Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
i have eth0 and eth2 but no eth1 after mobo swapout [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gsgleason
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:11 am    Post subject: i have eth0 and eth2 but no eth1 after mobo swapout [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I upgraded my desktop pc and put the old motherboard in my gentoo server.

The old motherboard in the server had 2 PCI NICs, one realtek r8169 (gig) and another supported by the e100 module.

The new board has an on board nic, so I now only have one pci nic (the realtek gig-ethernet).

I complied a new kernel with built in support for the VIA rhine II on board ethernet controller as well as the pre-existing r8169.

now, when it boots up, i have eth0 (the pci realtek) but the onboard VIA rhine is eth2.

Any idea why this would be? Here are some lines from /var/log/messages and dmesg from the last bootup containing "eth"
Code:

/var/log/messages:
Apr 17 15:59:36 slackbox eth0: VIA Rhine II at 0x1d400, 00:0b:6a:76:3f:5b, IRQ 17.
Apr 17 15:59:36 slackbox eth0: MII PHY found at address 1, status 0x786d advertising 05e1 Link 41e1.
Apr 17 15:59:36 slackbox eth1: RTL8169s/8110s at 0xf8806400, 00:40:f4:e9:cd:88, IRQ 18
Apr 17 15:59:36 slackbox eth2: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x41E1

dmesg|grep eth:
eth0: VIA Rhine II at 0x1d400, 00:0b:6a:76:3f:5b, IRQ 17.
eth0: MII PHY found at address 1, status 0x786d advertising 05e1 Link 41e1.
eth1: RTL8169s/8110s at 0xf8806400, 00:40:f4:e9:cd:88, IRQ 18
eth2: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x41E1
r8169: eth0: link up


I find it odd that it mentions eth0-eth3 when I only have two nics!!


Last edited by gsgleason on Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:01 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 7820

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the motherboard have an IEEE 1394 port?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CrazyIvanMN
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2007
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've observed similar but not exactly the same behavior when I changed mainboards on my machine.

it could be that udev is assigning (reassigning) names of your NICs.. Check /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules (or similar) and see if it's setting the name (based on MAC addresses) for your new/old NICs.

This might not be the case with your system though, since when that happened to me, dmesg was still showing my onboard NIC as eth0 but udev was renaming it eth1 (since it wasn't the same MAC address of the old mainboard).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gsgleason
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

desultory wrote:
Does the motherboard have an IEEE 1394 port?


no it does not. ifconfig eth1 says it doesn't exist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wizard69
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2003
Posts: 178
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Create a file called /etc/udev/rules.d/10-local.rules and add the following.


Code:

KERNEL=="eth*", SYSFS{address}=="00:0e:a6:0e:47:26", NAME="lan"


Exchange the mac address with your own the name on the end can be anything you want. That will make sure that your network cards are always assigned to the same device by udev.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gsgleason
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CrazyIvanMN wrote:
I've observed similar but not exactly the same behavior when I changed mainboards on my machine.

it could be that udev is assigning (reassigning) names of your NICs.. Check /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules (or similar) and see if it's setting the name (based on MAC addresses) for your new/old NICs.

This might not be the case with your system though, since when that happened to me, dmesg was still showing my onboard NIC as eth0 but udev was renaming it eth1 (since it wasn't the same MAC address of the old mainboard).


That was exactly it. you rock! Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 7820

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Kernel & Hardware to Duplicate Threads, refer to topic "Want to get rid of eth1_rename [SOLVED] (udev103 and network".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum