Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
emerge - wrong number of config files? or etc-update borked?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jfb3
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Feb 2003
Posts: 242

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:20 pm    Post subject: emerge - wrong number of config files? or etc-update borked? Reply with quote

I only noticed this after the latest update to portage-2.1.2.11.

At the the end of an emerge portage prints a line like:
Code:
 * IMPORTANT: 5 config files in '/etc' need updating.

The problem is that there etc-update thinks there are only 4 config files to update not 5.
Code:
gamobile ~ # etc-update
Scanning Configuration files...
The following is the list of files which need updating, each
configuration file is followed by a list of possible replacement files.
1) /etc/conf.d/hdparm (1)
2) /etc/conf.d/rc (1)
3) /etc/wifi-radar/wifi-radar.conf (1)
4) /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf (1)
Please select a file to edit by entering the corresponding number.
              (don't use -3, -5, -7 or -9 if you're unsure what to do)
              (-1 to exit) (-3 to auto merge all remaining files)
                           (-5 to auto-merge AND not use 'mv -i')
                           (-7 to discard all updates)
                           (-9 to discard all updates AND not use 'rm -i'): 

If I open Konqueror to the /etc directory and search for ._cfg* it only finds the same four files.

But...

If I do
Code:
gamobile etc # updatedb
gamobile etc # locate ._cfg
/etc/conf.d/._cfg0000_hdparm
/etc/conf.d/._cfg0000_rc
/etc/wpa_supplicant/._cfg0000_wpa_supplicant.conf
/etc/wifi-radar/._cfg0000_wifi-radar.conf
/var/www/localhost/htdocs/phppgadmin/conf/._cfg0000_config.inc.php
gamobile etc #   

There are 5 files, just not all in /etc.

Does this seem like a bug in emerge or etc-update?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
didymos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Posts: 4798
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, it looks like it just doesn't pay attention to where the files are when printing the message, so I'd call it a minor bug. Have you set:
Code:
eu_automerge="yes"
in /etc/etc-update.conf? That might be what's keeping it from showing up. Personally, I think you should use dispatch-conf instead. See what it thinks needs to be updated.
_________________
Thomas S. Howard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jfb3
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Feb 2003
Posts: 242

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In /etc/etc-update.conf
Code:
# Whether trivial/comment changes should be automerged
eu_automerge="yes"


I prefer etc-update because I prefer to see a list of files to modify and choose the order I update any config files, if at all. I think of dispatch-conf as unusable.

dispatch-conf also only found four files to update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
curmudgeon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2003
Posts: 1445

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I noticed the same problem (one more config file reported by portage after an update to 2.1.2.11 than actually exists).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arfrever
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 29 Apr 2006
Posts: 2460
Location: Polska / Lenkija

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

didymos wrote:
Well, it looks like it just doesn't pay attention to where the files are when printing the message


No. Portage really counts configuration files incorrectly. It's Bug 187741.

Perduodu linkėjimus
Arfrever
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
didymos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Posts: 4798
Location: California

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Arfrever wrote:

No. Portage really counts configuration files incorrectly. It's Bug 187741.


Oh, goody. Son of a....
_________________
Thomas S. Howard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prairie_dad
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Aug 2007
Posts: 68
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:06 pm    Post subject: Same sort of question, but dumber Reply with quote

Hi,

I also just ran emerge --sync and was told that three config files needed updating, and was further told to type

emerge --help config

for help...So I did so, and was told that "config" was deprecated, and I was to type "--config" instead. So...I did so, and just got a prompt back, no further help.

And I didn't know what to do...how does one update config files except by hand, and what is wrong with the ones I've got anyway?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
didymos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Posts: 4798
Location: California

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nothing's wrong with the files. They've just changed, probably because the package that created them was updated. By default, portage won't screw with system config stuff, so as to avoid pissing people off when their setup breaks with no warning. As to the problem with emerge --help config? Bug. It shouldn't be doing that, or the usage info is in need of updating. It does it here too. Anyway, for updating config files, either run etc-update or dispatch-conf. I prefer dispatch-conf myself. Both let you review any proposed changes and decide whether or not to use them. 99% of the time, you probably do want to.

[edit] OK, the man page says this:
Quote:

emerge --help [--system | --config | --sync]


so here's what happens:
Code:

# emerge --help --config
#


Nothing. Very helpful. The others work fine (plus emerge --help --world). Guess the config usage info was stolen by underpants gnomes or something.
_________________
Thomas S. Howard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arfrever
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 29 Apr 2006
Posts: 2460
Location: Polska / Lenkija

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

didymos wrote:
so here's what happens:
Code:

# emerge --help --config
#


Nothing. Very helpful. The others work fine (plus emerge --help --world). Guess the config usage info was stolen by underpants gnomes or something.


I copied that text from `emerge --help --config` to "CONFIGURATION FILES" section in `man emerge` :lol: .

didymos wrote:
Quote:
emerge --help [--system | --config | --sync]

It will be fixed.

Perduodu linkėjimus
Arfrever
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jfb3
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Feb 2003
Posts: 242

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Issue resolved with portage-2.1.2.12.

Rah, Rah, gentoo devs!
Code:
 * GNU info directory index is up-to-date.
 * IMPORTANT: 4 config files in '/etc' need updating.
 * IMPORTANT: 1 config files in '/usr/kde/3.5/share/config' need updating.


(Stupid forums software won't let me add [solved] to the thread title, Boo, Boo, Forums devs!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
didymos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Posts: 4798
Location: California

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just edit your original post to change the thread title. Or did you try that and it didn't take?
_________________
Thomas S. Howard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jfb3
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Feb 2003
Posts: 242

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

didymos wrote:
Just edit your original post to change the thread title. Or did you try that and it didn't take?


Uhh, duh. What do you think "won't let me add" means? There seems to be a 60 character limit to post titles. (That came out snarkier than I meant it.)

60 characters for a post title is not nearly enough when trying to title a thread for some of the very complex issues handled on these forums. That's why we have so many threads with titles like "It broke" and "{programname} error". Well, that, and the general level of illiteracy in (at least) this country.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
didymos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Posts: 4798
Location: California

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jfb3 wrote:
didymos wrote:
Or did you try that and it didn't take?

Uhh, duh.


Uhh, duh, like, that's why I, like, asked that question? (That was deliberately snarky. :twisted:)

Quote:

(That came out snarkier than I meant it.)


Uhh, duh. :wink:

Truthfully, I completely forgot about the character limit, so it was actually kind of a stupid question.

Quote:
Well, that, and the general level of illiteracy in (at least) this country.


You take that back! America is perfect! Perfect I tell you! It's all puppies, rainbows and well-read, articulate people. :evil:
_________________
Thomas S. Howard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum