Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Firefox & dual monitors
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
danj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 12:30 pm    Post subject: Firefox & dual monitors Reply with quote

Hi all!

First, thanks to all on the forums - there is such a wealth of info and knowledge here!

Just a small niggle really --I have a twin view setup without Xinerama. If I start firefox on an X seesion one monitor, all instances of firefox will then start on that monitor even if I run it from the other session. Once all copies are closed, I can get it open on the other screen (including all subsequent copies).

Only firefox exhibits this behaviour - any other app Ive tried works fine with instances on both screens.

Im running Kde 3.3.2 and firefox 1.0 (not the binary version). I didnt have any special USE flags and I can post my Xorg.conf if it helps.

Cheers for any sugesstions
Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arainach
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 609

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try OpenOffice and tell me if it shows the same problem.

On the LTSP server I run, if a user logs in at two terminals, any instance of OpenOffice they start shows up on the first one. I didn't think Firefox had that problem, but I could be wrong.
_________________
Gentoo: Stage3 w/ NPTL & udev, gcc 3.4.4 full rebuild
Kernel: 2.6.15-gentoo-r1 w/ 1G-Lowmem Patch
System: Athlon XP 2.2Ghz/1GB Corsair Value/160GB, 250GB WD IDE/128MB GeForce 6800/Sony 17" Trinitron G200 @ 1280x1024x75Hz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, youre right, Openoffice does the same thing. I can't have tried opening it on my 2nd screen.

I was using suse before and firefox didnt have these troubles, so Im sure there is a solution - and its probably something simple!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arainach
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 609

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Firefox and OpenOffice default to starting in the first Window. I'm not sure of what options must be pushed to make them start in the second. What Window Manager do you use?
_________________
Gentoo: Stage3 w/ NPTL & udev, gcc 3.4.4 full rebuild
Kernel: 2.6.15-gentoo-r1 w/ 1G-Lowmem Patch
System: Athlon XP 2.2Ghz/1GB Corsair Value/160GB, 250GB WD IDE/128MB GeForce 6800/Sony 17" Trinitron G200 @ 1280x1024x75Hz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im running Kde 3.3.2. Found the option you mentioned:

Code:
$ firefox --help
Usage: /usr/lib/MozillaFirefox/firefox-bin [ options ... ] [URL]
       where options include:

X11 options
        --display=DISPLAY               X display to use
        --sync          Make X calls synchronous
        --no-xshm               Don't use X shared memory extension
        --xim-preedit=STYLE
        --xim-status=STYLE
        --g-fatal-warnings              Make all warnings fatal



wasnt sure exactly what to pass as the parameter, tried these from both screens

Code:

bash-2.05b$ firefox --display=localhost:0.0

(firefox-bin:14582): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: localhost:0.0
bash-2.05b$ firefox --display=localhost:0.1

(firefox-bin:14606): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: localhost:0.1
bash-2.05b$ firefox --display=localhost:1

(firefox-bin:14630): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: localhost:1


also when running from a console on the second screen with a copy aready open in the first i get

Code:

bash-2.05b$ firefox
/usr/lib/MozillaFirefox/mozilla-xremote-client: Error: Failed to find a runningserver.



any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 8338

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Desktop Environments to Duplicate Threads, as this problem is discussed in topic "Two Desktops, Two Monitors, One Firefox.", which includes additional information including links to bug reports.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum