Installation is killing me!!!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
clickmike
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:10 pm    Post subject: Installation is killing me!!! Reply with quote

Hi,

I have experience in this field but I am not a coder by any stretch of the imagination. I have tried a few of the Linux distros out there and I have found this one to be the best. It supported all my hardware, even some older stuff, and ran fast and stable on anything it was on.

I have loaded the Live CD and everything works like a dream! Until I try to do the install. It fails everytime for different reasons and each reason I come back to the forum, find the answer and try again but again I run into another issue. UNCLE!

I would really like to run this OS but I can't seem to install the latest release for the life of me. I have installed a lot of different operatings systems and never once have I had a problem like this.

Is there an earlier release that will work without the amount of problems this last release has or is there something else that I can do other than becoming a coder?

Like I said the Live CD works flawlessly, I only wish that I can install or transfer that same image to my hard drive.

Thanks,
Mike
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

check the md5 sum of your livecd, this is a common issue.
styrmis
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you say live cd, are you referring to the graphical version?

If so, are you then using the graphical installer? I have not had any success with the graphical installer and would recommend downloading the minimal ISO and using the handbook.
clickmike
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote