Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
why stopping eth0 to be able to use ppp0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lilian
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Posts: 33
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2003 9:09 pm    Post subject: why stopping eth0 to be able to use ppp0 Reply with quote

Hello,

I just finished to configure my first linux installation (fluxbox, aterm, mozilla, Gimp, sodipodi, evolution and some games...).
It's quit hard to learn all this new things (i'm an Windows*.* and vax/vms admi :lol: ).

Now, after installing eagle package, i can start adsl, but i have to stop eth0 to use ppp0 connection... why ?

many thanks from all users getting your help...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sargon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2003 10:21 pm    Post subject: Re: why stopping eth0 to be able to use ppp0 Reply with quote

lilian wrote:
Hello,

I just finished to configure my first linux installation (fluxbox, aterm, mozilla, Gimp, sodipodi, evolution and some games...).
It's quit hard to learn all this new things (i'm an Windows*.* and vax/vms admi :lol: ).


Congratulations and welcome to the Linux world! :o)

lilian wrote:
Now, after installing eagle package, i can start adsl, but i have to stop eth0 to use ppp0 connection... why ?

many thanks from all users getting your help...


The problem is most likely, that eth0 is started/initialized before ppp0 is. I had the same problem with wlan0.

Type 'route' and you'll get an output approx like this:

Quote:
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
10.0.0.0 * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
10.0.0.0 * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 ppp0


Since eth0 is initialized first, it appears first in the routing table and will be used if you try to establish a connection. Disabling eth0 (eg with ifconfig eth0 down) removes the first entry and after that it works.

I don't like disabling eth0, so I solved it this way: (/etc/init.d/net.eth0)

Quote:
depend() {
use pcmcia
need net.wlan0 #Without this wlan won't run before this one}


If you replace net.wlan0 with net.ppp0, it should also work for you.

I don't know whether this is the preferred way (or the gentoo-way) for this problem, but at least it works for me.

Hope this helps.

Sargon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lilian
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Posts: 33
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 8:18 am    Post subject: Wonderful... Reply with quote

Hello,

you're right, that's working. it's a good tips...

Many thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum