Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
nsplugin use flag being ignored
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ddurkee
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Location: Mountain View, California

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 6:32 am    Post subject: nsplugin use flag being ignored Reply with quote

Hello all:

I have included "nsplugin" in make.conf but when I emerge -pv blackdown-jre I get:

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild R ] dev-java/blackdown-jre-1.4.2.03-r13 USE="(-nsplugin)" 0 kB

What gives? I even tried: USE="nsplugin" emerge -pv blackdown-jre with the same results???

Any information would be appreciated,

Thanks, Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Dec 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
[ebuild R ] dev-java/blackdown-jre-1.4.2.03-r13 USE="(-nsplugin)" 0 kB


Are you running on amd64?
having a () around a USE flag means that the flag is blocked/masked by your profile. and there isnt a nsplugin for amd4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddurkee
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Location: Mountain View, California

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 6:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I am running on a amd64. You have got to be kidding me. So how do I get this to work? Can't I compile a 32 bit version or something?

Thanks for the bit about the "()" I will have to remember that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Dec 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 6:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sun doesnt yet provide a 64 bit plugin, but seems thats in the works for one of the future releases
The only good way around it is to have the 32bit version of the jdk and a 32 bit browser.
There are plenty of wiki/tutorials for setting up that up.
http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_AMD_64#Firefox_and_Sun_Java
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddurkee
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Location: Mountain View, California

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for the info and the pointer to the wiki!

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
effloresce
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jan 2005
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.. Im having this same problem and I'm not on an amd64 machine.

I'm so confused.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 7825

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 6:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Portage & Programming to Duplicate Threads.

While the discussion in the topic "Removing the 64-bit Java browser plugin" was initially specific to amd64 systems, the USE flag was masked via ${PORTDIR}/profiles/base/package.use.mask, and as such the masking is not limited to amd64 systems. For more information, consult post 4030636 by Philantrop and the Gentoo Java Guide.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum