Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo Alpha
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
KungFuJesus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 12:29 am    Post subject: Gentoo Alpha Reply with quote

Ok so I'm not sure what this means. I ran a test program on an AlphaStation 600 from the OpenUnix console (test) and it started testing something nonstop (something that resembled mac addresses). I just decided to power the machine down. Then when I tried to boot it back up, I never got any video to post. What's even weird is I get LED status on the network card and I also get a "cd" status message on the LCD, meaning that everything went fine. I'm afraid somehow it's forced into serial console mode, and if that's the case, does anybody know how to get out of it? I've been looking around for solutions everywhere. I kind of feel like a newb, but how do you even use a serial console?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2395

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello my friend.

i have two alphapc mainboards with the same behavior.
no output on the video card. i just got a nullmodem cable. i will try to connect with minicom in the next days, when i find the time.
if you find anything out, please let me know. i will do the same.

regards
--alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lupin_the_3rd
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Apr 2005
Posts: 168

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 4:12 am    Post subject: Re: Gentoo Alpha Reply with quote

KungFuJesus wrote:
I kind of feel like a newb, but how do you even use a serial console?


That is a newb question. :wink:

Run a null-modem cable (serial "cross-over" cable) from serial port #1 on the alpha, to a serial port on some other machine. Use a terminal program like minicom to connect. Settings should be 9600/8/N/1.

If you want to set the SRM console back to video mode, you can set an SRM variable that will do that.

I have an PC164 alpha that has video/kbd/mouse but most of the time, I just use it from the serial console, much easier that way IMO.
_________________
Compaq XP1000 Alpha EV67 667Mhz w/ 2GB ECC
32bit PCI: ATI Radeon 9100 (DRI works!)
32bit PCI: Generic Firewire 400 card
64bit PCI: BCM5703 Gig-E (Compaq NC7771)
64bit PCI: Sil3124 SATA w/ mdadm RAID1 (pair of WD VelociRaptors)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum