Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HOWTO: Installing 32-bit flash plugin on a 64-bit browser
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MasquedAvenger
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Aug 2003
Posts: 558
Location: Southern California

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 11:28 pm    Post subject: HOWTO: Installing 32-bit flash plugin on a 64-bit browser Reply with quote

I'm not sure if a solution to this has been posted in the past, but if it has, I haven't seen it yet. I stumbled upon some of this information on someone's blog, but when it didn't work, I had to do a little something extra in order to get it working. So, I just thought I'd go ahead and post step by step instructions to help anybody who may be interested out. I hope this is useful to someone :)

So, how many times have we been told that we can't install 32-bit plugins when we're using a 64-bit browser? Oftentimes, it's suggested that we install a 32-bit browser in order to solve this problem, but I think that's a rather clumsy solution. It's true that you can't mix 32-bit and 64-bit code, but thanks to nsplugin, we can get around this obstacle in a much simpler way by using a special plugin that wraps around our 32-bit plugins and allows them to work with a 64-bit browser. This is just what we need for proprietary 32-bit only plugins like Flash, and allows us to run a 64-bit browser without losing functionality.

First, we need to unmask nspluginwrapper and netscape-flash. Open up /etc/portage/package.keywords in your favorite text editor and add the following:

/etc/portage/package.keywords:
Code:

net-www/nspluginwrapper


Next, edit /etc/portage/package.unmask and add the following:

/etc/portage/package.unmask:
Code:

net-www/netscape-flash


Now that we've unmasked the necessary packages, issue the following command as root:

Code:

emerge nspluginwrapper netscape-flash


This was all the information I was given online, but when I tried just this step, it didn't work. I discovered that once nspluginwrapper and netscape-flash are installed, we must let nspluginwrapper know that we've installed the flash plugin. Once we do that, it should work. To do so, issue the following command:

Code:

nspluginwrapper -i /usr/lib32/nsbrowser/plugins/libflashplayer.so


Doing so "installs" the flash plugin and makes it work with nsplugin.

That's it! Now you can enjoy sites like YouTube and Homestar Runner using your 64-bit browser :)

James
_________________
My blog: http://www.crazydrclaw.com/
My homepage: http://james.colannino.org/

"There are no uninteresting things; only uninterested people." --G.K. Chesterton
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skwang
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 129
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd like to point out that I've had success running
Code:
nspluginwrapper -i /usr/lib32/nsbrowser/plugins/libflashplayer.so
as a normal user and not as root. In fact when you emerge nspluginwrapper it will automatically search for plugins for you, but as root. This has given me problems in the past.

Thus whenever I emerge nspluginwrapper I always run as root
Code:
nspluginwrapper -l
to list all plugins and then run
Code:
nspluginwarpper -r <path-to/file>
to remove all the entries that are listed. Then I go back and as my normal user I run
Code:
nspluginwrapper -i <path-to/file>
Given that the problem is still masked "~amd64," ymmv.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avieth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nspluginwrapper crashes konqueror too much. I just stick to running firefox-bin if I must have flash.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devilheart
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Mar 2005
Posts: 777
Location: san leonardo del friuli

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

any idea why this plugin works for root but not for normal user?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 7820

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Desktop Environments to Documentation, Tips & Tricks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum