Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
CFLAGS Central (Part 1)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 35, 36, 37  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2002 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Malakin wrote:
kdemultimedia has crashing problems if you use "-fomit-frame-pointer", so you may want to emerge everything with it, then re-emerge that one ebuild without it.


I don't use KDE but that kind of struck me as odd, is this a known bug or is it just a bad experience your speaking of personally?
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lovechild
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 2858
Location: Århus, Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2002 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AutoBot wrote:
Malakin wrote:
kdemultimedia has crashing problems if you use "-fomit-frame-pointer", so you may want to emerge everything with it, then re-emerge that one ebuild without it.


I don't use KDE but that kind of struck me as odd, is this a known bug or is it just a bad experience your speaking of personally?


Known bug in Noatun, hopefully it will be fixed soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sivar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2002
Posts: 266
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2002 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lovechild wrote:
Malakin wrote:
kdemultimedia has crashing problems if you use "-fomit-frame-pointer", so you may want to emerge everything with it, then re-emerge that one ebuild without it.


I just edited the ebuild to:

export CFLAGS="-march=athlon-tbird -O2 -pipe"
export CXXFLAGS=$CFLAGS

That way I don't have to compile it two times in a row.

You wouldn't have to compile anything twice anyway. CXXFLAGS is for C++ code, CFLAGS is for C sourcecode.
If explicitly stating the CXXFLAGS did, for some reason, force anything to be compiled twice, setting CXXFLAGS to $CFLAGS would do the same thing because $CFLAGS is expanded to the exact same thing.
Or did you mean that you wouldn't need to type the flags twice? It is indeed handy for that.
_________________
The greatest deeds are still undone, the greatest songs are still unsung...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sivar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2002
Posts: 266
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2002 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lovechild wrote:
Following Sivar' advice I'm now trying to rebuild the entire thing with

Code:

CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=athlon-tbird -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -frerun-cse-after-loop -frerun-loop-opt -fexpensive-optimizations -falign-functions=4
CXXFLAGS="-march=athlon-tbird -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer  -frerun-cse-after-loop -frerun-loop-opt -fexpensive-optimizations -falign-functions=4


just for the hell of it. oh QT3 still being compiled with -O3


I'm not sure if it's a typo or if the flag has been changed in GCC3, but at least in GCC2 that "-falign-functions=4" should be "-malign-functions=4" (the difference being the first letter)
Otherwise, GCC will probably complain. :)
_________________
The greatest deeds are still undone, the greatest songs are still unsung...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lovechild
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 2858
Location: Århus, Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2002 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sivar wrote:
Lovechild wrote:
Following Sivar' advice I'm now trying to rebuild the entire thing with

Code:

CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=athlon-tbird -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -frerun-cse-after-loop -frerun-loop-opt -fexpensive-optimizations -falign-functions=4
CXXFLAGS="-march=athlon-tbird -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer  -frerun-cse-after-loop -frerun-loop-opt -fexpensive-optimizations -falign-functions=4


just for the hell of it. oh QT3 still being compiled with -O3


I'm not sure if it's a typo or if the flag has been changed in GCC3, but at least in GCC2 that "-falign-functions=4" should be "-malign-functions=4" (the difference being the first letter)
Otherwise, GCC will probably complain. :)


no no, malign-functions in obsolete in GCC3.1 so falign-functions is used as a replacement.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Jun 2002
Posts: 96
Location: Vancouver, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2002 2:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FYI, gcc optimization options can be found online here:

http://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc-3.1/gcc/Optimize-Options.html#Optimize%20Options
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DArtagnan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 942
Location: Israel, Jerusalem

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2002 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AutoBot wrote:
pacman wrote:
Now I'm really confused because of you :-)

CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-mcpu=i686 -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
CXXFLAGS="-mcpu=i686 -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"

CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-mcpu=i686 -O3 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="-mcpu=i686 -O3 -pipe"


make my day :p

This is correct pacman:

Code:

CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-mcpu=i686 -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
CXXFLAGS="-mcpu=i686 -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"


And if you want to recompile your entire system do the following:

Code:

emerge gentoolkit  #only if you dont currently have it
qpkg -nc -I | sort | uniq | NOCOLOR=true xargs emerge 2>&1 >qpkg-make.log


Well, I did it, finally my computer finished to re-compile and I DON'T feel any changes or more speed ;-)
_________________
All for one and one for All
--

MACPRO machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2002 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well your optimized now though :)
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DArtagnan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 942
Location: Israel, Jerusalem

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2002 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AutoBot wrote:
Well your optimized now though :)


Not at all, my sys is slow like before
_________________
All for one and one for All
--

MACPRO machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2002 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe it's time to get a new system, may I suggest something in a dual mp athlon :lol:
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DArtagnan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 942
Location: Israel, Jerusalem

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2002 4:44 pm    Post subject: slow... Reply with quote

AutoBot wrote:
Maybe it's time to get a new system, may I suggest something in a dual mp athlon :lol:


:lol:

Even on fluxbox i try to move a window of konqueror and it moves slow...
_________________
All for one and one for All
--

MACPRO machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColdPack
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 60
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2002 8:57 pm    Post subject: Additional question for Tbird people Reply with quote

So, I have an AMD tbird 1.33 GHz...

Is it sort of safe to emerge gcc3? Do I have to do anything special to start using it? Do I have to unmerge gcc2.95.?

After that one...

If I change my optimizations to

CFLAGS="-march-athlon-tbird -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
CXXFLAGS="-march-athlon-tbird -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"

what should my CHOST be? should it still read

CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"?

And if all this is successful, I can recompile my entire existing system with emerge -e world? It won't need to access anything off the ibiblio server (and its kin) will it?

Thanks for your keen advice.
CP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2002 9:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Additional question for Tbird people Reply with quote

ColdPack wrote:
So, I have an AMD tbird 1.33 GHz...

Is it sort of safe to emerge gcc3? Do I have to do anything special to start using it? Do I have to unmerge gcc2.95.?

After that one...

If I change my optimizations to

CFLAGS="-march-athlon-tbird -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
CXXFLAGS="-march-athlon-tbird -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"

what should my CHOST be? should it still read

CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"?

And if all this is successful, I can recompile my entire existing system with emerge -e world? It won't need to access anything off the ibiblio server (and its kin) will it?

Thanks for your keen advice.
CP


Leave your CHOST as it is, and if you still have all the source for your system in /usr/portage/distfiles then you won't have to download anything by running emerge -e world.

Would be safer IMO to just install from the gcc3 based 1.3 iso.
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColdPack
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 60
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2002 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What 1.3 iso?
Do you mean it would be easier than trying to incorporate gcc3 on this machine?
And can I use those flags if I keep using gcc2.95.?
Thanks.
CP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2002 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well you can find the 1.3a iso here but you can emerge gcc3 and rebuild your system depending on the software installed some things will may fail, and no you cannot use that march flag with gcc2.
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColdPack
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 60
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2002 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, thanks a bunch... I'm gonna go download and burn that iso.
Perhaps I'll have good luck... perhaps not. We shall see.
CP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
metalhedd
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 692
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2002 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know, its off topic but Dolio, thats the best Signature... I'm gonna use a D lyric for mine too I think.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TrAns13nT2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2002
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2002 8:19 am    Post subject: AMD TBird gcc3.1 flags Reply with quote

:twisted: U boys wanna see eome TBird flags that work, well here ya go



CFLAGS="-march=athlon-tbird -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -funroll-loops -fexpensive-optimizations -mmmx -m3dnow
CXXFLAGS=$CFLAGS


with these flags I've never had a problem compiling because of the flags, now because I'm using gcc3.1 is another topic entirely :twisted:
_________________
You've been bopped

The Queen Bopper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asimon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 979
Location: Germany, Old Europe

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2002 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Known bug in Noatun, hopefully it will be fixed soon.


I run KDE and Noatun from CVS head, compiled everything with frame-pointer-omitting and I don't expirience any crahes with Noatun (I use this app quite intensely). So it seems to be already fixed.

Cheers,
Andreas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
insomniac
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jul 2002
Posts: 132
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2002 6:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AutoBot wrote:
Ah it would appear with the new portage that emerge -e world does indeed work correctly now, so disreguard and use it instead.


Is this true for Gentoo 1.2 or only for 1.3 beta? As your CPU optimisations are not for gcc2.95, which is the one used in 1.2, I assume you are running 1.3 beta...

(I'm running 1.2)
_________________
My next computer is also a Gentoo computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2002 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would say the woman! :)


Waht Falgs would you suggest for a Athlon XP system? I took the "default" value for i686 (I just uncommented the lines in). Is it OK just to take "athlon-tbird"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2002 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

atze wrote:
I would say the woman! :)


Waht Falgs would you suggest for a Athlon XP system? I took the "default" value for i686 (I just uncommented the lines in). Is it OK just to take "athlon-tbird"?


Depends on what gcc version your using.
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
masseya
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 2602
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2002 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

insomniac wrote:
AutoBot wrote:
Ah it would appear with the new portage that emerge -e world does indeed work correctly now, so disreguard and use it instead.


Is this true for Gentoo 1.2 or only for 1.3 beta? As your CPU optimisations are not for gcc2.95, which is the one used in 1.2, I assume you are running 1.3 beta...

(I'm running 1.2)

It shouldn't matter as long as you 'emerge rsync' and 'emerge portage' before you begin you will have the latest version of portage.

You can use -march-athlon-xp if you have gcc 3.1. Otherwise, you should probably use the i686 flag. If you want to know more look here.
_________________
if i never try anything, i never learn anything..
if i never take a risk, i stay where i am..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioxmat
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 04 May 2002
Posts: 709
Location: /home/mat

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2002 1:42 pm    Post subject: Re: slow... Reply with quote

DArtagnan wrote:
AutoBot wrote:
Maybe it's time to get a new system, may I suggest something in a dual mp athlon :lol:


:lol:

Even on fluxbox i try to move a window of konqueror and it moves slow...


this might be a different problem. checkout the xfree logs, see if you're using the correct driver for your video card for instance...
_________________
mat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2002 2:36 pm    Post subject: Re: slow... Reply with quote

dioxmat wrote:
DArtagnan wrote:
AutoBot wrote:
Maybe it's time to get a new system, may I suggest something in a dual mp athlon :lol:


:lol:

Even on fluxbox i try to move a window of konqueror and it moves slow...


this might be a different problem. checkout the xfree logs, see if you're using the correct driver for your video card for instance...


This was a rather old problem that surely has been resolved now, if I remember correctly it was kernel related.
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 35, 36, 37  Next
Page 3 of 37

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum