Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
eth0 skipped? [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Uruz 7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 7:09 am    Post subject: eth0 skipped? [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hello all. I'm having some issues with a Gentoo installation inside of VMware. I have this running without a hitch on one machine and copied the image over to another for a fail over setup. The copied version isn't running correctly for some reason.

The system boots just fine but sets up the ethernet adapter as eth1 and not eth0

Code:
# ifconfig eth0
eth0: error fetching interface information: Device not found


Here's the output from dmesg from the machine that is hosed

Code:
# dmesg |grep eth
eth0: registered as PCnet/PCI II 79C970A
eth1: link up


Here is the output from the other machine (the one that works)

Code:
# dmesg | grep eth
eth0: registered as PCnet/PCI II 79C970A
eth0: link up


Bother servers identical hardware wise although the kernels are not which I'm not sure if that's the problem or not. If I assign an IP address and a route to eth1 it works just fine. Things like OpenSSH won't start because of the missing eth0 but I can send/receive ICMP packets.

Has anyone seen eth0 get skipped before? If so what was the solution?

Regards,

Seth


Last edited by Uruz 7 on Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:42 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveb
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 4564

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check the content of:
Code:
/etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules


// SteveB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uruz 7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:42 am    Post subject: Sweet Reply with quote

Sweet, man thanks a bunch. The mac address changed and it added a line for the new address as eth1 instead of overwriting what it had for eth0. I just edited the mac address for eth0 and removed eth1. Working well now.

Thanks again,

Seth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
think4urs11
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 6659
Location: above the cloud

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Networking & Security to Duplicate Threads.

(among other threads on that issue) DUP for [Solved] Change eth1 to eth0?
_________________
Nothing is secure / Security is always a trade-off with usability / Do not assume anything / Trust no-one, nothing / Paranoia is your friend / Think for yourself
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum