Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
(install) boot .iso
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JaccoG
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 1:02 pm    Post subject: (install) boot .iso Reply with quote

I would like to propose an official new alternative method to install gentoo. This method allows you to boot the downloaded .iso directly from your ntfs/fat partition.

Advantages:
- no cd-rom player needed (some laptops/tablets)
- no cd-rom wasted :P
- upgrade is as easy as overwrite your .iso (in case when one uses livecd only)
- add files to your iso as you go, without having to reburn (preadd depencies/drivers etc) with PowerISO

What you'll need:
- Windows NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista
- any bootable ISO archive

Nuf said here's what to do:

Step1:
Download IsoEmu 109th or visit here.

Step2:
Open the archive and extract these two files:
- ieldr (not ieldr.exe) to your c:\
- isoemu.ini to the root of any partition (that later will be containing your iso), e.g. c:\ or d:\

Step3:
Copy your ISO to the same location as isoemu.ini and then edit isoemu.ini and delete all text inside and add

isoemu.ini:
Code:
isoemu gentoo.iso

Note1: gentoo.iso should correspond to the name of your ISO archive.
Note2: IsoEmu is limited to filenames of maximum 8 characters and 3 for the extension (8.3 format).

The next step differs for Vista from NT/2000/XP/2003. We'll first discuss the latter here first.

Step4a:NT/2000/XP/2003
Go to c:\ and edit boot.ini and add the folowing data at the bottom of the file:

boot.ini:
Code:
c:\ieldr="IsoEmu Loader"

You can edit the line containing timeout from 30 to 5 seconds.
Note: if you can't find boot.ini; turn off "Hide Protected Operating System Files (Recommended)" under Tools/Folder Options>View in any folder.

Step4b:Vista
Goto start, type in cmd.exe, rightclick your result, choose "Run as Administrator", accept all warning yadayada. Type in the following code:

Administrator: Command Prompt:
Code:
bcdedit /create /d "IsoEmu Loader" /application osloader
bcdedit /set {id} device boot
bcdedit /set {id} path \ieldr
bcdedit /displayorder {id} /addlast
bcdedit /timeout 5 (optional: sets time-out to 5 seconds)

Note1: the first command will return an id similair to {520fccd5-248f-11dc-87a7-000000000000} this you'll need to copy (rightclick>mark>select>rightclick) and paste everytim istead of {id}.
Note2: bcdedit /enum will give you the current entries in the list.

Step4c:Grub
With use of Grub4Dos (which offers chainloader and is recommended over Grub (dos edition)) you may edit menu.lst and add at bottom:

menu.lst:
Code:
title IsoEmu Loader
find --set-root /ieldr
chainloader /ieldr


Fin!
Ofcourse this method can be used to boot anything like Knoppix, WinPE, Ultimate Boot CD etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 988
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

great work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
forkart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 4:16 pm    Post subject: Re: (install) boot .iso Reply with quote

power iso doesn't work for me. I use magiciso to create iso file instead.
http://www.magiciso.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 988
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use any software that can edit the iso files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rozal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have all 3 files in my C:
That file with no extension
isoemu.ini
and my iso
I tried 2 ISO and I get an error that it cannot find NTLOADER or something like that
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 988
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which step did you use grub4dos or the NT/2000/XP/2003?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rozal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boot.ini:
Code:
c:\ieldr="IsoEmu Loader"


added it to the bottom of my boot.ini

When I boot, there is XP, XP64, and isoemu, when I hit iso emo it shows the isoemu for like 2 seconds and at the bottom it says NTLDR is not found or something


Code:
[boot loader]
timeout=10
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS.0
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS.0="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Windows XP Professional x64 Edition" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
c:\ieldr="IsoEmu Loader"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 988
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try the grub4dos method
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rozal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should I Undo boot.ini step?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rozal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've already made the changes to the list file for grub. IS that it? First time using grub at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 988
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

its is not necessary.
You have both the windows installed in one partition. Maybe thats the problem.
Anyway that thing should not be a problem if you use the grub4dos method.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rozal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They are actually on separate harddrives
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 988
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rozal wrote:
I've already made the changes to the list file for grub. IS that it? First time using grub at all.
No you have to either install the grub4dos as the boot manager or use the grub.exe file in its package to start it.

Check the grub4dos tutorial at its wiki here
http://grub4dos.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php/Grub4dos_tutorial
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rozal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://img92.imageshack.us/my.php?image=0715071614ft5.jpg
I boot grubs and get to this sceen

I put the .ini file and the extensionless file aswell as the list file (edited from last step)

No clue where to go from here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 988
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you edited the menu.lst file what did you put in title for iso emu loader
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rozal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just put

Code:
 title IsoEmu Loader
find --set-root /ieldr
chainloader /ieldr



on the bottom

Code:
# This is a sample menu.lst file. You should make some changes to it.
# The old install method of booting via the stage-files has been removed.
# Please install GRLDR boot strap code to MBR with the bootlace.com
# utility under DOS/Win9x or Linux.

color black/cyan yellow/cyan
timeout 30
default /default

title find and load NTLDR of Windows NT/2K/XP
fallback 1
find --set-root /ntldr
chainloader /ntldr
savedefault --wait=2

title find and load CMLDR of Windows NT/2K/XP
fallback 2
find --set-root /cmldr
chainloader /cmldr
savedefault --wait=2

title find and load IO.SYS of Windows 9x/Me
fallback 3
find --set-root /io.sys
chainloader /io.sys
savedefault --wait=2

title find and boot Mandriva with menu.lst already installed
fallback 4
find --set-root /etc/mandriva-release
savedefault --wait=2
configfile /boot/grub/menu.lst

title find and boot Linux with menu.lst already installed
fallback 5
find --set-root /sbin/init
savedefault --wait=2
configfile /boot/grub/menu.lst

title commandline
savedefault --wait=2
commandline

title floppy (fd0)
chainloader (fd0)+1
rootnoverify (fd0)
savedefault --wait=2

title back to dos
savedefault --wait=2
quit

title reboot
savedefault --wait=2
reboot

title halt
savedefault --wait=2
halt

title memdrive duplicated from floppy image file (hd0,0)/sbm.bin
map --mem (hd0,0)/sbm.bin (fd0)
map --hook
chainloader (fd0)+1
rootnoverify (fd0)
savedefault --wait=2

title memdrive based on win98 partition (hd0,6)
map --mem (hd0,6)+1 (hd0)
# map --mem (hd0,0)/win98.gz (hd0)
map --hook
chainloader (hd0)+1
rootnoverify (hd0)
savedefault --wait=2

title IsoEmu Loader
find --set-root /ieldr
chainloader /ieldr

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rozal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did it again, isoemu is right below the last option :oops: :oops:

But it does the same exact thing...brings me to this screen for 2 seconds and on the bottom it says Couldn't find NTLDR

Taking pics...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 988
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you edit isoemu.ini and put the correct name for the iso file there?

Did you put the ISO file in C:\
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rozal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/5187/0715071701sn3.jpg

I did put ISO file in C:
but Did I edit isoemu.ini and put the correct name for the iso file there?
the iso is called vista so I put (in isoemo.ini)

Quote:
isoemu vista.iso
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 988
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rozal wrote:
http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/5187/0715071701sn3.jpg

I did put ISO file in C:
but Did I edit isoemu.ini and put the correct name for the iso file there?
the iso is called vista so I put (in isoemo.ini)

Quote:
isoemu vista.iso
What is the image that you are trying to run?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rozal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vista.iso
http://img174.imageshack.us/img174/1085/untitleddt1.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 988
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I meant what are the contents of the image that you rae trying to run?
Is it a Linux live CD?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rozal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a tiny version a XP

I'm trying another ISO file now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rozal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This happens when I try Vista

http://img76.imageshack.us/img76/285/0715071734eh8.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 988
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First as you are trying to boot a windows disk you were supposed to post the problem in off the wall section.

Secondly Windows doesn't support creating live cds except through specialized software like BART PE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum