Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Two copies of X running
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BrummieJim
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 645

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:16 pm    Post subject: Two copies of X running Reply with quote

Hi,
Since I did an emerge --sync, I've noticed that I've got two copies of X running, both using the same amount of memory, but with one (the higher pid) not using any cpu power. I presume this isn't normal, any ideas how this might have come about?

root 8100 0.0 0.1 11592 1732 ? Ss 11:08 0:00 /usr/bin/gdm
root 8102 0.0 0.2 12132 2616 ? S 11:08 0:00 /usr/bin/gdm
root 8105 3.4 3.5 49420 37080 tty7 SLs+ 11:08 4:10 /usr/bin/X :0 -audit 0 -auth /var/gdm/:0.Xauth -nolisten tcp vt7
root 8186 0.0 0.0 1876 700 ? Ss 11:08 0:00 hcid: processing events
root 8195 0.0 0.0 1624 492 ? Ss 11:08 0:00 /usr/sbin/sdpd
root 8267 0.0 3.5 49420 37080 tty7 SL+ 11:09 0:00 /usr/bin/X :0 -audit 0 -auth /var/gdm/:0.Xauth -nolisten tcp vt7

Seems that gdm has been started twice.

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frostschutz
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 2971
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can't have two X servers running on the same display. Maybe it's just another thread of the same process, in which case there is nothing to worry about. Check with pstree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BrummieJim
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 645

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tried that, unfortunately, I can't understand the output. I get the following

[ja@localhost ~]$ pstree
init���������acpid
������atd
������automount
������avahi-daemon���������avahi-daemon
������bluez-pin
������bonobo-activati
������clock-applet
������conky
������crond
������cups-config-dae
������cupsd
������2*[dbus-daemon���������{dbus-daemon}]
������dhclient
������dhcpd
������eggcups
������events/0
������gam_server
������gconfd-2
������gnome-keyring-d
������gnome-netstatus
������gnome-panel���������{gnome-panel}
������gnome-power-man
������gnome-screensav
������gnome-settings-���������{gnome-settings-}
������gnome-terminal���������bash
��� ������gnome-pty-helpe
��� ������{gnome-terminal}
������gnome-vfs-daemo���������{gnome-vfs-daemo}
������gnome-volume-ma
������gpm
������hald���������hald-runner���������hald-addon-acpi
��� ������hald-addon-keyb
��� ������hald-addon-stor
������hcid
������hidd
������hpiod
������khelper
������klogd
������knodemgrd_0
������krfcommd
������ksoftirqd/0
������kthread���������aio/0
��� ������ata/0
��� ������ata_aux
��� ������cqueue/0
��� ������kacpid
��� ������kauditd
��� ������kblockd/0
��� ������khpsbpkt
��� ������khubd
��� ������7*[kjournald]
��� ������kmirrord
��� ������kpsmoused
��� ������kseriod
��� ������kswapd0
��� ������2*[pdflush]
��� ������scsi_eh_0
��� ������scsi_eh_1
������mapping-daemon
������metacity
������6*[mingetty]
������mixer_applet2
������multiload-apple
������nasd
������nash-hotplug
������nautilus���������{nautilus}
������nm-applet
������notification-ar
������notify-daemon
������ntpd
������pam-panel-icon���������pam_timestamp_c
������portmap
������prefdm���������gdm-binary���������gdm-binary���������Xorg
��� ������gnome-session���������ssh-agent
������python
������rpc.idmapd
������rpc.statd
������sdpd
������2*[sendmail]
������smartd
������sshd���������sshd���������sshd���������bash���������pstree
������stickynotes_app
������syslogd
������trashapplet���������{trashapplet}
������udevd
������watchdog/0
������wnck-applet
������xfs
[ja@localhost ~]$

My ps says this though and there are definitely two there. Anyway of sorting this out?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BrummieJim
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 645

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Help, any ideas, it's still happening.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

frostschutz wrote:
You can't have two X servers running on the same display. Maybe it's just another thread of the same process, in which case there is nothing to worry about. Check with pstree.

You can actually, but I can't see how it would accidentally happen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 3402

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

widremann wrote:
frostschutz wrote:
You can't have two X servers running on the same display. Maybe it's just another thread of the same process, in which case there is nothing to worry about. Check with pstree.

You can actually, but I can't see how it would accidentally happen.

Not on the same VT. He appears to have both on VT7. If you're really running two, I would expect to have one on VT7 and the other on VT8.
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BrummieJim
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 645

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you need any more information, it's not critical and I can safely kill the one that isn't using any CPU, it's just the why of it all that bothers me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

depontius wrote:
widremann wrote:
frostschutz wrote:
You can't have two X servers running on the same display. Maybe it's just another thread of the same process, in which case there is nothing to worry about. Check with pstree.

You can actually, but I can't see how it would accidentally happen.

Not on the same VT. He appears to have both on VT7. If you're really running two, I would expect to have one on VT7 and the other on VT8.

There's a command line option that lets you run the X server on a VT already running an X server. You get really weird behavior, but it works. I've done it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki_val
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Nov 2006
Posts: 408
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same problem. The output of pstree:
Code:
     ├─kdm─┬─X───X
     │     └─kdm───startkde───kwrapper
When the last instance is killed, nothing much happens. Puzzling. Why would x launch another instance that isn't used? I'm using xorg-server-1.2.0-r3, running ~x86. 1.3.0 doesn't sit well with my ati-drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mfocker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here...
Code:
# ps aux | grep gdm
root      6736  0.0  0.2  53736  2080 ?        Ss   19:12   0:00 /usr/bin/gdm
root      6738  0.0  0.3  63384  2968 ?        S    19:12   0:00 /usr/bin/gdm
root      6743  2.3  2.6  79000 23884 tty7     SLs+ 19:12   0:01 /usr/bin/X :0 -audit 0 -auth /var/gdm/:0.Xauth vt7
root      6792  0.0  2.6  79000 23884 tty7     SL+  19:12   0:00 /usr/bin/X :0 -audit 0 -auth /var/gdm/:0.Xauth vt7

Crazy! What to do about it?
I'm using xorg-server-1.2.0-r3 and ati-drivers-8.35.5
_________________
AMD Opteron 165, Gentoo Linux x86_64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BrummieJim
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 645

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've not solved it either. Started about the same time I replaced xgl and went back to the normal xserver. It is a bit weird as you can kill the one that isn't doing anything with impunity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbreith
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 7:32 pm    Post subject: two copies of X Reply with quote

I am looking at 'top' and it says that I am running two copies of X. Why would it be doing this? I am only starting one as far as I know.

I did just get direct rendering working recently. Would that cause this?

What files should I post?
_________________
I don't stat chatspeak acronyms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truc
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 3199

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hum,
Code:
ps auxf
would be a good start :)
_________________
The End of the Internet!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbreith
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
USER       PID %CPU %MEM    VSZ   RSS TTY      STAT START   TIME COMMAND
root         1  0.0  0.1   1516   536 ?        Ss   15:46   0:00 init [3] 
root         2  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S    15:46   0:00 [migration/0]
root         3  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        SN   15:46   0:00 [ksoftirqd/0]
root         4  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S    15:46   0:00 [migration/1]
root         5  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        SN   15:46   0:00 [ksoftirqd/1]
root         6  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00 [events/0]
root         7  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00 [events/1]
root         8  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00 [khelper]
root         9  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00 [kthread]
root        62  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00  \_ [kblockd/0]
root        63  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00  \_ [kblockd/1]
root        64  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00  \_ [kacpid]
root       179  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00  \_ [ata/0]
root       180  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00  \_ [ata/1]
root       181  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00  \_ [ata_aux]
root       182  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00  \_ [ksuspend_usbd]
root       185  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00  \_ [khubd]
root       187  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00  \_ [kseriod]
root       219  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S    15:46   0:00  \_ [pdflush]
root       220  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S    15:46   0:00  \_ [pdflush]
root       221  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00  \_ [kswapd0]
root       222  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00  \_ [aio/0]
root       223  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00  \_ [aio/1]
root       871  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00  \_ [scsi_eh_0]
root       872  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00  \_ [scsi_eh_1]
root       938  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00  \_ [kpsmoused]
root       942  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00  \_ [kondemand/0]
root       943  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        S<   15:46   0:00  \_ [kondemand/1]
root      1047  0.0  0.1   1840   616 ?        S<s  15:46   0:00 /sbin/udevd --daemon
root      4516  0.0  0.2   2328  1132 tty1     Ss   15:47   0:00 /bin/login --     
mike      4537  0.0  0.3   2864  1552 tty1     S    15:48   0:00  \_ -bash
mike      4545  0.0  0.2   2664  1128 tty1     S+   15:48   0:00      \_ /bin/sh /usr/bin/startx
mike      4561  0.0  0.1   2492   716 tty1     S+   15:48   0:00          \_ xinit /home/mike/.xinitrc -- -nolisten tcp -br -auth /home/mike/.serverauth.4545 -deferglyphs 16
root      4562  1.2  5.1  36692 23172 tty7     SLs+ 15:48   0:07              \_ X :0 -nolisten tcp -br -auth /home/mike/.serverauth.4545 -deferglyphs 16
root      4579  0.0  5.1  36692 23172 tty7     SL+  15:48   0:00              |   \_ X :0 -nolisten tcp -br -auth /home/mike/.serverauth.4545 -deferglyphs 16
mike      4581  0.0  0.5   4944  2456 tty1     S    15:48   0:00              \_ fvwm
mike      4583  0.0  0.2   2668  1268 tty1     S    15:48   0:00                  \_ /bin/bash /usr/libexec/mozilla-launcher
mike      4592  2.1 10.1 136964 45348 tty1     Sl   15:48   0:12                  |   \_ /usr/lib/mozilla-firefox/firefox-bin
mike      4620  0.1  1.0   8136  4720 tty1     S    15:57   0:00                  \_ urxvt -tr -tint darkgrey -sh -75
mike      4621  0.0  0.3   3000  1564 pts/0    Ss   15:57   0:00                      \_ bash
mike      4628  0.0  0.1   2136   872 pts/0    R+   15:58   0:00                          \_ ps auxf
root      4518  0.0  0.1   1648   712 tty2     Ss+  15:47   0:00 /sbin/agetty 38400 tty2 linux
root      4520  0.0  0.1   1648   708 tty3     Ss+  15:47   0:00 /sbin/agetty 38400 tty3 linux
root      4521  0.0  0.1   1648   708 tty4     Ss+  15:47   0:00 /sbin/agetty 38400 tty4 linux
root      4523  0.0  0.1   1652   712 tty5     Ss+  15:47   0:00 /sbin/agetty 38400 tty5 linux
root      4524  0.0  0.1   1652   716 tty6     Ss+  15:47   0:00 /sbin/agetty 38400 tty6 linux
root      4544  0.0  0.0   1528   260 ?        Ss   15:48   0:00 dhcpcd ath0


It looks like one X session is starting another X session.

... and why am I running 5 'agetty' also?
_________________
I don't stat chatspeak acronyms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truc
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 3199

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the 5 agetty is normal, you can of course change this in /etc/inittab IIRC, but fot the two instances of X, it looks as what XGL users have, except that the 'nested' X was launched on DISPLAY=:93, I don't know what to say :/ (are you using XGL or something? )
_________________
The End of the Internet!


Last edited by truc on Sun Jun 17, 2007 8:40 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbreith
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where are you seeing DISPLAY=93?

I don't know about XGL; I am running glx. Is that the same thing?

Are you meaning that the system needs two instances of X running in order to have 3D graphics working?
_________________
I don't stat chatspeak acronyms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truc
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 3199

PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nowhere!

no

and

no! :)

it's just that I've seen similar ps aux output from people using XGL, something like this
Code:
root      4562  1.2  5.1  36692 23172 tty7     SLs+ 15:48   0:07              \_ X :0 -nolisten tcp -br -auth /home/mike/.serverauth.4545 -deferglyphs 16
root      4579  0.0  5.1  36692 23172 tty7     SL+  15:48   0:00              |   \_ X :93 -nolisten tcp -br -auth /home/mike/.serverauth.4545 -deferglyphs 16

Anyway, I really have no idea why you have this :?:
If you find out why, please, let us know!
_________________
The End of the Internet!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 6066
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Merged from here.
_________________
www.gentoo.org.au || #gentoo-au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
testadilegno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Sep 2006
Posts: 27
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here.

System is a Turion ML-30 under stable AMD64
Kernel 2.6.20-r8 (amd64)
ATI drivers FGLRX 8.37.6-r1 with logout bug.
Stable Xorg 7.2

My ps aux gives

Code:

root   4556  1.6  1.4  66104 17172 tty7  SLs+ 08:38   0:16
  X :0 -nolisten tcp -br -auth /home/sandro/.serverauth.4539 -deferglyphs 16
root   4573  0.0  1.4  66104 17172 tty7  SL+  08:38   0:00
  X :0 -nolisten tcp -br -auth /home/sandro/.serverauth.4539 -deferglyphs 16


and pstree has the same part shown some posts before:

Code:

  [...]
    |--[...]--startx---xinit-+-X---X
    |                            `-icewm-session-+-icewm-+ [...]
    |                                                       |             |-xterm---bash---su---bash
  [...]                                                    [...]         [...]


The system works correctly, apart from the screen corruption at logout which is caused by ultra-crappy ati drivers. Hope this helps, if needed I can send in more info, just let me know ( = explain me what to do as I am a powern00b ).
Bye!

<Edit> Added code details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shaoh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 5:33 am    Post subject: Spawn 2 X servers? Reply with quote

Hi

Im running Gentoo with X7.3, Gnome 2.18 and im using GDM as my login manager. When i run: ps -A in a shell i can see that two X processes i runnung on tty7. Shouldn't there only be one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 9282

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Merged the above post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Evincar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Feb 2007
Posts: 217
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have this problem too, although I don't know if it is really an important thing.

Is it me or are all the people wit this problem using fglrx drivers?? (oh dear, not again...)
_________________
<@Chin^> My sister caught me jacking off the other week and calls me a pervert
<@Chin^> just the other day i walked into my room and caught my sister masturbating
<@Chin^> So she calls me a pervert again?!?
<@Chin^> there is no justice in the world...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
01mf02
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Posts: 1070
Location: Innsbruck, Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have nvidia-drivers and don't see the problem happening. My login manager is SLiM and X -version gives the following:

Code:

X Window System Version 7.2.0
Release Date: 22 January 2007
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 7.2
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.19-gentoo-r5 x86_64
Current Operating System: Linux tux 2.6.20-gentoo-r7 #2 Thu May 10 14:17:41 CEST 2007 x86_64
Build Date: 06 May 2007
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drone1
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 232
Location: United States of Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seeing as I'm having the duplicate X thread as some others, is there a cleaner way to run XGL or am I stuck?

T60p thinkpad, fglrx, yada yada......

Code:

12811 ?        Ss     0:00 /usr/kde/3.5/bin/kdm
22081 tty7     SLs+   0:18  \_ /usr/bin/X -br -nolisten tcp :0 vt7 -auth /var/run/xauth/A:0-jn7ufp
22087 tty7     SL+    0:00  |   \_ /usr/bin/X -br -nolisten tcp :0 vt7 -auth /var/run/xauth/A:0-jn7ufp
22082 ?        S      0:00  \_ -:0
22118 ?        Ss     0:00      \_ /bin/sh /usr/kde/3.5/bin/startkde
22120 ?        SL    96:38          \_ Xgl -fullscreen :1 -audit 0 -ac -br -accel glx:pbuffer -accel xv:pbuffer -fp /usr/share/fonts/encodings,/usr/share/fonts/misc,/usr
22187 ?        S      0:00          \_ kwrapper ksmserver --windowmanager beryl-xgl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boda2004
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Mar 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i've made small investigation: run Xorg server with fglrx driver and with radeon.
Seems that such behavior caused by fglrx.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum