Thank you Gentoo folks - 5 years on and more reliable
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
galahad7
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 11:16 pm    Post subject: Thank you Gentoo folks - 5 years on and more reliable Reply with quote

Just to say thanks... I've been using Gentoo on a number of servers for about five years and just want to say thanks to everyone who is responsible for providing this distribution.

I've just upgraded the file/mail/application server here (525 packages) after a year and a half with pretty much no attention to the box. It went really well - no broken packages. Often we only write in when things are broken, so here's a post to say I think you're doing a fantastic job. In the early days of me using Gentoo (approx 2003), it was quite common for several packages to be broken when doing a --deep --emptytree update, and it might take a week or more for the packages to be fixed. However for the last year or two (multiple servers/machines on Gentoo), I haven't hit one show stopper.

So release management in the portage tree is definitely better now. And yes, 5 years on, and I'm still putting Gentoo on servers so that says it all.

Thanks and you're doing well
Stephen
danomac
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I second this. I maintain 4 servers and I only ever had one update break since 2003, and it was a chost change. Wasn't hard to fix. None of the servers I install have GUIs installed so there's no dependency mess there.
Zev
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

danomac wrote:
I second this. I maintain 4 servers and I only ever had one update break since 2003, and it was a chost change. Wasn't hard to fix. None of the servers I install have GUIs installed so there's no dependency mess there.