computername and ip in your /etc/hosts file ) this should tell you that your nic is set up correctly

i hope that it's work now - good luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum