Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Missing dependencies - /sbin/depscan [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jonathanhaddock
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Mar 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:00 pm    Post subject: Missing dependencies - /sbin/depscan [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Problem:
When starting Gentoo the system says:
Quote:

Dependency information missing,
run /sbin/depscan.sh to fix this


Solution:
First, attempt to run the command specified:
Code:
# /sbin/depscan.sh -u

This might fail with an error about mktemp

Bring up your network card (you will probably have to do this manually):
Code:
# ifconfig eth0 up && dhcpcd eth0


And re-emerge mktemp
Code:
# emerge -a mktemp


Reboot and the problem should be resolved

##############################



Original post:

Hi guys,

Did an emerge --update world yesterday, turned my laptop back on to get:
Quote:

Dependency information missing,
run /sbin/depscan.sh to fix this


The emerging had failed with a problem finding a file in the manifest - tried re-emerging again and it still failed (on Cairo)

So I dutifully do this and nothing actually happens :(
I then try /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start in the hope I can finish updates to fix any problems but get the same error :(

Any ideas cos I really don't want to have to do another reinstall of my laptop.

jonathan


Last edited by jonathanhaddock on Wed Mar 07, 2007 11:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 9237

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remove the file which failed the digest check, move the package directory aside (out of $PORTDIR), emerge --sync and try emerge -u world again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyclocross
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 55
Location: Minneapolis USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the exact same problem you did, and I did depscan.sh -u and it complained about mktemp. I did a emerge -avt mktemp then started my network which then started just fine. Then rebooted, and all was good. I hope this helps you out.

Eric
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmatos
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 1220
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cyclocross wrote:
I had the exact same problem you did, and I did depscan.sh -u and it complained about mktemp. I did a emerge -avt mktemp then started my network which then started just fine. Then rebooted, and all was good. I hope this helps you out.

Eric


Same thing here. Same solution. During emerge -uD world, mktemp was removed for some reason!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brownowl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2002
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just had the same thing happen on one of my servers. This is potentially disastrous, as it affects ssh... mktemp needs to be re-rmerged for some bizarre reason!

Code:

# emerge mktemp -vp

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild  N    ] sys-apps/mktemp-1.5  0 kB

Total: 1 package (1 new), Size of downloads: 0 kB


Most odd...

Cheers, Laurie.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soundg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This might work for me except mktemp is not cached in my portage tree. So emerge needs to download mktemp, but my eth0 won't start. Nifty huh? Update world and get flushed down the drain again. Any ideas gentoo gurus?

Sorry for the sarcasm, but things breaking after updates is getting really old.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soundg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I uesd these two commands to get my eth0 running.

Code:

ifconfig eth0
dhcpcd eth0


then

Code:

emerge mktemp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GentooMatic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2003
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

soundg wrote:
I uesd these two commands to get my eth0 running.

Code:

ifconfig eth0
dhcpcd eth0


then

Code:

emerge mktemp


Just to be clear....

You must run
Code:
/sbin/depscan.sh -u
after using the above advice. At least, I did.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Portage & Programming.
not about getting gentoo installed, so moved here
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
g3n
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Dec 2003
Posts: 543
Location: México

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That worked for me too. Thanks
_________________
--[G]--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonathanhaddock
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Mar 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 11:54 pm    Post subject: Thanks everyone Reply with quote

# /sbin/depscan.sh -u
complained about mktemp as you said.
Re-emerged mktemp and all is well - it had been removed :(

Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lorebett
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 106
Location: Firenze, Italy

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 1:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Thanks everyone Reply with quote

jonathanhaddock wrote:
# /sbin/depscan.sh -u
complained about mktemp as you said.
Re-emerged mktemp and all is well - it had been removed :(

Thanks again!


re-emering mktemp worked for me too (after manually bringing up the network)...

was mktemp removed from debianutils?
This was a very bad bug...
_________________
HOME: http://www.lorenzobettini.it
BLOG: http://tronprog.blogspot.com
MUSIC: http://www.purplesucker.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alsancle
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 33
Location: Mass

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't have dhcpd for some reason?? So I booted from the live cd, manually started the network, mounted the file system, then emerged mktemp, ran depscan and rebooted. This worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xedivad
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Mar 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does anyone here think this is acceptable ? Can a simple emerge world delete an executable that causes system boot problems 8O ??!!?? who's responsible for this ??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmatos
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 1220
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xedivad wrote:
does anyone here think this is acceptable ? Can a simple emerge world delete an executable that causes system boot problems 8O ??!!?? who's responsible for this ??


Not acceptable, definitely! But I think nobody has found the problem yet. At least I've not seen anything around the gentoo community on this (admins / devs). Only users coming up with the solution. :-)

Fortunately, Gentoo has smart users!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mgillespie
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2003
Posts: 170

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

+1

This bug is totally unacceptable..

I was pretty hacked off with the gradual slide in quaility of Gentoo since Daniel Robbins left, this just furthers my opinion of this...

I am starting to look at other Linux based OSes that take reliability seriously...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blueflame
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 107
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you don't have dhcpd installed (like me) the following sequence of commands brought up my network:

ifconfig eth0 up
ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.1
route add default gw 192.168.1.253

By way of explanation:
- 192.168.1.1 is the IP Address of my Gentoo box
- 192.168.1.253 is the IP Address of my internet router
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's the problem? /usr/portage/sys-apps/debianutils/debianutils-2.17.4.ebuild contains PDEPEND="sys-apps/mktemp", so mktemp will be installed after debianutils. Here's the stabilization bug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lorebett
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 106
Location: Firenze, Italy

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulBredbury wrote:
What's the problem? /usr/portage/sys-apps/debianutils/debianutils-2.17.4.ebuild contains PDEPEND="sys-apps/mktemp", so mktemp will be installed after debianutils. Here's the stabilization bug.


the problem is that when this bug took place mktemp was not installed after upgrading debianutils
_________________
HOME: http://www.lorenzobettini.it
BLOG: http://tronprog.blogspot.com
MUSIC: http://www.purplesucker.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looking at the CVS history for debianutils-2.17.4, it's contained PDEPEND="sys-apps/mktemp" since 7-Dec-2006.

Did you run emerge -pvDuN world at the time and see mktemp available? I upgraded debianutils, and installed mktemp, on 4-March. It was automatic, as part of emerge -DuN world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lorebett
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 106
Location: Firenze, Italy

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I ran emerge -u world at that time...
probably I had to add some more switches besides -u?
_________________
HOME: http://www.lorenzobettini.it
BLOG: http://tronprog.blogspot.com
MUSIC: http://www.purplesucker.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lorebett wrote:
emerge -u world

That's not a full update (mktemp would be a new package, not an update). Use instead:
Code:
emerge -pvDuN world

man emerge explains it. Which should of course be required reading for anyone running a Gentoo server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lorebett
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 106
Location: Firenze, Italy

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been using emerge -u for 2 years without problems so I never read that part of man page (OK, shame on me :wink: )

however, I think that vDN should probably be implied by the --update option, otherwise, as in this case, an update might break the system; and from what I see from this thread (which I haven't started myself) I'm not the only one who's using --update for updating a system :)
_________________
HOME: http://www.lorenzobettini.it
BLOG: http://tronprog.blogspot.com
MUSIC: http://www.purplesucker.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mabap
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also use `emerge --update world` since a long time. Since when are further options necessary (except the occasional --deep). If a package removes a critical file, it should reinstall a replacement (or at least warn about it).

BTW, if network setup is too complicated to do by hand (e.g. DSL setup), one can use the following as temporary /bin/mktemp (remember to make it executable)

Code:
# shell script replacement of /bin/mktemp
# do not use continuously
echo /tmp/`date "+%H%M%S%N"`


This hack allows to run /sbin/depscan.sh -u and to boot afterwards and should be reasonably safe as long as one immediately emerges mktemp afterwards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mabap wrote:
Since when are further options necessary

Since the last 2 years that I've been using Gentoo, at least.

Quote:
If a package removes a critical file, it should reinstall a replacement (or at least warn about it).

It does install a replacement, if you use Portage properly as I described. That's what the PDEPEND in the ebuild is for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum