Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
autounmask - unmasking packages the easy way
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 991
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used it like this
Quote:
autounmask --pretend --noversion x11-wm/compcomm-9999-r2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian!
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 3827
Location: Essen, Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ermo wrote:
Regarding defaulting to the latest version: Perhaps the --noversion flag could be updated to accept a <category>/<package> argument without requiring a version?

I'll keep that in mind for upcoming versions.

Delian wrote:
ian! wrote:
You are talking about the kde overlay I guess? The ebuilds were missing keywords at all last time I checked.


Yes..the kde overlay sorry.. and, yes, the ! keyword.. missing keywords ;)..
Is it possible to decide appending ** instead of the arch keyword?

Yep. It's in 0.17.

shaumux wrote:
I used it like this
Quote:
autounmask --pretend --noversion x11-wm/compcomm-9999-r2

Fixed in 0.17.

Thanks a lot for all the feedback! :)
_________________
"To have a successful open source project, you need to be at least somewhat successful at getting along with people." -- Daniel Robbins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carpman
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 2202
Location: London - UK

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how would this work for kde split builds?

Would i still have to list of kde apps installed?
_________________
Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian!
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 3827
Location: Essen, Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just like every other package.

E.g.
Code:
# autounmask kde-base/kde-meta

to pull in all kde packages or something like

Code:
# autounmask kde-base/konqueror
# autounmask kde-base/kicker
# autounmask kde-base/kdm

if you just want to unmask konqueror, kicker, kdm and its dependencies.
_________________
"To have a successful open source project, you need to be at least somewhat successful at getting along with people." -- Daniel Robbins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carpman
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 2202
Location: London - UK

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ian! wrote:
Just like every other package.

E.g.
Code:
# autounmask kde-base/kde-meta

to pull in all kde packages or something like

Code:
# autounmask kde-base/konqueror
# autounmask kde-base/kicker
# autounmask kde-base/kdm

if you just want to unmask konqueror, kicker, kdm and its dependencies.



Not so

Code:

autounmask kde-base/kde-meta -p

 autounmask version 0.15 (using PortageXS-0.02.06)
 Bugs and requests go to ian <ian@gentoo.org>.

 * Using repositories:
     /usr/portage
     /usr/local/portage

 * The given category/package-version does not seem to exist. Please check and try again.





Same without -p switch?


Only want to be able to upgrade kde apps i already have installed, don't want all kde apps!


I use split builds but if i have to go through and list every kde app i have installed don't see how this becomes auto unmask?


Now if this was truly autounmask mask i could some like:
Code:

autounmask kde-split


It would recognise all kde apps/libs i have installed and unmask them? or at least unmask all kde split apps/libs?
_________________
Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian!
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 3827
Location: Essen, Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

carpman wrote:
Not so

Of course you'll need to add a version.

carpman wrote:
Now if this was truly autounmask mask i could some like:
Code:

autounmask kde-split


It would recognise all kde apps/libs i have installed and unmask them? or at least unmask all kde split apps/libs?

I guess..
Code:
# autounmask kde-base/kde-meta-3.5.7

.. is what you want then.
_________________
"To have a successful open source project, you need to be at least somewhat successful at getting along with people." -- Daniel Robbins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carpman
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 2202
Location: London - UK

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, ok that did something :)


It added to package.keywords

Code:

# ---
# BEGIN: kde-base/kde-meta-3.5.7
# ---
=kde-base/kde-meta-3.5.7 ~x86
=kde-base/kdenetwork-meta-3.5.7 ~x86
=kde-base/krdc-3.5.7 ~x86
=kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.7 ~x86
=app-text/aspell-0.60.5 ~x86
=app-dicts/aspell-en-6.0.0 ~x86
=kde-base/kopete-3.5.7 ~x86
=kde-base/ktalkd-3.5.7 ~x86
=kde-base/kdenetwork-filesharing-3.5.7 ~x86
=kde-base/kdict-3.5.7 ~x86
=kde-base/dcoprss-3.5.7 ~x86
# ---
# END: kde-base/kde-meta-3.5.7
# ---



Which seems to be missing a lot kde apps i have installed so ran emwrap to see what would be updated and got:

Code:

work_dir is

!!! Multiple versions within a single package slot have been
!!! pulled into the dependency graph:

('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.7', 'merge') pulled in by
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kdialog-3.5.5', 'nomerge')

('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.5-r10', 'nomerge') pulled in by
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/certmanager-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/libkdenetwork-3.5.4', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kaudiocreator-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kdepim-kresources-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kamera-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kdemultimedia-kioslaves-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kghostview-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kdcop-3.5.1', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kde-i18n-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/libkcddb-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kooka-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/khelpcenter-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kommander-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/libkpimidentities-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'app-backup/konserve-0.10.3', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-misc/kdiff3-0.9.92', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kxsldbg-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/libkcal-3.5.5-r1', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'media-gfx/digikam-0.9.1', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kimagemapeditor-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'app-antivirus/klamav-0.41', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/cervisia-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kfilereplace-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/klinkstatus-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-misc/ksensors-0.7.3', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/libkdepim-3.5.5-r1', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kgamma-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/libkpimexchange-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kontact-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/libkscan-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/libkholidays-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-misc/kalbum-0.8.0', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/quanta-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'media-libs/libkipi-0.1.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kcalc-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'media-libs/libkexiv2-0.1.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/ktnef-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kode-3.5.2', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/korganizer-3.5.5-r1', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kaddressbook-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/kdeprint-3.5.5', 'nomerge')
  ('installed', '/', 'kde-base/knotes-3.5.5', 'nomerge')     




This list all kde apps i have installed but they are not updated to 3.5.7 ?


The only apps that would be updated are:

Code:

app-text/aspell-0.60.5
app-dicts/aspell-en
app-dicts/aspell-en
kde-base/kdenetwork-filesharing-3.5.7
kde-base/kdict-3.5.7
kde-base/krdc-3.5.7
kde-base/kopete-3.5.7



surely for it to be a true autounmask it would list all my kde split build apps and add them when unmasking?


Apart from that it look very nice app :)
_________________
Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dav_it
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wrote an article for the next GWN to give more visibility to this beautiful tool.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pandor
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Nov 2005
Posts: 128
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you make it optional to include revision bumps, instead of hardlocking it to a certain version?

lets say I unmask gnome, then it would add =gnome-base/gnome-2.18.0 ~x86' to package.keywords, but what if they find a bug, and bump it to gnome-base/gnome-2.18.0-r1. "emerge --update (--deep)" wouldn't spot it so you'd be locked to a bugged version.

On the other hand, when the dependency tree changes with the rev. pump, one could have to change the unmask.
So maybe have it optional?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lore84
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Prague

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, thanks for this good program, but I have found two bug.

1) Autounmask does not correct interpret PORTDIR_OVERLAY in /etc/make.conf. In my make.conf I have something like this:
Code:

PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/portage/local/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="${PORTDIR_OVERLAY} /usr/portage/local/layman/sabayon"


Emerge interpet those two line right (use both overlay). As I saw many user do this. But Autounmask write this to output:
Code:

Using repositories:
     /usr/portage
     ${PORTDIR_OVERLAY}
     /usr/portage/local/layman/sabayon

It is not clear if use both overlay or just single one.

2) I think this bug is relative why it is inpossible to unmask kde-meta-3.5.7 package. Autounmask does not correct interpret deprange function used in ebuilds. For example in kdebase-meta-3.5.7 is line:
Code:

$(deprange 3.5.6 $MAXKDEVER kde-base/kcheckpass)

Autounmask wants to unmask kcheckpass-3.5.7, but this version does not exist in portage, so it end (but without any warning!). But version 3.5.6 is in portage, so version 3.5.6 should be unmasked because it is valid version.

Note: I am using autounmask version 0.17.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian!
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 3827
Location: Essen, Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lore84 wrote:
2) I think this bug is relative why it is inpossible to unmask kde-meta-3.5.7 package. Autounmask does not correct interpret deprange function used in ebuilds.

What version of portage are you using?
_________________
"To have a successful open source project, you need to be at least somewhat successful at getting along with people." -- Daniel Robbins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lore84
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Prague

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ian! wrote:
Lore84 wrote:
2) I think this bug is relative why it is inpossible to unmask kde-meta-3.5.7 package. Autounmask does not correct interpret deprange function used in ebuilds.

What version of portage are you using?

Portage version 2.1.2.7 (latest stable)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lore84
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Prague

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And one note that may be relative. I am using sqlite database backend for cache as described in gentoo wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian!
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 3827
Location: Essen, Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Problem should be fixed in 0.18. - See bug #180062 for further information.
_________________
"To have a successful open source project, you need to be at least somewhat successful at getting along with people." -- Daniel Robbins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lore84
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Prague

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ian! wrote:
Problem should be fixed in 0.18. - See bug #180062 for further information.

Thanks a lot, you are very fast, thanks again. I will try it, after bugzila server will be back online.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CrazyTerabyte
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 192
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, why do we need to be root to run autounmask with --pretend option?

BTW, does --pretend have a shorter option (-p)? If yes, why it is not documented at --help? (Hum, I know... You forgot to update it... :) )

[EDIT] I don't know why, but autounmask-0.18 is not working at all for me. Haven't tried older versions. How can I help you to debug it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian!
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 3827
Location: Essen, Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2007 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CrazyTerabyte wrote:
Hey, why do we need to be root to run autounmask with --pretend option?

Because it needs permission to access /etc/portage/. - I could change it that you just need to be member of the portage-group.

CrazyTerabyte wrote:
BTW, does --pretend have a shorter option (-p)? If yes, why it is not documented at --help?

Heh.. wondering about that too now. Will be fixed in the next version.

CrazyTerabyte wrote:
[EDIT] I don't know why, but autounmask-0.18 is not working at all for me. Haven't tried older versions. How can I help you to debug it?

0.18 was broken. Update to 0.19 please.
_________________
"To have a successful open source project, you need to be at least somewhat successful at getting along with people." -- Daniel Robbins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CrazyTerabyte
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 192
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2007 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ian! wrote:
CrazyTerabyte wrote:
Hey, why do we need to be root to run autounmask with --pretend option?

Because it needs permission to access /etc/portage/. - I could change it that you just need to be member of the portage-group.

I disagree. I think the program must just check the permissions, or just try to access the file and, if can't, show an error message.

On my system, those files are 644 and that directory is 755. I don't see problem with this, because these files don't contain any sensitive data. (I once posted a message at forums asking why /var/log/emerge.log was not readable by anyone, and /var/db/pkg was)

ian! wrote:
CrazyTerabyte wrote:
BTW, does --pretend have a shorter option (-p)? If yes, why it is not documented at --help?

Heh.. wondering about that too now. Will be fixed in the next version.

Don't forget about other short options (-h, if it exists, and so on). Well, I guess you wouldn't forget anyway.

ian! wrote:
0.18 was broken. Update to 0.19 please.

I will try that later. However, it won't be as useful now, because I've already added all deps manually. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian!
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 3827
Location: Essen, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2007 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

autounmask 0.20 changelog wrote:
- Added short options and added them to --help (Reported by CrazyTerabyte - https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-4081622.html#4081622)
- Fix bug #180062 - comment 7 (Many thanks to Bruno Roggeri again for catching this)

_________________
"To have a successful open source project, you need to be at least somewhat successful at getting along with people." -- Daniel Robbins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lore84
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Prague

PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2007 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ian! wrote:
Problem should be fixed in 0.18. - See bug #180062 for further information.

Hi, thanks for your work, it is functional as it should. Now if it is possible to fix second problem and i will be the happiest man in the world ;). I have filled bug #180714.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carpman
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 2202
Location: London - UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure if this is a bug but when i tried this on my laptop it added multiple versions fo aspell:

autounmask kde-base/kde-meta-3.5.7 -p
Code:

 * Added '=app-dicts/aspell-en-6.0.0 ~x86' to /etc/portage/package.keywords
 * Added '=app-text/aspell-0.60.4-r1 ~x86' to /etc/portage/package.keywords
 * Added '=app-text/aspell-0.60.4-r2 ~x86' to /etc/portage/package.keywords
 * Added '=app-text/aspell-0.60.3 ~x86' to /etc/portage/package.keywords
 * Added '=app-text/aspell-0.60.3-r1 ~x86' to /etc/portage/package.keywords
 * Added '=app-text/aspell-0.60.5 ~x86' to /etc/portage/package.keywords
 * Added '=app-text/aspell-0.60.4 ~x86' to /etc/portage/package.keywords


I have aspell 0.50.5 installed.



PS still can't get to list all my installed kde-split builds?
_________________
Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian!
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 3827
Location: Essen, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

carpman wrote:
Not sure if this is a bug

No that's intentional. Use the --noversions option if you don't like to have specific versions unmasked.

carpman wrote:
PS still can't get to list all my installed kde-split builds?

That's correct as autounmask always unmasks all deps of a single package-version, not packages of a certain category.
What you want is probably something like `autounmask kde-base/*`? - That would be a new feature - not something autounmask is currently proposed to do.
_________________
"To have a successful open source project, you need to be at least somewhat successful at getting along with people." -- Daniel Robbins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carpman
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 2202
Location: London - UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ian! wrote:
carpman wrote:
Not sure if this is a bug

No that's intentional. Use the --noversions option if you don't like to have specific versions unmasked.

carpman wrote:
PS still can't get to list all my installed kde-split builds?

That's correct as autounmask always unmasks all deps of a single package-version, not packages of a certain category.
What you want is probably something like `autounmask kde-base/*`? - That would be a new feature - not something autounmask is currently proposed to do.



Strange as when i do this on desktop i get different output:

Code:

 * Added '=app-text/aspell-0.60.5 ~x86' to /etc/portage/package.keywords
 * Added '=app-dicts/aspell-en-6.0.0 ~x86' to /etc/portage/package.keywords


Note only one version of aspell unmasked, currently installed is aspell-0.50.5-r4 ?


Shame about kde-split builds, will just have to do it manually :(
_________________
Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tkhobbes
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 367
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ian! wrote:
carpman wrote:
Not sure if this is a bug

No that's intentional. Use the --noversions option if you don't like to have specific versions unmasked.


Not sure whether this IS still a bug - when using autounmask kde-base/kde-meta-3.5.7, it only unmaskes a few packages (as carpman noted) - but then, you can't emerge, because it did not catch all the dependencies...
_________________
My systems and some screenshots: http://www.hobbes.ch/techie/
My Gentoo client installation page: http://www.hobbes.ch/techie/gentoo-client/
My Gentoo Server installation: http://www.hobbes.ch/category/server
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian!
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 3827
Location: Essen, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

See bug #180714.
_________________
"To have a successful open source project, you need to be at least somewhat successful at getting along with people." -- Daniel Robbins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum