Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't emerge --sync or web-rsync
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo for Mac OS X (Portage for Mac OS X)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
spankmygentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 1:54 am    Post subject: Can't emerge --sync or web-rsync Reply with quote

I've got OS X 10.4.9 on a PowerPC G4. It says this when I emerge sync:

Using PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS instead of hardcoded defaults
Notice: (7, 'No address associated with nodename')
>>> Starting rsync with rsync://not-yet-available/sorry...
>>> Checking server timestamp ...
>>> Retrying...
Notice: (7, 'No address associated with nodename')


>>> Starting retry 1 of 3 with rsync://not-yet-available/sorry
>>> Checking server timestamp ...
>>> Retrying...
Notice: (7, 'No address associated with nodename')


>>> Starting retry 2 of 3 with rsync://not-yet-available/sorry
>>> Checking server timestamp ...
>>> Retrying...
Notice: (7, 'No address associated with nodename')


>>> Starting retry 3 of 3 with rsync://not-yet-available/sorry
>>> Checking server timestamp ...

!!! Rsync has not successfully finished. It is recommended that you keep
!!! trying or that you use the 'emerge-webrsync' option if you are unable
!!! to use rsync due to firewall or other restrictions. This should be a
!!! temporary problem unless complications exist with your network
!!! (and possibly your system's filesystem) configuration.

----

I've done google and forum searches and didn't find my exact error. Any ideas? Thanks!
_________________
--Time moves forward, whether or not you do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post your emerge --info plz ?

Also, can you ping ?

ping -c3 www.google.com for exemple ?

also can you output this command ?

ifconfig -a
_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spankmygentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
Can you post your emerge --info plz ?

Also, can you ping ?

ping -c3 www.google.com for exemple ?

also can you output this command ?

ifconfig -a


Emerge --info gives me:

-----------

Portage 2.1.13.4497 (default-darwin/macos/10.4/ppc, gcc-4.0.1, unavailable, 8.9.0 Power Macintosh)
=================================================================
System uname: 8.9.0 Power Macintosh powerpc
Unknown Host Operating System
distcc 2.18.3-Apple.1 powerpc-apple-darwin8.0 (protocols 1 and 2) (default port 3632) [disabled]
app-admin/eselect-compiler: [Not Present]
dev-lang/python: 2.4.2
dev-python/pycrypto: 2.0.1-r5
dev-util/ccache: [Not Present]
dev-util/confcache: [Not Present]
sys-apps/sandbox: [Not Present]
sys-devel/autoconf: 2.13, 2.59-r7
sys-devel/automake: 1.5, 1.6.3, 1.7.9-r1, 1.8.5-r3, 1.9.6-r1
sys-devel/binutils: [Not Present]
sys-devel/gcc-config: [Not Present]
sys-devel/libtool: 1.5.22
sys-devel/odcctools: 20060413
virtual/os-headers: [Not Present]
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="ppc-macos ~ppc-macos"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CBUILD="powerpc-apple-darwin8"
CFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
CHOST="powerpc-apple-darwin8"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/Library/Gentoo/etc /etc /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/share/config /var/qmail/control"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /Library/Gentoo/etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
DEFAULT_PATH="/Library/Gentoo/sbin:/Library/Gentoo/bin:/Library/Gentoo/usr/sbin:/Library/Gentoo/usr/bin:/Library/Gentoo/usr/lib/portage/bin:/bin:/usr/bin:"
DISTDIR="/Library/Gentoo/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoconfig collision-protect distlocks metadata-transfer sfperms strict"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/gentoo"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-search_paths_first"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/Library/Gentoo/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --delete-after --stats --timeout=180 --exclude='/distfiles' --exclude='/local' --exclude='/packages'"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/Library/Gentoo/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/Library/Gentoo/usr/portage"
SYNC="rsync://not-yet-available/sorry"
USE="ppc berkdb bzip2 emboss ppc-macos python zlib elibc_Darwin kernel_Darwin userland_Darwin"
Unset: CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, LANG, LC_ALL, LINGUAS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS, PORTDIR_OVERLAY, PREFIX

---------

Ping -c3 google.com gives me:

---------
PING www.l.google.com (66.102.7.104): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 66.102.7.104: icmp_seq=0 ttl=244 time=65.804 ms
64 bytes from 66.102.7.104: icmp_seq=1 ttl=244 time=66.087 ms
64 bytes from 66.102.7.104: icmp_seq=2 ttl=244 time=66.174 ms

--- www.l.google.com ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 65.804/66.022/66.174/0.158 ms
---------------

ifconfig -a gives me:

--------------

lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
gif0: flags=8010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
stf0: flags=0<> mtu 1280
en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether 00:11:24:44:14:0a
media: autoselect (none) status: inactive
supported media: none autoselect 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 100baseTX <half-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex,hw-loopback>
en1: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet6 fe80::211:24ff:fec5:a9f4%en1 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x5
inet 192.168.1.106 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
ether 00:11:24:c5:a9:f4
media: autoselect status: active
supported media: autoselect
fw0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 2030
lladdr 00:11:24:ff:fe:44:14:0a
media: autoselect <full-duplex> status: inactive
supported media: autoselect <full-duplex>
tap0: flags=8842<BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether 74:61:70:00:00:00
closed
tun0: flags=8850<POINTOPOINT,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
closed
----------------------------

Thanks a bunch for replying and helping out!

Joe
_________________
--Time moves forward, whether or not you do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spankmygentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone come up with any solutions? It's still doing it. Thanks!
_________________
--Time moves forward, whether or not you do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3057
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

From your "emerge --info" you have:

Code:
SYNC="rsync://not-yet-available/sorry"


You should comment out the SYNC line in /etc/make.conf (it'll use the default setting in that case) or change the line so you've got a valid rsync server being used.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spankmygentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I tried that and it doesn't work. I'll look for a list of servers I can use. It's gotta be something screwy with my setup but it was working at one time. After an emerge --sync and emerge --uD world it started doing that.

Joe
_________________
--Time moves forward, whether or not you do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grobian
Developer
Developer


Joined: 31 May 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you need
SYNC="svn+http://overlays.gentoo.org/svn/proj/alt/trunk/prefix-overlay"

which should have been set by the bootstrap-prefix.sh script
_________________
Gentoo on a different level
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spankmygentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2007 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

grobian wrote:
you need
SYNC="svn+http://overlays.gentoo.org/svn/proj/alt/trunk/prefix-overlay"

which should have been set by the bootstrap-prefix.sh script


I am almost certain that was set still, but I'll check when I get a chance to repair my laptop. Right now it's kaput. Thanks!
_________________
--Time moves forward, whether or not you do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo for Mac OS X (Portage for Mac OS X) All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum