Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Motherboard powered by LinuxBIOS available now!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
playfool
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Jun 2004
Posts: 688
Location: Århus, Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 12:37 pm    Post subject: Motherboard powered by LinuxBIOS available now! Reply with quote

Gigabyte presents us with a modern motherboard powered entirely by Linux, LinuxBIOS has seen a lot of succes over the past few years in the embedded market but this is first motherboard targeted at consumers which is powered LinuxBIOS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boniek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 373

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great, great news. Too bad it is Conroe era no one really buys AMD today...
_________________
[HOWTO]New freetype subpixel font rendering for lcd monitors


Last edited by boniek on Sun Feb 25, 2007 12:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LD
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Dec 2003
Posts: 336
Location: Middle of No-Where Granbury, Tx

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sweet.

I wonder if this wouldd work on my MSI MB I have already.
_________________
[Owner/Operator: Dhampir Dreams]
Last.fm profile
Netflix Profile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5861

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so what happens when i upgrade glibc+gcc? do i have to recompile my bios? :lol:
_________________
Neddyseagoon wrote:
The problem with leaving is that you can only do it once and it reduces your influence.

banned from #gentoo since sept 2017
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChristyMcJesus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bunder wrote:
so what happens when i upgrade glibc+gcc? do i have to recompile my bios? :lol:
We can only hope!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anior
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 317
Location: European Union (Stockholm / Sweden)

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great news!

I were planning on a core 2 duo but this is reason enough to go with AMD instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aidanjt
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 1117
Location: Rep. of Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to Gigabyte the motherboard has an AwardBIOS. Who's right? I'd be inclined to listen to the manufacturer. :(
Unless you have to flash the board with the LinuxBIOS, this isn't very clear, but it doesn't sound right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dufnutz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 May 2002
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AidanJT wrote:
According to Gigabyte the motherboard has an AwardBIOS. Who's right? I'd be inclined to listen to the manufacturer. :(
Unless you have to flash the board with the LinuxBIOS, this isn't very clear, but it doesn't sound right.


Unfotunately, this isn't shipped with the board. Instead this announcement is from the LinuxBIOS people saying that their code successfully works as a full featured bios. You will have to flash the bios yourself with the LinuxBIOS.

None the less, this is still great news.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LD
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Dec 2003
Posts: 336
Location: Middle of No-Where Granbury, Tx

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dufnutz wrote:
AidanJT wrote:
According to Gigabyte the motherboard has an AwardBIOS. Who's right? I'd be inclined to listen to the manufacturer. :(
Unless you have to flash the board with the LinuxBIOS, this isn't very clear, but it doesn't sound right.


Unfotunately, this isn't shipped with the board. Instead this announcement is from the LinuxBIOS people saying that their code successfully works as a full featured bios. You will have to flash the bios yourself with the LinuxBIOS.

None the less, this is still great news.


What would be nice is an updated listing of what works with linuxbios and such.
_________________
[Owner/Operator: Dhampir Dreams]
Last.fm profile
Netflix Profile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kate Monster
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 226
Location: Clarkston, Michigan

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent news!

If I had the money I would definitely buy from Dell just to show my support. Here's for hoping these make it into retail stores. Would be quite a sight to finally see Linux boxes running alongside the Windows ones at $PC_STORE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdeininger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 1740
Location: Emerald Isles, observing Dublin's docklands

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's an AM2 board? christ, YESS, i know where my next paycheck will go to... this crappy MSI motherboard on my desktop has given me enough headaches :D

(not that i like gigabyte, they've give me a lot of hickups in the past, but at least with a mobo like that, stuff can be fixed :D)
_________________
"Confident, lazy, cocky, dead." -- Felix Jongleur, Otherland

( Twitter | Blog | GitHub )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aidanjt
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 1117
Location: Rep. of Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LD wrote:
What would be nice is an updated listing of what works with linuxbios and such.


Agreed, when they get LinuxBIOS working with an Asus board with nForce 680 (intel) working I'm there. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dufnutz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 May 2002
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LD wrote:
dufnutz wrote:
AidanJT wrote:
According to Gigabyte the motherboard has an AwardBIOS. Who's right? I'd be inclined to listen to the manufacturer. :(
Unless you have to flash the board with the LinuxBIOS, this isn't very clear, but it doesn't sound right.


Unfotunately, this isn't shipped with the board. Instead this announcement is from the LinuxBIOS people saying that their code successfully works as a full featured bios. You will have to flash the bios yourself with the LinuxBIOS.

None the less, this is still great news.


What would be nice is an updated listing of what works with linuxbios and such.


http://linuxbios.org/Supported_Motherboards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LD
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Dec 2003
Posts: 336
Location: Middle of No-Where Granbury, Tx

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the only one supporting socket AM2 is the one mentioned in the original link though.
_________________
[Owner/Operator: Dhampir Dreams]
Last.fm profile
Netflix Profile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phenax
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 972

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got an MSI board, but this is definitely on my list..
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vibrokatana
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 328
Location: o0o0oo

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xaero wrote:
Excellent news!

If I had the money I would definitely buy from Dell just to show my support. Here's for hoping these make it into retail stores. Would be quite a sight to finally see Linux boxes running alongside the Windows ones at $PC_STORE.
hehe wrong thread
_________________
My Systems - "I suggest the whole thing be coded in whitespace. Henceforth the code will be obscure and functional at the same time."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 18052

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm in the market, but not for an ATX sized board. Oh well. I'd prefer it came from the manufacturer as well. The BIOS being so important, I'm not prepared to kill it with an unsupported BIOS.

Hmm... that reminds me... I need to get a new UPS.
_________________
Those who know what's best for us must rise and save us from ourselves.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5650
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pjp wrote:
I'm in the market, but not for an ATX sized board. Oh well. I'd prefer it came from the manufacturer as well. The BIOS being so important, I'm not prepared to kill it with an unsupported BIOS.

Hmm... that reminds me... I need to get a new UPS.


just pop the EEPROM off the board and take it to someone with a EEPROMer to sort it
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 18052

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And knowing nobody that has one kind of eliminates that as an option.
_________________
Those who know what's best for us must rise and save us from ourselves.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevstar31
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2006
Posts: 449
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
And knowing nobody that has one kind of eliminates that as an option.

You can try making a back up copy of the chip with hotswap BIOS flashing.
http://www.lemoncube.com/232.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
playfool
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Jun 2004
Posts: 688
Location: Århus, Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the important bit since they didn't ship with it was that the contribution was checked in by an official AMD engineer - hopefully this means we'll see AMD venture more and more into pushing open solutions, it would help them prototyping and stuff, in fact they often use Linux as their proof of concept when presenting new chips since it's so easy to port the required code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vibrokatana
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 328
Location: o0o0oo

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

seems like most of the supported boards are via or AMD northbridges...
_________________
My Systems - "I suggest the whole thing be coded in whitespace. Henceforth the code will be obscure and functional at the same time."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdeininger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 1740
Location: Emerald Isles, observing Dublin's docklands

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vibrokatana wrote:
seems like most of the supported boards are via or AMD northbridges...
so?
it's not like intel made chips that were *really* better. and they switch leading positions in performance every 6 months or so anyway, so there's no reason to not go with amd hardware :D
_________________
"Confident, lazy, cocky, dead." -- Felix Jongleur, Otherland

( Twitter | Blog | GitHub )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
valkyrite
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 241

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anior wrote:
Great news!

I were planning on a core 2 duo but this is reason enough to go with AMD instead.


Also, if you are not planning on buying an uber version of core 2, you can get a better deal on Athlon X2. AMD has processors which can perform upto E6600 for the same price range.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
playfool
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Jun 2004
Posts: 688
Location: Århus, Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the reason they support AMD motherboards is that historically AMD have been very good at working with the Linux community so they have had access prototype boards and such. Also in days past an AMD setup was cheaper than a similar Intel setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum