Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Jack and flash in firefox
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cmmalone
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 10:05 pm    Post subject: Jack and flash in firefox Reply with quote

I've got jack up and running and it seems to be working well. Once I turned on the tmpfs stuff, I don't have any underruns or anything. Things sound fine and I can use jamin.

But using jack, I don't get sound out of flash in firefox so I can't watch YouTube and other web flash things. I tried to change the jack alsa plugin to be wired default by setting pcm.!default in asound.conf, but it seems to just continually cycle jack connections until it uses up all my jack ports. Because it does talk to jack, it seems like the alsa config is working fine. But it just doesn't work right.

Is there any way to get this working or am I doomed to stop Amarok or mplayer, turn off jack, and then restart firefox so I can get sound in flash? I can't see any way to specify what alsa device to use for flash.

My asound.conf without jack as default (I use the jackplug device in Amarok for example, in order to use jack):
Code:

pcm.jackplug {
    type plug
    slave { pcm "jack" }
}

pcm.jack {
    type jack
    playback_ports {
        0 alsa_pcm:playback_1
        1 alsa_pcm:playback_2
    }
    capture_ports {
        0 alsa_pcm:capture_1
        1 alsa_pcm:capture_2
    }
}


My asound.conf when I tried to use jack as default, which I only tried because flash won't let me specify an alsa device:
Code:

pcm.!default {
    type plug
    slave { pcm "jack" }
}

pcm.jack {
    type jack
    playback_ports {
        0 alsa_pcm:playback_1
        1 alsa_pcm:playback_2
    }
    capture_ports {
        0 alsa_pcm:capture_1
        1 alsa_pcm:capture_2
    }
}


Some package versions if that is helpful.
media-sound/jack-audio-connection-kit-0.101.1-r1
media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.14_rc2
media-plugins/alsa-plugins-1.0.14_rc1-r1
net-www/netscape-flash-9.0.31.0

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. As you can imagine, searching on "jack" and "flash" isn't very easy! Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Coltie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Apr 2005
Posts: 305
Location: N 46° 7' 26.7" E 7° 6' 11.2"

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

I got the same problem... (https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-4026993-highlight-.html#4026993) So as you can see, you are not alone...

But no answer yet. I'm digging but without luck til now. That's weird that the input show up in qjackctl but unable to connect!
_________________
Unreleased Kollektiv
"If by noise you mean uncomfortable sound, then pop music is noise to me."
Masami Akita
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Caleb9
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2005
Posts: 70
Location: PL & DK

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Was this ever solved? I have the same problem :|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 8338

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Multimedia to Duplicate Threads, please continue discussing this in topic "Sound issue with JACK and Firefox.", as linked to above by Coltie.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum