Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2007.0 LiveCD / LiveDVD ATI driver issues (i686 + AMD64)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
IMSargon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 7:56 pm    Post subject: 2007.0 LiveCD / LiveDVD ATI driver issues (i686 + AMD64) Reply with quote

I'm creating a thread to discuss one of the issues from the "Gentoo 2007.0 is a buggy release" thread (https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-558042.html)

This affects both the i686 and AMD64 liveCDs and liveDVDs

Bug reports have been filed.
See bug report:
177726 https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=177726
174306 https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=174306

It seems that the necessary drivers are not present on the disk.

(EE) Failed to load module "glx" (module does not exist, 0)
(EE) Failed to load module "ati" (module does not exist, 0)
(EE) No drivers available.

This has not been an issue on previous releases, to my knowledge. I believe that these drivers are simply part of Xorg. Why, then, are they not present? Also, why does the script that generates the X configuration use drivers that are not available?

It is possible to make X work again by reconfiguring Xorg to use the VESA driver, but doing so sacrifices OpenGL capabilities, and in my opinion, manually modifying xorg.conf should not be necessary to boot the LiveCD/DVD.

So what I would like to know is
1.) Why were these drivers not included?
-If by accident, why was this not caught?
-If a decision was made, what are the reasons for this choice?
2.) How can this issue be dealt with?
-Is it possible to re-release a patched 2007.0?
-Can this be avoided in 2007.1?
-Is CDupdate.sh of any use in this situation?

Certainly I could use catalyst to build my own disk with the proper drivers, but most of the posters in "Gentoo 2007.0 is a buggy release" were ranked as n00bs, and thus this may not been an option.

-Sargon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mudrii
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

why do you need gentoo liveCD when you could install gentoo with any other liveCD try knoppix 5.1.1 or any other live CD that works with ATI
_________________
www.gentoo.ro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IMSargon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
mudrii:
why do you need gentoo liveCD when you could install gentoo with any other liveCD try knoppix 5.1.1 or any other live CD that works with ATI


It's true, mudrii, we DON'T need a Gentoo LiveCD. In fact, for the kind of installations I do, they're not useful. As long as they exist, though, why not use them and work to make them better? Isn't that the point?

There IS a Gentoo LiveCD, and it doesn't work the way we want it to, or even the way it was intended to. Let's have a discussion then, so we can learn from the project and contribute what we can. Here's some things we might learn about doing this:
- CD-based linux
- Automatic configuration scripts
- Gentoo release process
- Xorg configuration
- The Gentoo user community
- Needs of new users

Isn't it worth discussing?

-Sargon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
link1305
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 168
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
why not use them and work to make them better? Isn't that the point?


I agree....I'm having the same problem and it would be nice to get the LiveDVD working eventually. Anyone know if there's any chance of an updated DVD being released to resolve this issue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AL3X-admin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 10:57 pm    Post subject: Solution: Reply with quote

Hi all :)
the solution is:

Code:

cd /etc/X11
nano xorg.conf


edit the line that says

Code:
Driver     "ati"

and type
Code:
Driver     "vesa"


then save the changes by pressing ctrl+o
and then quit nano by pressing ctrl+x
:)
now try to start X by typing
Code:
startx

Code:
kde

Code:
gnome

(choose one of those 3)
If you choose "startx" gnome will be loaded as its the default windows manager in gentoo

bye :)



(sorry for my bad english) (if it is bad...) jeje :P
_________________
BORN TO BE ROOT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mudrii
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 11:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Solution: Reply with quote

AL3X-admin wrote:
Hi all :)
the solution is:

Code:

cd /etc/X11
nano xorg.conf


edit the line that says

Code:
Driver     "ati"

and type
Code:
Driver     "vesa"


then save the changes by pressing ctrl+o
and then quit nano by pressing ctrl+x
:)
now try to start X by typing
Code:
startx

Code:
kde

Code:
gnome

(choose one of those 3)
If you choose "startx" gnome will be loaded as its the default windows manager in gentoo

bye :)



(sorry for my bad english) (if it is bad...) jeje :P


are you shure this will work with liveCD on ati video ????
_________________
www.gentoo.ro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AL3X-admin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes of course :)
I have un ATI 9600 XT
correction :

type
Code:
Driver     "mesa"

with "m" sorry about the error :(

and another thing

i recomend you to use the command "startx"
:P
_________________
BORN TO BE ROOT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mudrii
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not have any ati video and I can not confirm it but I hope if your solution working it could help some ati owners to boot from livecd
_________________
www.gentoo.ro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IMSargon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, as I had mentioned in the original post, it is possible to edit xorg.conf and use the VESA driver. That will get get the gui working well enough to run the installer. However, you don't get GLX capabilities, and it requires knowing what modifications to make. Perhaps it's a good introduction to the kind of configuration that's commonly done in gentoo, though.

The other way to do this is to use xorgconfig. However, some of the questions are rather complicated, such as both vertical and horizontal refresh rate ranges. It's not really an ideal solution, either.

-Sargon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
link1305
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 168
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 2:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was unable to get X working after about an hour of fooling around....I changed "driver" to "vesa" but that would just cause the screen to go black and everything lock up (power button reboot required...). I checked my refresh rates to make sure they were ok, among other things, but I just couldn't get it. I ended up using the console to install :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
c3l5o
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2006
Posts: 32
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

link1305 wrote:
I was unable to get X working after about an hour of fooling around....I changed "driver" to "vesa" but that would just cause the screen to go black and everything lock up (power button reboot required...). I checked my refresh rates to make sure they were ok, among other things, but I just couldn't get it. I ended up using the console to install :/


I have the same problem as you with my Radeon X800... :/ Guess I have to do the same as you... :(

I just wonder why does the vesa driver crash?! It's a general problem It happens as well with ubuntu if you change xorg.conf... It's just wierd...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drarkanex
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Nashville, TN

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not only is the ATI drivers missing from this release, the nVidia drivers are too. If VESA is chosen on either of my boxes (One AMD X2 3800 desktop and the other is a Toshiba L25-S1216 laptop), the screen is too large for the installer and you can't continue with the next phase (unless you tab around blindly and hit enter)

Yea, this release seems buggy, however Ubuntu is loading perfectly on both systems.

if you look in the /lib/modules folder under the kernel on the livecd, there are no drivers as modules in there. Why leave the base level ATI and nVidia drivers out when the majority of us use them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IMSargon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Not only is the ATI drivers missing from this release, the nVidia drivers are too.

Actually, Drarkanex, your problem with the nvidia drivers is slightly different from the ATI driver problem.

If you look in this directory:
Code:
/usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers

You will see that the driver, "nv_drv.so" is there. For some reason, the configuration script is choosing VESA for you, instead of the more appropriate NV driver, but theoretically, you could then modify your xorg.conf and make everything work properly.

-Sargon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zapotek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Apr 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

link1305 wrote:
I was unable to get X working after about an hour of fooling around....I changed "driver" to "vesa" but that would just cause the screen to go black and everything lock up (power button reboot required...). I checked my refresh rates to make sure they were ok, among other things, but I just couldn't get it. I ended up using the console to install :/


I've the same problem with my X800XT. any suggestions?
if i try the "installer-dialog", during the installation process I get an error message, after setting my root password.
Code:
Exception recieved during 'Set the root password': SetRootPasswrodError :FATAL: set_root_password: Failure to set root password!


if anyone can help, that would be nice :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matthijs70
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 43
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will only say ... check out bug report 177726
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blippy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Matthijs70 wrote:
I will only say ... check out bug report 177726


Are you suggesting that this thread is useless? I'd disagree, since it tells people how they can fix the issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matthijs70
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 43
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No .. but it does explain what I think causes the problems with Xorg.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blippy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, I tried changing the etc/X11/xorg.conf file. I first changed ati to vesa - that didn't work, it couldn't load vesa. Then I changed it to mesa. I typed in startx, a blank screen came up and nothing was responding. Eventually the caps lock and scroll lock keys started flashing. Anyone with any ideas? I couldn't switch to terminal to see any output.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marcosr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hope thye fix this. I jad to end up using the minimal 64-bit installation cd and it was a pain because I had to run from my living room to my bedroom to read the handbook during the installation.
_________________
user@gentoo:~$ su root
Unknown id: root
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lugduweb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my Dell 6400 with ATI X1400 gfx card, I have the same xorg/GLcore module loading error (with Linux Gentoo 2007.0 Live DVD).

I tried to replace the Driver "ati" line by Driver "mesa" but the mesa module isn't there too !

I think, I'm going to install the 2006.0 Live CD instead :/
_________________
Pegasos II PPC G4 / ATI RADEON 8500 / Hauppauge PVR350 / Kernel 2.6.15r1
Efika PPC 603e / ATI RADEON 9250 / Kernel 2.6.19r2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pvangarde
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just wanted to express my utter frustration with Gentoo Live CDs. I've always installed Gentoo from the command line without a problem. Then I tried LiveCD2006, install began and after 1 hour it was hung. Now, silly me, tried to do this with LiveCD 2007, which fails with X error. Gentoo developers: if you make a Live CD, make it work goddamit.

I just installed Ubuntu on my girlfriend's machine and it works beautifully.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DRZIN
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Feb 2006
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 6:46 am    Post subject: The right solution Reply with quote

Code:
#gdm-stop
#nano -w /etc/X11/xorg.conf
#gdm

or
Code:
#gdm-stop
#nano -w /etc/X11/xorg.conf
#startx


8O
[edit the line where it states ( driver "vesa") save the file then exit]
_________________
AUDIO ENEGINEERING and trying to take over the world with Techno
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10973
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Duplicate Threads.
Moved in favour of https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-562014-highlight-xorg+ati+livecd.html
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DjPan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 12:58 pm    Post subject: Cant install gentoo (live dvd 2007) Reply with quote

hello. i downloaded Gentoo live dvd 2007, and i tried to install the dvd. i boot from dvd, i pressed F1, and entered gentoo, then the installation started, i even reached at the gentoo image that is animated and its trying to load gentoo, but then i get these messages:

Code:
http://www.imagehost.ro/pict/2814461747248499c4e68.jpg


and i pressed Yes:

Code:
http://www.imagehost.ro/pict/2814501647248588bb4a6.jpg


i tried to install it again and i saw at the top of the screen "PCI: failed to allocate mem resource........."

My Laptop Specs:
- HP Pavilion
- Intel Core2Duo 2.2 (T7500)a
- 2GB RAM

Any ideas what can i do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10973
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

merged above post here.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum