Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to trim fat off a very fat-free distro (GentooLITE?)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
hazza
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 8:24 pm    Post subject: How to trim fat off a very fat-free distro (GentooLITE?) Reply with quote

Hi,

First a little background (I'll try and keep it short!): I've been using Gentoo for about six months now and I'm more than happy with the way it behaves, operates and is generally as robust as any of the more well known Distros. With the exception of using RedmondWare for checking compatibility with web site designs, I use Gentoo as my primary OS.

However, I'm looking at building a (semi-)embedded system to live in my new car. Its all being done for educational purposes (read "a bit of a laugh") and, after having used Gentoo, I'm damned if I'm going to be forced back into using something like RedHat 7.2 simply because I don't have to install all of the developer tools.

So, the problem: I need to be able - once everything has been set up - to strip the machine of its development packages, spurious libraries and >>GASP<< portage / python etc. as once the machine's in place, it won't need any of these toys and, more to the point, it needs to fit on to a compact flash card!

Before I start decimating various installs, I was wondering if anyone else had attempted anything similar and to what degree of success? I'm going to be using VMWare to run the system initially so I can build and install, then copy the virtual disk files and then tear the guts out, hence allowing me to always add bits by using the "master" image.

Once how to unmerge the development / portage subsystems has been defined, it strikes me that you'd have a very configurable, versatile base on which to build semi-embedded systems...