Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cairo needs the X flag set
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nighthawk4
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 24
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:41 pm    Post subject: Cairo needs the X flag set Reply with quote

I have now been trying to install Gentoo for exactly a week - including some late nights and several overnight emerges.

I still do not have a working GUI. It is now close - I have the nVidia splashscreen and a gray screen with a cursor shaped like an X.

I have emerged xorg-x11 successfully, but when I tried emerge xfce4 xscreensaver I get the error message Cairo needs the X flag set and it crashes out installing gtk+-2.10.14.

I tried adding 'X' to the USE line in /etc/make.conf, and then emerged with the --newuse option, but it still failed with the same message. I assume that that is not the X flag.

Can anyone please help me get a working GUI before the weekend? I know I could use the LiveCD, but that is cheating. :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Habbit
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2007
Posts: 237
Location: 3.7137 W, 40.3873 N

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"emerge -N world" will do nothing because the cairo library has not been installed directly by you: it was pulled into the dependency tree by some other package. In order to rebuild cairo with the X flag, you can do either "emerge -N cairo" (which will add cairo to "world", the list of packages directly wanted by you) or "emerge -DN world" (which will check the whole dependency check for changed USE flags).
_________________
Code:
~ $ objdump -d ./habbit_mind
90      xchg %rax, %rax
EB FD   jmp $-3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nighthawk4
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 24
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks - I will give that a try.

What is Cairo by the way please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Habbit
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2007
Posts: 237
Location: 3.7137 W, 40.3873 N

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Output of "emerge --search cairo" shows (among others):
Code:
*  x11-libs/cairo
      Latest version available: 1.4.10
      Latest version installed: 1.4.10
      Size of files: 3,141 kB
      Homepage:      http://cairographics.org/
      Description:   A vector graphics library with cross-device output support
      License:       || ( LGPL-2.1 MPL-1.1 )

_________________
Code:
~ $ objdump -d ./habbit_mind
90      xchg %rax, %rax
EB FD   jmp $-3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zoe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2007
Posts: 324
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi
did you tried
USE="X" emerge x11-libs/cairo
it worked for me
or you could first try
revdep-rebuild
to see if any consistency is broken

EDIT:try the first one,i'm quiet sure it will help you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Habbit
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2007
Posts: 237
Location: 3.7137 W, 40.3873 N

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zoe wrote:
USE="X" emerge x11-libs/cairo

This will indeed remerge cairo with the X flag set, but it will be taken as a temporary option, and become cleared on any updated. Which, for compiled applications depending on it, is bad...
_________________
Code:
~ $ objdump -d ./habbit_mind
90      xchg %rax, %rax
EB FD   jmp $-3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zoe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2007
Posts: 324
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I proposed it for temporary use of course in order to pass the problem.as you said he must also add X flag in his make.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10973
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Duplicate Threads.
Moved in favour of https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=540747
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum