Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing Gentoo on os390
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
damogran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 7:30 am    Post subject: Installing Gentoo on os390 Reply with quote

Hi there,

i'm looking for some help, installing Gentoo on an IBM Mainframe (os390).
What is the latest stage archive available for os390 and where can i get it (the mirrors seems to be not sharing any stuff)?
Are there any installation documentations?
What kernel is availible, only the IBM Kernel from the IBMs developer homepage?
Have someone experience with installing Gentoo on an IBM os390 system?

Best regards.
Damo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 6066
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Gentoo on Alternative Architectures.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
damogran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i can't belive it.
BUT IT WORKS! ^^

Gentoo Linux boots and thats amazing! But we got some problems, bad problems.

Code:

Freeing unused kernel memory: 152k freed                                       
 INIT: version 2.86 booting                                                     
                                                                               
Gentoo Linux; http://www.gentoo.org/                                           
 Copyright 1999-2005 Gentoo Foundation; Distributed under the GPLv2             
                                                                               
 * Mounting proc at /proc ...                                             Ý ok ¨
 * Mounting sysfs at /sys ...                                             Ý ok ¨
 * Mounting /dev for udev ...                                             Ý ok ¨
 * Configuring system to use udev ...                                           
 *   Populating /dev with device nodes ...                                     
 *   Setting /sbin/udevsend as hotplug agent ...                          Ý ok ¨
 * Mounting devpts at /dev/pts ...                                        Ý ok ¨
 * Activating (possible) swap ...                                         Ý ok ¨
 * Skipping root filesystem check (fstab's passno == 0) ...               Ý ok ¨
 * Remounting root filesystem read/write ...                              Ý ok ¨
 * Setting hostname to IZLGEN ...                                         Ý ok ¨
 * Calculating module dependencies ...                                    Ý ok ¨
 * Using /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 as config:                         
 *   Loading module ctc ...                                               Ý ok ¨
 *   Loading module fsm ...                                               Ý ok ¨
 *   Loading module cu3088 ...                                            Ý ok ¨
 *   Loading module lcs ...                                               Ý ok ¨
 *   Loading module netiucv ...                                           Ý ok ¨
 *   Loading module iucv ...                                              Ý ok 
 *   Loading module vmlogrdr ...                                          Ý ok ¨
 * Autoloaded 8 module(s)                                                       
 * Checking all filesystems ...                                           Ý ok ¨
 * Mounting local filesystems ...                                         Ý ok ¨
 * Activating (possibly) more swap ...                                    Ý ok ¨
 * Setting system clock to hardware clock ÝUTC¨ ...                             
 * Cannot access the Hardware Clock via any known method.                       
Use the --debug option to see the details of our search for an access method.Can
not access the Hardware Clock via any known method.                             
Use the --debug option to see the details of our search for an access method.   
 * Failed to set system clock to hardware clock                           Ý !! ¨
 * Failed to start /etc/init.d/clock                                           
 * Configuring kernel parameters ...                                      Ý ok ¨
 * Updating environment ...                                               Ý ok ¨
 * Cleaning /var/lock, /var/run ...                                       Ý ok ¨
 * Cleaning /tmp directory ...                                            Ý ok ¨
 * Loading key mappings ...Couldnt get a file descriptor referring to the console                                                                         
 * Error loading key mappings                                             Ý !! ¨
 * Setting terminal encoding to ASCII ...                                 Ý ok ¨
 * Setting user font ...Couldnt open //dev/tty1                                 
Couldnt open //dev/tty2                                                         
Couldnt open //dev/tty3                                                         
Couldnt open //dev/tty4                                                         
Couldnt open //dev/tty5                                                         
Couldnt open //dev/tty6                                                         
Couldnt open //dev/tty7                                                         
Couldnt open //dev/tty8                                                         
Couldnt open //dev/tty9                                                         
Couldnt open //dev/tty10                                                       
Couldnt open //dev/tty11                                                       
 * Failed to set user font                                                Ý !! ¨
 * Setting DNS domainname to eserver.izb ...                              Ý ok ¨
 * Starting lo                                                                 
 *   Bringing up lo ...                                                   Ý ok ¨
 * Initializing random number generator ...                               Ý ok ¨
 INIT: Entering runlevel: 3     Ý ok ¨
 * Starting syslog-ng ...                                                 Ý ok ¨
 * Starting hsi0                                                               
 *   Bringing up hsi0                                                           
 *     194.250.101.12                                                           
 *     hsi0 does not exist                                                     
 * Starting local ...                                                     Ý ok ¨
 * ERROR:  Problem starting needed services.                                   
 *         "netmount" was not started.                                         


Our network won't come up and the bader problem is, we got no TTY !
Maybe it has something to do with the ASCII - EBCDIC conversion, gentoo says it choose the terminal encoding to ASCII, but we need EBCDIC right?
Where can i change these setting?
What else can pruduce such an error?

Maybe someone got a hint for me.

many thx to gentoo, it rocks ! ^^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redhatter
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 548
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know absolutely nothing about S/390... but perhaps you've forgot to enable your serial line in /etc/inittab?
_________________
Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...

Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
damogran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The tty problem was fixed after changing from agetty to mingetty.
I also merged libtermcap-compat, but don't know if this matters anyway.

Its amazing, gentoo linux runs on IBMs Mainframe !!!!
Maybe we can drop this suse crap now. :lol:

Code:
~ # uname -a
Linux IZLGEN 2.6.16 #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Apr 7 11:08:49 Local time zone must be set--s s390x 2084 IBM GNU/Linux


But we got many problems with software pakets in portage.

Code:
IZLGEN jboss # grep jboss /etc/portage/package.unmask
>=www-servers/jboss-3.2.5
IZLGEN jboss # ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~s390" emerge www-servers/jboss -p

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "www-servers/jboss" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- www-servers/jboss-3.2.5 (masked by: missing keyword)
- www-servers/jboss-3.2.3 (masked by: missing keyword)

For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
section 2.2 "Software Availability" in the Gentoo Handbook.


Does anyone know a portage overlay with some os390 software?
i know this is really rare stuff but maybe one of the developer can help me out here.

for example. We need pam_ldap for accesing the userinformations in our RACF DB.

so looking for pam_ldap.

when i try to install it like the "good way"
Code:

IZLGEN pam_ldap # emerge pam_ldap -p

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "pam_ldap" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- sys-auth/pam_ldap-171 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-auth/pam_ldap-176-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-auth/pam_ldap-178-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-auth/pam_ldap-161 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-auth/pam_ldap-167 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-auth/pam_ldap-164 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-auth/pam_ldap-176 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-auth/pam_ldap-178 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-auth/pam_ldap-180 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-auth/pam_ldap-156 (masked by: missing keyword)

For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
section 2.2 "Software Availability" in the Gentoo Handbook.


After looking at the gentoo online package database i saw that there is no availible release for s390. (thats why he says "masked by: missing keyword" eh?)

Ok, but if i try to install the package like the "bad way"

Code:

IZLGEN pam_ldap # emerge pam_ldap-180.ebuild -p
emerging by path implies --oneshot... adding --oneshot to options.

*** emerging by path is broken and may not always work!!!


These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies
*** You are emerging a masked package. It is MUCH better to use
*** /etc/portage/package.* to accomplish this. See portage(5) man
*** page for details.
>>> Waiting 10 seconds before starting...
>>> (Control-C to abort)...
Continuing... in: 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1                                                                             ...done!
[ebuild     U ] sys-libs/db-4.2.52_p2-r1 [4.2.52_p2]
[ebuild  N    ] net-nds/openldap-2.2.28-r3
[ebuild  N    ] sys-auth/pam_ldap-180
IZLGEN pam_ldap #


no problemo ! *gg*

atm. it's compiling. hopefully without any errors. :lol:

mh, this is not the fine way, but unmasking with /etc/portage/packages.unmask gives the same error. :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
damogran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Amazing !

[ebuild U ] sys-libs/db-4.2.52_p2-r1 [4.2.52_p2]
[ebuild N ] net-nds/openldap-2.2.28-r3
[ebuild N ] sys-auth/pam_ldap-180

compiles fine!

You may add it in portage for s390 with mask or use flag. :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 6066
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want to experiment if software compiles on s390, you should emerge gentoolkit-dev and then use the ekeyword utility (man ekeyword has instructions on how to use.) After you have keyworded the ebuild for s390, run 'ebuild /path/to/ebuild.ebuild digest' and then emerge as normal.

If the package compiles and works correctly, you should file a bug @ bugs.gentoo.org so that the developers know about it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hook
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1398
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you please share your experience with Gentoo on the IBM S/390?

We (Cyberpipe) just got an IBM S/390 G4 (might be upgraded to G5 actually) with a bunch of disks (two IBM 3390 2, an IBM 3990 and another one) and still trying to figure out how much power we have to provide to these puppies, how to install them (hopefully IBM Slovenia will help us there) and what to do with them.

How powerfull are these beasts in real life? We found a few odd and some even odder MIPS and BogoMIPS statistics, but those look rather confuzing. On the other hand we got an oral statement from someone with experience with it that we could run easily a (few) hundred VMs on it and it still would perform great.

It'd be great to hear how it handles and what you're actually using it for.
_________________
tea+free software+law=hook

(deep inside i'm still a tux's little helper)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
occ
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hook wrote:

How powerfull are these beasts in real life? We found a few odd and some even odder MIPS and BogoMIPS statistics, but those look rather confuzing.


Be careful with 'mips'

Mainframe 'mips' cannot be compared to PC Mips.
The stenght of a Mainframe is the I/O. on a s/390 the i/o are delegated to specialized processor that do just that: I/O, so the MIPS of your core processor are used only to do 'real' processing work.
If you want to run a weather model simulation that's not good, but if you want to support thousand of terminal that is very good.

Bottom line, do not pay attention to Mips or BogoMips, they will not tell you the true story.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2395

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@hook: i agree with occ very much: a s390 is not a numbercruncher or any other type of supercomputer. the G4's and G5's were not when they were current and the new z9 machines are not either.
some days ago i worked for a company that was running a ibm 9221 that served sessions for 300 people simultaniously, there were 7 applications available and the machine had 128MB ram. that thing was really fast and we had no downtimes. the OS back then was VSE/ESA on VM/ESA.
this is what ibm mainframes are for. and they do their job really great. the ibm mainframes are a proprietary thing (software and hardware), what they really work, that's not the case with most other prop. things. you know what i mean.

@damogran: do you run gentoo natively on the s390 hardware or in a VM/ESA or z/VM virtual machine?
is it already booting without any errors? looks like a very cool thing.
hmm, you wrote about a portage overlay, maybe it is your turn to create one...
by the way, could you provide some links to dedicated linux/s390 software? i do not really know any. just s390-oco and s390-tools that are already in portage. i do not know if you noticed that.
and... the title of the topic is "Installing Gentoo on os390". you meant s390, right? since s390 is the name of the hardware architecture and os390 is the name of one operating system for the architecture s390.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum